We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B & B”

Rose Cottage Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Cottage Guest House
Ranked #4 of 5 Sidbury B&B and Inns
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little B & B”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely little B & B, only stayed 1 night as we had dropped my daughter in Bristol and fancied a night away. Very welcoming, comfy room, great cooked breakfast and had we stayed longer we would have tried out the guest lounge. Roz could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has a saniflo waste system. This was quite noisy, even when you run the basin ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
15
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at rose cottage this August 2013,at my arrival I encountered a dog barking at me which put me slightly on edge. Roz took me through the kitchen to my room and the kitchen had 2 dogs lying on the floor, very unhygienic considering the guest food are all prepared there. Our bed was very uncomfortable we did not get much sleep at all, The room smelt musty with stains on the carpet and the wardrobe doors were hanging off. Very small bathroom, the base of the toilet and behind the toilet were filthy,and the toilet brushes were disgusting. I asked for clean towels several times but did not get them, think the owners were intoxicated hence forgetting my clean towels. I have to say I was very disappointed after reading what a lovely b&b this was and then to stay and discover it was quite the opposite. Only positive was the location,Sidbury and Sidmouth were beautiful.

Room Tip: Find another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

the breakfast was good and the bathroom was clean.
but the mattress on the king sized bed was very worn and needs to be replaced.
And although I asked for the ironing board and iron twice it failed to appear.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL47Stevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Rose Cottage Guest House, a B and B in nearby Sidbury on August 7th while attending the Sidmouth Folk Festival. The proprietor Roz and her son Luke were so helpful and kind. The room was light and airy with a nice view of the village. There are paintings on the wall with a fishing and seafront theme (as the shore is 3 miles away, very appropriate). Teas and biscuits were waiting for us, with comfortable beds. Breakfast is included and what a breakfast. Handmade sausages from the local butcher, fresh fruit, various cereals, farm fresh eggs...the highlight of the stay. We would definitely stay there again as it is just far enough from Sidmouth to avoid being kept up all night with the sounds of revelry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the hillside if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at Rose Cottage.
Parking was no problem, breakfast was excellent although it was a little early for us (served between 8 and 9am) and there is a lovely garden for you to relax in if you want to.

The only irritation, was the buses that were not running on time probably due to the music festival that was on the week we stayed. They only run every hour so if you miss one you had a long wait, but we were told that Sidbury was lucky to still have a bus service as the surrounding areas now don't have a service.

Room Tip: The top floor has a king size bed and is very quiet, but do not choose this room if you that have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755patriciaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had a two day stay here for a nearby wedding - I was made to feel very welcome upon arrival and had a very nice breakfast on the first morning.

I checked out on Sunday morning, having had maybe one or two glasses of champagne too many, and, having not really planned ahead, expected to spend a very long and miserable day waiting for my flight home at 6pm. Instead, Roz offered me tea and toast (even though I had missed the breakfast time by over two hours) and allowed me to spend the day in the lounge and (very nice) garden area with a steady supply of tea and coffee. She even offered to post a couple of goodies (which had no chance of getting through customs), received at the wedding to my address in Ireland - when I offered the money for the postage costs, Roz refused to take it. In short, Roz went above and beyond what I would expect of any B&B on the Sunday morning for me and I would 100% stay there again and would encourage others to do the same.

And the dogs are fantastic and really friendly - can't imagine them 'nipping' someone.

Oh and I had a great lunch on the Sunday as well, which I would also highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This B&B is located in the village of Sidbury and has its own car park very useful. Food excellent both for breakfast and evening meal which needs to be ordered in advance. Host very pleasant all amenities including lounge free wifi and TV in rooms. Only downside was that the room and ensuite were a little on the small side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 5 in Sidbury
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mincombe Barn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#3 of 5 in Sidbury
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Guest House

Property: Rose Cottage Guest House
Address: Sidbury, Sidmouth EX10 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth > Sidbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sidbury
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rose Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing