We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a historical building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Het Godshuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Het Godshuis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sint-Laureins
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a historical building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

An impressive historical building with service oriented personnel.
We stayed for two nights in a quiet room. Breakfast was extensive and was served in a large room with a lot of windows.
The restaurant in the basement is a special place for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ReisLustig_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Reislustig_20

Many thanks for your review. Feels good to read our guests enjoyed their stay.

Hope to welcome you again sometime.
Best regards,
Het Godshuis-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    121
    91
    54
    32
See reviews for
43
236
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had the luck of having an unexpected upgrade which we didn't mind of course. The hotel is situated in the inspiring walking-area called 'Meetjesland' with lovely water- and creekparts. Nice biking-area also presumably. Situated near the European/Belgian GR5-trail.
The restaurant was very pleasurable and the food served was excellent, a reason certainly to have a second visit.
The architecture ofcourse is magnificent. Staff very friendly.
We liked it very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Dave

Thank you for your nice review. Feels good to read that our guest enjoyed their stay a lot!

Best regards,
Het Godshuis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

we stayed for two nights in a Loft room with two levels. Me and my mother slept both on another level. Nice Area around the Hotel to explore and very easy visit to coast, Gent & Brugge! The Hotel is big but you don't see the people around, only during the marvelous Breakfast you meet the other guests but there is plenty of space for everybody.Excellent breakfast with everything you can think of! The Hotel and the restaurant in the basement or catacombs is restored in great old style and has very nice atmosphere. We will go again for sure!

Room Tip: Our lower level bed was making noise when you moved, but this was no problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Henk,

Thanks for your review and looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Godshuis-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

When I stayed in this hotel, there were some rooms occupied. But it was not very busy.
Overall the hotel was not bad, but when I arrived I had a hard time to find the entrance. There was a curten blocking the entrance door, which was not inviting at all.
Secondly the 3,5 euro for the bathrope, and there are no towels in the wellness area, you have to bring them from your room. (Be carefull there are just a few towels available) Plus you have to change at your room and use your bathrope trough the hotel.
Last comment was the price for dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, this was way too high. For 55 euro I had a starter (soup) and a steak (and 2 beers). And both were not really special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Bart,

We regret that we couldn't meet your expectations regarding wellness-accessories and price-setting of dinner. Nevertheless we want to thank you for your stay and your review. It would indeed maybe be handy to have the towels in the wellness itself...something we can try to organize.

thank you,
best regards,
Het Godshuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adegem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

super ,thank you staff at godshuis nice and verry comfortable rooms , also the food was exellent it was a fantastic place to sleep and stay , and the spa was a fantastic place to ,i hoop to stay in godshuis soon again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Eric S.

Thank you for your very kind review. I'll pass all the good words to our staff!

Best regards,
Het Godshuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights together with our son of 14. Nice to have a split level room. ideal stay for a visit to Brugge, Gent and the cost. Good breakfast in en nice room in the cellar of the beautiful building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank veen0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelBal, Guest Relations Manager at Het Godshuis, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Veen0170,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay in our monument! We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Best regards,
isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Surprised by the bad reviews here... I've stayed twice now, once in 2009 and again 2013, both times arriving on motorbike. And I would definitely stay again. There's not much to do in the town itself but when you have a great hotel to hang about in that doesn't matter. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, the staff I thought were terrific. When we arrived and the receptionist saw we were on a motorbike told us where to put the bike so the night porter could keep and eye on it. She was a biker herself and was showing is pictures of her own bike. Really nice welcome and very friendly staff with the very warm and laidback manner. Great stay and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthsconeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sint-Laureins
4.4 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 2 in Aardenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
16.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Zeebrugge
Ibis Styles Zeebrugge
#1 of 4 in Zeebrugge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cleythil Hotel
Cleythil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maldegem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Eenhoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Het Godshuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Godshuis

Property: Het Godshuis
Address: Leemweg 11, Sint-Laureins 9980, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Sint-Laureins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sint-Laureins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Het Godshuis 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Het Godshuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing