We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”

Ancient City (Mueang Boran)
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Bangkok Ancient City Museum including Transfers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world’s largest outdoor museums features a 200-acre city with 109 scaled-down copies of Thailand’s most famous monuments and architectural attractions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Paphos
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were told about this place by a lady my wife met on Koh Chang. She lives in Bangkok & said that she always takes visitors there. I am glad that we listened to her & went there. Our hotel is on Silom Road so we walked to Chong Nonsi Sky Train Station (10 minutes) & then took the BTS to Siam Station & changed to the Bearing BTS line. Go all the way to Bearing (end of line) & pick up a taxi, there are plenty waiting. It is then a 30 minute taxi ride to the Ancient City. BTS fares return for the 2 of us cost 208THB. The taxi was 140THB each way & admission was 500THB each. Bikes are free & were great fun & for us the easy way to get around. If you feel lazy you can hire a golf buggy for 150THB per hour. If you think that William Clough Ellis did well building Portmerion in Wales then you will be blown away by what this gentleman has done. The ancient monuments & buildings were fantastic & the grounds were beautiful. The other good thing for us, was that there
were not hordes of people, which made the day out even more enjoyable. Well worth an hours journey out of Bangkok.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    201
    41
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Thailand in a day!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you dont have a week or months to go around and see Thailand's iconic sites, Ancient City is a must see.
We took a private taxi from Bangkok to Chang Puak Camp and floating market to the Ancient City. To my surprise the entrance is 500Baht! When I researched, it was only 300Baht. Be prepared to go around under the sun. You can go around via the tram and bicycle which are free, and the golf cart for rent. We arrived there after lunch and there are no more golf carts for rent. I dont know if they dont want us to rent the golf cart bec we are all women. Because we asked twice and they said no more. But when we got in, we saw two guys on 2 separate golf carts :( We noticed that most of the golf cart drivers are men. I opted to go on a bicycle and my two friends on foot. We managed to go through only half of the Ancient City for half a day. It was fun taking pictures but tiring!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YaneSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice if you're in to this sort of thing”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went during the week on a non-holiday and there were only a few large groups of school children and a few tourists. A few of the parts were undergoing renovations, it was nice that they were maintaining it as lots of these sorts of places can really be falling apart in other parts of the Southeast Asia (such as Taman Mini Indonesia in Jakarta). Even if you're on a bicycle it can be rather hot, it would be nice if they put in more shade trees.

A few pointers: there are a few bicycles with children seats but not many. The bicycles are useable but not too well maintained so make sure to check your breaks and everything - but there are plenty to choose from. Also, get a free paper map when you get your ticket as a lot of the signs are in Thai and you'll easily find yourself cycling in circles with the way everything's arranged.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AsiaExpatIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Fantastic again 2nd time round!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was my second visit to Ancient City in less than 12 months. I wanted family and friends to see just how impressive this place is. Needless to say they all loved it.

The Ancient City is like going to all the important highlights of each province in Thailand in a day. It is in a 250 acre park shaped like Thailand and there are magnificent restored buildings, full size replicas & scaled down versions, Temples, Palaces, Floating Markets, restaurants and so much more.

If you do not have much time to spend in Thailand then I would highly recommend a visit to the Ancient City.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thailand in one Place”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It takes you 45 minutes from Bangkok by taxi... Very relaxing place to go...you have two option to explore the Park. by bicycle or by golf cart. I did use golf cart and they charge 150 baht for one hour.... they require your driving license and ID for riding a golf Cart.. if you are not travelling with young kids, it is better to use bicycle ( free ). So you can explore the park as long as you want... You should go to floating market and have your buffet lunch there.. they charge you only 150 baht for everything you eat... :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J2Hartono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City (Mueang Boran) also viewed

 
Samut Prakan, Samut Prakan Province
Samut Prakan, Samut Prakan Province
 

Been to Ancient City (Mueang Boran)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing