We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”
Review of Hotel Endsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Endsleigh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful night here. We got there early so that we could go for a walk in the gardens and then have afternoon tea and as it was warm enough we sat on the terrace. Our room was lovely with a hue bath to relax in. The dinner was suburb and so was the breakfast. A ery relaxing break

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Endsleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 458 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Called in on spur of the moment whilst in area and were impressed,Were shown to beautiful outdoor seating area offered drinks and shown menus by excellent obviously well trained staff.
Enjoyed drink chose from menu and were seated in stylish comfortable restaurant area.
The food served to us was superb and great value for money,The complimentary bread and oil fantastic,What more can I say we will definitely be going back,perhaps even to stay for a night and enjoy the excellent service we were shown today.10 out of 10 for the staff who dealt with us today

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank harold190804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has the most superb location in a hundred acres of magnificent gardens and the Tamar flowing through. Endless, fabulous walks if only the weather stays fine. But, if it does not the hotel is warm, comfortable, stacked with books and cosy sitting areas with log fires. The bedrooms are luxurious and quiet, many with views of the gardens and river (try No 5, the Duchess of Bedrord's room).The service is impeccable except when the restaurant is full when it can be a bit slow but the food is worth the wait. The menus are varied and always contain interesting and innovative choices such as scallops with pork belly or braised cod with ox cheek. Some might not be to everyone's liking but they are always beatifully prepared and presented and make for an unusual meal. There is an excellent choice of freshly prepared dishes for breakfast and the afternoon tea is so sumptious that you will not need dinner so beware. the friendly staff connot do enough to make a thoroughly relaxing, comfortable and epicurean experience which you will want to repeat again and again though be prepared to pay.

Room Tip: Room 5 has wonderful views of the grdens
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erithacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently returned from two nights at Endsleigh for his birthday. The staff were nothing but helpful and polite throughout my dealings with them - from emailing to query rooms to our arrival where we were very kindly offered a complimentary room upgrade.

The hotel is so special - I've never been anywhere like it. You feel like you can pretend for a couple of days that you're lord of the manor. It is completely unique and charming and not hotel-like or corporate at all.

The gardens are rambling and beautiful, the river is picturesque and the arboretums lend an otherworldly feeling to the place.

It's probably the only hotel I've ever stayed in where I didn't want to leave and neither did my boyfriend. A perfect birthday treat and we would love to return.

I also think it would make an amazing wedding location if you were contemplating venues!

You must try the afternoon tea - delicious and endless!

Room Tip: Room 8 (first floor) offers a stunning view over the gardens and river from the best angle. It also...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justaplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We paid for two tickets to see Midsummer Night's Dream in the gardens at Hotel Endsleigh last midsummer's night - the tickets were sold on the basis of 'no cancellation/no refund - the show will go on'. It poured with rain & they cancelled. Despite having our email address, the hotel just left a message on our home answerphone. It was quite clear that they had made no provision for really bad weather & made no real effort to contact us. We eventually got a refund, however a letter to the owner (Olga Polizzi) was never answered. They are trying it again this year with The Hound of the Baskerville on 13th July. Caveat Emptor is all I would say.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
10  Thank BigAnnII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For our third visit we combined a birthday with Mothering Sunday and a weekend for the grandparents(us). With 10 of us for lunch including 3 vegetarians on Sunday it all worked superbly, Staff were exactly right for our mixed bunch from 3 generations with no pressure and an excellent lunch that even surprised the veggies. Tres sympathetique!

Room Tip: Overlooking river and garden are best, dog friendly.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyDavid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Honeymoon...lovely welcome and room 3 was very special overlooking the parterre. all the staff were charming and friendly...surprises in our room.
Lovely breakfast , and dinner..if you have the wonderful cream tea do not bother with lunch !
We walked around the beautiful garden , along the river and through the woods..three days which were bliss. Thank you to all the staff. Ideas for walks...even in the rain ! and we loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaffaSherston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Abbot
6.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
397 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
4.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
518 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Endsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Endsleigh

Address: Milton Abbot, Milton Abbot PL19 0PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Price Range: $239 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Endsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Endsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endsleigh Hotel Tavistock
Hotel Endsleigh Milton Abbot, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing