We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably fabulous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unbelievably fabulous!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this amazing establishment!Everywhere was impeccably clean,both inside and out.Gardens immaculate!Stephens sense of humour was most refreshing while Sarahs serenity and attention to detail made us feel so at home and as if we had known them years!!Added to this the delight of Benson,their Labrador,who realy is a legend in his own linchtime,who more than contributed to the excellent atmosphere.The food was most impressive,all locally sourced and cooked by Stephen.Our room was truly excellent and not a speck of dust to be located anywhere!Amazing place and we long to return to this beautiful,countryside Diamond.If you wish to stay anywhere in the West Country then This Hotel is a must.So refreshing to find genuine people who realy care about their customers.We cannot recommend this enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishgent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
48
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bentworth Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing is ever faultless, but in six days here I could not find one. (not that I look for faults). Fantastic hosts, wonderful rooms , great pool and tennis court and the meals we had here were spot on! Don't think about it book it.

Room Tip: Choose a good room the standard is just top notch go for any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My mother and I recently enjoyed an absolutely fabulous stay at Sid Valley. Stephen, Sarah and Benson the dog are splendid hosts and made us feel like we were the only people staying there as they gave us plenty of attention. The breakfasts and dinners were exceptional and we could not fault anything even our dog was not keen to leave after enjoying so much attention. I have no hesitation to recommend this as a splendidly comfortable and idyllic location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got home from an 8 day stay here and I haven't got a bad word to say about the place, the location is idyllic, the cottage ( The Granary) was spotless, comfortable, fully equipped, and in our opinion the best position of all the cottages as it was about 15 steps from the fabulous pool had a great private patio and endless views up and down the valley! The staff were great and the owners Sarah and Steve couldn't do enough for you even to the point that on our arrival on a very hot Saturday afternoon there were no sunbeds available by the pool so Sarah found a couple of old ones gave them a wash and told us we could have our very own beds, which we kept on our patio for the duration, although there were beds by the pool available everyday we were there after that. I would highly recommend Sid Valley as there is masses of out door space for our 14 year old to play Tennis or just run around outside our cottage and also the very quiet location for us just to chill out in the sun, it is also very centrally located for beaches and towns. Also I must add that the resident dog ( Benson) is
beautiful and had many great evenings playing ball with him if we had room in the car we were going to bring him home with us! Thanks Sarah and Steve we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend break at the Sid Valley Hotel and we had the best weekend break ever. Rooms are amazing, food fabulous, hospitality second to none nothing was too much trouble and best of all dogs were welcome. The location is stunning close to beaches and picturesque villages with its own pool and tennis courts. We were a group of nine and as we had two small dogs with us we opted for the cottage as it was easier to let dogs out early mornings. Our friends were all in the actual hotel and every room was delightful. The owners Steve and Sarah and their sons made the stay extra special with their warmth and attention to detail with all the little finishing touches. Wonderful stay in stunning surroundings not cheap but well worth every penny we will definitely return again soon. Keep the secret as if word gets out we might not be able book so easily.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonCottonbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

great location and good value for money..lovelly views to die for and the owners steve and sarah and their family .were a pleasure to meet ..nestled in the devon valley down an exciting narrow lane this hotel be it may not by the sea offered excellent breakfast selection with fresh friuts of amazing choice and a fine cooked breakfast if you wanted it...the swimming pool is located nicely for swimming with a view !!! and the gardens carefully maintained by sarah herself a keen and very good flower arranging !!! that can be seen and reflected in most rooms ..very pretty !!!...

the rooms are nice and particulary the barhrooms have great showers, the room we had also had a lovelly balcony with great views allowing for a comfortable place to drink your tea or a glass of wine !!!..steve the owner was very proactive when he knew we were returning guests and stocked up on our favourite chardonnay ...and popped open a bottle of champers to welcome us..which he did not charge us for !!!..if you want peace and tranquility ..this is the place to stay ..

Room Tip: room 3 or 5 we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in The Stables which is a great self catering little cottage within this great hotel. Steven & Sarah made us very welcome and were great hosts, the food was excellent. I am partially disabled & have trouble walking and I found everything was suitable for me, they even put a shower stool in there for me! Fantastic, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Ignore the rating for fitness centre below as I did this by accident and can't take it off TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: They all looked good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
454 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
4.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
903 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
184 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sid Valley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sid Valley Country Hotel

Property: Sid Valley Country Hotel
Address: Nr. Sidmouth, Sidbury, Sidmouth EX10 OQJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth > Sidbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sid Valley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of outstanding natural beauty, this country house hotel with cottages and a heated outdoor pool offers a relaxed atmosphere, professional service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel is a previous winner of 'Small Hotel of the Year' in the South-West Tourism Excellence Awards. Offering traditional elegance in all seasons, the country house hotel and cottages are convenient for Sidmouth, Exeter and Dartmoor. The Sid Valley is ideal for discovering Devon’s inland areas and coastline. Leisure and business guests are provided with spacious and comfortably furnished lounges, a cosy bar and an excellent restaurant providing home-prepared food from the best of local produce. Bread is freshly baked every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sid Valley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sid Valley Country Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing