We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aristocratic Great Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Endsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Endsleigh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aristocratic Great Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

When back in the early 1800s the Duke of Bedford, then one of the richest men in England, was looking for a summer house for the Duchess and a fishing lodge for himself, he sent his agents to find the most beautiful place in Devon, of which he conveniently owned two thirds. He promptly annexed 15 miles of virgin woodland on the banks of the river Tamar, evicted the local farmer and built himself an exquisite oversized cottage surrounded by landscaped gardens and a magnificent arboretum. 200 years later, the Duke's fabulous great escape is all yours. You can stay in his bedroom if you want, though the Duchess's room, with its hand painted Chinoiserie wallpaper and view across the croquet lawn down to the rushing river is my favourite. No tasteless mod cons here, just timeless elegance. What was good enough for the Bedford's is plenty good enough for me. Is there a lovelier hotel in England?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    72
    28
    19
    9
See reviews for
68
246
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is beautifully located on the side of a valley overlooking the river Tamar. Access is along a private road through the hotels extensive grounds. The hotel is very picturesque and on arrival we were assisted with our luggage by a helpful young man. The room we stayed in which overlooked the valley was beautifully clean and dressed in the style of the period. We took afternoon tea in the library which was a joy. All the public rooms were beautifully presented
with many clever touches. Dinner was excellent. The menu was very well thought through with a real choice and with an excellent wine list. The food was faultless and well presented on hot plates. All the staff were very attentive and professional throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks the river Tamar and whilst not the biggest room is perfectly fine and I would book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This has to be the best weekend my husband and I have ever had. The hotel is stunning, the staff faultless and the food is so good we are still talking about it. We are already planning our next visit, bringing the whole family with us next time. This is a real Gem, so much so that we might actually keep it to ourselves and not tell anybody about it. A wonderful, magical weekend. Mrs R Powell

Room Tip: We had a high, roll top bath in our room and no shower. We were more than happy with this but older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twizzlepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived on the Friday night in the worst possible weather - but were quickly welcomed and settled into our room, and then down for dinner, completely forgetting the awful journey we'd had. We spent the entire weekend by the huge log fire in the library, reading the amazing collection of books and enjoying a glorious afternoon tea. We did briefly venture out, had a quick visit to Tavistock and Dartmoor, but really, we were quite content to stay in - such is the comfort of this elegant hotel. The staff, mostly young, are excellent and the hotel simply appears to glide along seamlessly. Our room, 4, had original Georgian shutters which simply blotted out the gale going on outside. The bed was very comfortable and the linen superb. We cannot wait to go back in the Spring to see the gardens coming into their full glory. A truly lovely place to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Is this the best hotel in the UK? Possibly - at least of the ones I've stayed at. First, booking: the website is extremely helpful in showing photos of each of the individual rooms, which made choosing one so much easier. All of the rooms recommended on trip advisor were already booked, so we booked room 6. We thought about getting a room on the top floor, to avoid the noise of people walking around on top of you, but decided against it as people had mentioned a steep flight of stairs leading to the top floor, and we were bringing our 3 month old baby ... Room 6 turned out to be a great choice: large, beautifully furnished and well laid out. It did face the 'front' of the hotel rather than the river, so there were some cars parked below, but it wasn't remotely noisy, and there was a nice view of garden to the left and the old stable block and clock tower in front of you. Surprisingly, room 6 is classed as a standard room, but - as I think the website says - it was anything but.

At many luxury hotels you get the sense that there is a lot of behind the scenes fussing and stress in order to produce the smooth running of the operation - an example is the Feversham Arms in North Yorkshire, where we stayed recently. You don't sense that at all at Hotel Endsleigh; it feels instead like you are staying at a friend's stately home, but without the atmosphere being too intimate. It never felt like there were many staff around, but you always had exactly what you needed and never had to wait for anything.

The grounds are absolutely stunning. The Tamar Valley seems to have a bit of a microclimate going on, where it feels very lush and rainforest-like. The grounds were full of lovely ferns and other larger than life plants. The croquet lawn is also a beautiful vantage point from which to view the river and valley. This would be a superb venue for a wedding.

As mentioned, we brought our 3 month old baby along, and I think they handled this beautifully. We were offered a travel cot (which we didn't need) and when we arrived we found that a nappy bin had been left in the bathroom - very useful. At dinner time, we were invited to dine in a room adjoining the main dining room, but in no way felt like we were obliged to. We ended up doing both during our stay: our baby was asleep in his car seat during dinner so he wasn't disturbing anyone. For toddlers and young children, I believe you are encouraged to dine early in the evening, so they can yell to their hearts' content.

The breakfasts were fantastic: again, I think the best I have had at a UK hotel. There was a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal, homemade granola, orange juice and pastries. You could then order a cooked breakfast a la carte: full English, eggs benedict / royale, kippers etc. My favourite was the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - very high quality salmon and perfectly executed eggs. We also had dinner there every night and this was very good too; not haute cuisine exactly, but we didn't want that.

The whole experience is best described as effortless luxury, in a stunningly beautiful setting. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, which has marginally more noise than some other rooms (as it faces the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgamarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I almost don't want to write about Hotel Endsleigh, in case too many people find it. We love the house and the peaceful valley it is in. The food is excellent and the service quiet, professional and friendly. We have stayed there four times now and whenever we need to wind down and have some calm time, its to Endsleigh we go. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and all of them have been equally well appointed and comfortable. Actually, we haven't even taken our family there ...

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the garden, but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Totally smitten by this place. Endsleigh just won our hearts when we stayed there for a special occasion night on their recent offer of dinner bed and breakfast in gloomy January. We came through fog on the moor to this beautiful quirky hotel which with the morning light we found was nestled in the most fantastic river valley. So like staying in a private country house - it is elegant and discreet with open fires and cosy niches to curl up sip wine and read a book or chat. Our room overlooked playing fountains and the river valley and with both a bathroom and a shower room was very spacious. We had an excellent meal in the panelled dining room which culminated in the best pudding I have ever eaten - a lavender pannacotta with effervescent chocolate and an apple sorbet - just amazing. We shall definitely be back and now will have a real problem in choosing between Endsleigh and its sister hotel the Tresanton.

Room Tip: overlooking the gardens if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwsw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Abbot
6.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
4.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Endsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Endsleigh

Property: Hotel Endsleigh
Address: Milton Abbot, Milton Abbot PL19 0PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Endsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Endsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endsleigh Hotel Tavistock
Hotel Endsleigh Milton Abbot, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing