We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel in Devon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Endsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Endsleigh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“charming hotel in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Endsleigh in November for a wedding. A very charming and beautiful hotel that oozes character. The rooms are large and quirky, our bedroom (famous by the fact that allegedly Stephen Speilburg had spent the night there) was very comfortable with an onsuite that used to be a tiny chapel. The staff members were very helpful and the food delicious. The hotel is situated somewhat off the beaten track but in a very scenic area, near national parks, and the grounds offer a refreshing walk to clear the cobwebs. Great hotel, would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    68
    28
    19
    9
See reviews for
66
241
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there last week for four nights in room 5 (fantastic wallpaper, view and bath etc.). The hotel location is stunning as is Dartmoor. The hotel is very comfortable and personal (lovely staff) and the food is amazing. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for room 5 look at their website photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pda_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The most stunning location and the real sense of being a country house guest…honesty bar and heavenly daily tea…inspired my wife and I to acquire a country house so sadly we are infrequent guests now…that said I think that two or three days is probably enough as there is no local pub within easy walking distance. Its a great place to recover from the stresses of modern life or even like us, carbon monoxide poisoning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, we like the larger suites with separate sitting room and any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Endsleigh in in the most beautiful location with fabulous Victorian arboretum and woodland garden. If you love gardening you will love the Endsleigh and overlook some things which are annoying. It has a real shooting lodge feel, but with luxury, comfort and style. The typical freezing Victorian lodge is very much its origins and enough of the atmosphere has been maintained, but the bathrooms are gushing with hot water and very nicely done, the beds are comfy and the food and service is very good. What I didn't like were the very gloomy corridors with rather tatty carpets and slightly grubby cream walls. No pictures or decoration. Also while being cold would be bad the heat was excessive all over the place. I had to open every window in our room and bathroom. Cocktails, tea and food was all very good, but my husband finds it very annoying when you have a set menu of three courses for a high price (£40 per head). We just don't want to eat 3 courses so we do find that annoying and were glad to go out for dinner to a local pub one of the nights. We very much enjoyed it but I think they keep their eye on standards.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor and make sure you ask to be overlooking the river, we had the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sriv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights with two dogs looking for a relaxing stay and were dissappointed.
Beautiful hotel set in stunning grounds right on the River Tamar.
All the staff were excellent provind friendly efficient but unobtrusive service at times it felt like we had our own private hunting lodge even the dogs were made welcome through out.
The rooms are all very nicely decorated equiped and fitted out only one gripe in room tea and coffee making facilities would have completed the experience.
Excelent food is served in the restaurant both at breakfast and for dinner and offers great value for the quality.

All said a fantastic expirience in a superb hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreytravelmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The setting, staff, food and drink were all excellent.

This is not to say it was not without issue, when we arrived our room had a lot of flies on the window, however when the porter saw it he immediately fetched the Manager who moved us to a better room and reduced the bill - that's called service.

In detail, the food was as good as any London restaurant we've dined at, the wine list was top notch and well priced with one of the best Cote Du Rhone's we have come across - the wine waiter had an excellent knowledge of wine and a very professional attitude.

In terms of service - nothing was too hard for them.

I'm puzzled by some of the negative reviews, not because I don't think hotels ever have issues, but simply if you give most hotels the chance to put things right then they will.

Trust the majority of reviews about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed overnight whilst fishing the Tamar. This is a wonderful hotel with attentive staff, lovely rooms if a little dated, great log fires and evening meal by candlelight. A quiet haven of peace where the world stands still. Oh, and great food and wine. Beautiful walks along the river and in the grounds. A great place to explore devon and Dartmoor.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Abbot
6.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
15.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Endsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Endsleigh

Property: Hotel Endsleigh
Address: Milton Abbot, Milton Abbot PL19 0PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Endsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Endsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endsleigh Hotel Tavistock
Hotel Endsleigh Milton Abbot, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing