We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool & Comfortable”
Review of Weeke Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunsford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weeke Barton
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool & Comfortable”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend escape with husband and dog. We were very impressed, hosts Sam and Jo were attentive, yet relaxed hosts who had obviously put much care, research and country love into their super-cool Dartmoor Longhouse. Was perfectly situated for walks and Dartmoor forays further afield. Our room Otis had v comfy bed, super shower, soft towels and gorgeous Cornish toiletries which we immediately ordered online as they smelt so good. Local pubs were welcoming and served good honest tasty fare, too. Would heartily recommend. Jo and Sam share their home with warmth, welcoming smiles and a laid back, happy atmosphere. Scrumptious breakfasts, we both loved the home made granola and eggs are from farm next door.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samfa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We found Weeke Barton through Mr&Mrs Smith and enjoyed two wonderful nights and three days there.

Sam and Jo are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they truly are redefining what a B&B is.

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and instantly relaxed in the lounge with a welcome cup of tea (and juice for our six year old).

We opted for dinner on the first night and enjoyed a delicious home cooked meal by Jo, who kindly substituted items as I am GF - the GF crumble was such a treat! My husband enjoyed the Honesty Bar no end.

Meals are eaten in the dining room around a huge communal table which allows for interesting chats and a chance to meet the other guests.

The rooms (we actually stayed in both Orla and Avalon (Avalon being our favourite)) were beautiful - complete with first class beds, bedding and fab bathrooms. Flat screens sit on the wall, but there is no TV reception (fantastic in my opinion), but there is an interesting mix of DVDs in the bar should you wish to indulge.

Wifi is available throughout and is fast enough to power multiple streams (and Netflixs!) without any buffering.

The gardens (and fresh apples off the trees) and setting are truly spectacular with Jo and Sam happy to direct you in areas such as walking, eating locally and things to do. The Miniature Pony Sanctuary and Bovey Castle both went down a treat with us.

I'd happily recommend Weeke Barton to anyone who was thinking of going - you'll be enthusiastically welcomed and sink into a delicious relaxed state within minutes of arriving...the property and setting are fabulous in true Dartmoor style, but it is Sam and Jo who really set this place apart - thank you for the running routes and the plasters after my fall! We'll be back...

Room Tip: Orla's and Avalon's rooms offer more space for whippersnappers! Coco the dog doesn't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snafflepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sam and Jo really do make your stay a perfect one. From the minute you arrive you are relaxed and comfortable. Everything is easy and nothing is a problem.
As a family, we usually stay in a cottage so that we can come and go as we please, however for a 2 night stay we really just wanted our break to be easy. We found the right place here. The rooms are cosy and the beds are super comfy. The shared areas are perfectly relaxed with wood burners and cosy sofas.
Sam is the perfect host in his easy going 'cheeky chappy' way. He went out of his way to make sure that my husband, myself and our daughter were made to feel relaxed and happy. Every recommendation he made for our day trips were spot on.
There are great walks that they have taken time to detail in booklets that are very accurate and you can take with you, as well as maps you can borrow to find your way around if you're driving. The area is just wondrous with fantastic views at every turn.
A great find that will satisfy you on every level.

Room Tip: Ask Sam about your room requirements and he will help you find the best one for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our family hired all 5 rooms to celebrate a family birthday, so we effectively had exclusive use. What a fabulous place.

The Longhouse is full of character, beautifully designed and decorated. We looked into all 5 rooms and all looked great, though our room (Orla), was definitely my favourite, with the fabulous freestanding bath in the middle of the room and two window seats covered in sheepskins looking out onto the hills. Before getting ready for dinner each evening I had a glass of bubbly and a soak in the bath: absolute bliss!

The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom had a large powerful shower. Perfect.

Sam and Jo the owners were helpful both before and during our stay, providing us with arrival information, restaurant recommendations and things to do and see in the area. There is an alcove in the dining room with maps and local information which is helpful.

Breakfast was at the huge slate table in the dining room and comprised delicious home made granola, coffee, tea, OJ and a full cooked breakfast. We also ate dinner one evening and Jo put on a wonderful menu with the most amazing pork and chorizo pie for main course.

The lounge is a great place to kick back, with comfy sofas and a real fire and we all loved the honesty bar where you can mix your own drinks and pretend to be Tom Cruise.

As we were there in October, our opportunities for hanging around the grounds were limited, but it must be lovely in the spring/summer to while away an hour or two on a table outside with a drink.

Highly recommend Weeke Barton: what more could you want from a relaxing weekend away? Particularly recommend for hire of the whole house though we hope to return as a couple as well.

Room Tip: Orla is my favourite with its huge bath and window seats looking onto the hills, but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a cheeky long weekend here in the summer. It is without rival the nicest place I have ever stayed.

Lovely couple running things, beautiful rooms, STUNNING views. Really nice area.

Oh, and lush granola!

Room Tip: If available, choose Orla's room. Just trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Weeke Barton is a secret gem of a B&B.

A beautifully restored and tastefully embellished historic 'Long House' perched on the slopes above the upper Teign valley, with lovely landscaped gardens, stylish rooms retaining all their old features (lime plaster, beams, huge galleried ceilings, stone) but with added luxurious bathrooms and great guest facilities such as a separate comfortable lounge. Large flatscreen TVs/ DVDs are placed in all the rooms, but only work on DVD; so bring your own – if you must – or borrow one from the hosts' eclectic collection. You won't miss the telly in this environment anyway.

Owned by ex-London creative 'escapees' (Jo and Sam) seeking a better way of family living, the guys have found it and their B&B business allows others to share briefly in this peaceful lifestyle idyll. It has all you would expect from a country B&B in a National Park – access up a tricky single track, high hedged lane – though not too far from a comfortable to navigate B road and, indeed, the A38 – that then opens onto the splendid house and grounds. It is well placed for Dartmoor highlights like Castle Drogo, varied hiking opportunities and the market town of Moretonhampstead; and is well served by nearby country inns, though obviously none you can walk to. Dinner is available some evenings, but not the night we stayed there.

Breakfast is very good – our summer stay afforded use of the sunny terrace – with a highlight being the delicious home made granola and local produce used throughout.

We stayed one night on our way to the south Devon coast. Weeke Barton and its surrounds were perfect for this - it represents outstanding value for money for the quality of accommodation on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The sun (and the mobile signal) had been left far behind and the last few miles were driven on wet roads in deepening gloom. The sat nav was resting quietly on the shelf back home in London (Doh!) and I was trusting the directions scribbled down from the hotel website.

I needn't have worried. Jo and Sam have got pretty much all bases covered with this remote but welcoming B&B on the edge of Dartmoor. Despite the absence of signage from the main road the house was found exactly as described. Bags dumped in room and Sam's offer of a welcoming cuppa saw the ultimate 'happy hour' spent in front of the wood burner in the lounge...all cares drifting away into the silence.

The 500-year old house has been tastefully and lovingly renovated (it is their home too after all) and it's like moving into a place of your own...albeit much nicer!

Evening dining (by prior arrangement) is a communal affair so if you are the type who wants privacy at mealtimes Weeke Barton probably isn't for you. Equally, if you really must have a mobile signal at all times and want to be able to watch your favourite TV programme then you'll be unlucky too - there's no phone or TV signal. There's excellent wi-fi throughout, however, and an extensive DVD library for the flat-screen monitor in your room.

And the bed...mmmm the bed. Mine was super king-size (if I'd brought a partner we'd have been sleeping on separate post codes!) and supersoft too.

With no one able to overlook my room I decadently decided to leave the curtains open and be woken by the dawn as the sun (yeah right...) came up over the moor. Jo's delicious breakfast of home made or local produce got the day off to a great start, apart from the sadness of actually having to leave.

Forget hatchet-face Blackpool landladies, this is a very different kind of B&B and much the better for it. With the modern road warrior's weaponry mostly disabled for the duration this must be the perfect place to de-stress.

Room Tip: There's no TV but all rooms have wifi and DVD players so if you need electronic entertainment br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsford
0.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weeke Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weeke Barton

Property: Weeke Barton
Address: Dunsford, Dartmoor National Park EX6 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Dunsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 double bedrooms with en-suite in a stylishly renovated longhouse set in Dartmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weeke Barton Dunsford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing