We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Middle cottage in row of 3
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane View over river Sid towards cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane
View over river Sid towards cottage
Living room
Living room
Inglenook fireplace
Kitchen/Dining area
Dining/Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
New bathroom 2016
Sun trap south facing rear garden
View from front bedroom
View from rear of cottage towards bridge
View from front of cottage
view down to cottage left
View from front in winter
View over pond towards rear of cottage in winter
Saxon bridge only metres from cottage.
Sidmouth Sea Front
Local scenery East Hill looking towards Ottery
View down to cottage from surrounding hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidbury, Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawneylc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2019 for a stay in November 2019

Such a lovely cottage. Very cosy, comfortable and clean. The owners have thought of everything to make you feel welcome and at home. A great place to stay to explore the area. We stayed 2 years ago for a short break and when we decided to go away this year, this was the first place we thought of. So happy to come back and would love to stay again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allencadm...
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage in Devon?..............”
Reviewed September 25, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Enjoyable break. Helpful owner....comfortable bed. Well equipped throughout. Cosy cottage with nice garden??............

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandradF3...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming cottage”
Reviewed May 21, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We stayed at Topaz cottage for our honeymoon and had a fantastic week. The cottage is charming and querky and the owners made us feel welcome , even providing milk, shower gels, soap and toothpaste.

Sidbury is a beautiful village and very peaceful. An ideal location for exploring the many lovely villages and seaside resorts.

This is also the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed at. Highly recommended. We hope to come back next year for our first year's anniversary.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaWL...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding holiday cottage”
Reviewed April 14, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

We absolutely loved staying here, the owners were absolutely brilliant and the house was beautifully clean and extremely well set up with everything we could need meaning a lot of items didn’t need packing and bringing with us. We had everything to make a holiday with a toddler very easy and appreciated the washing machine in particular and a very well equipped kitchen. The garden was delightful and the location was stunning, totally peaceful and beautiful, perfectly situated to get to local beaches, other days trips and all the local amenities we needed. We left feeling very rested and relaxed and will definitely be booking again!

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2019
Thank you Rebecca, we are always pleased when guests mention all the extras that you won't find anywhere else, we know from our own experience of holiday cottages that providing all the basics and more makes a big difference. Topaz is in a wonderful location and feeling relaxed when you are there is a certainty. Very pleased the whole 2 weeks went so well and thank you for the great review. Great guests that we would love to welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam09428...
1 review
“couldn't fault it”
Reviewed March 3, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

just got back from a relaxing weekend at Topaz. Description accurate. Cosy cottage, clean and well equipped. Handy location, and bus meant we could leave car at home - seemed to run to timetable. Friendly locals. would happily recommend as a holiday venue

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2019
Thank you for a lovely review. The cottage is a great place to stay at any time of year even if the weather is not so good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmck345
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great choice. Neat, tidy and very clean with excellent communications from Steve, the owner”
Reviewed September 5, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

An excellent location in a pretty village. Easy road access north to Honiton, east to Dorset, west to Exeter and south to the seaside at pretty Sidmouth - only 3 miles to the beach. East Devon at your fingertips. Hopefully we will visit again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2018
Thank you for your review, excellent guests again that kept the cottage just as they found it. We would welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcjc504
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home”
Reviewed August 16, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent holiday accommodation; very well equipped cottage with comfortable beds a secluded garden, spacious kitchen, efficient shower and even a TV/dvd player in case it rains (it didn't).
This was my second stay and I have booked a third!
Thank you, Steve

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2018
Thank you for your review and booking your 3rd holiday at Topaz for next year. We have a growing list of guests returning year on year which is the best recommendation you can get. The fantastic weather has been a real bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing