We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Parfait!”
other travelers have booked this property
Idyllic, fully renovated 17th century cottage marries charm with contemporary comfort.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Idyllic, fully renovated 17th century cottage marries charm with contemporary comfort.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Idyllic, fully renovated 17th century cottage marries charm with contemporary comfort.
Private rear garden with outdoor dining and lounging furniture & BBQ
Cozy seating before working fireplace
French doors open onto rear garden
Fully equipped kitchen with latest appliances.
Charming combination of traditional vernacular and contemporary comfort
Ground floor bedroom with en suite bath featuring spacious walk in terrazzo shower.
Detail of ground floor bedroom
detail of spacious walk in, stone-lined shower, ground floor bathroom
first floor bedroom with choice of queen or twin beds
Bedroom windows have interior shutters,which block light for restful sleep
first floor bedroom with choice of queen or single bed
All bedrooms have two windows offering a variety of views.
Light filled interior spaces.
Upstairs bathroom features double sink, bath and shower with glass door
Cedar terrace with infinity fountain
View from upstairs windows
Unspoiled view of garden, pastures, fields and woods.
View down our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montresor, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Harry m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Parfait!”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this cottage based totally on the photo - it lived up to that image beautifully! A wonderfully restored cottage in a great area from which it is possible to make lots of day trips to chateaux, the lovely town of Loches, Tours and the whole Loire area. (I would also have been very happy to stay at the cottage for a week!)

The cottage is very well equipped, the hosts generous, warm and welcoming. Just sorry we are so far away in Australia but hoping to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Merci. It was a treat to get to know you and your smiling family. Hope to meet again either here or "down under"!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is absolutely beautiful. Fully equipped with everything you could wish for even down to luxury hand soaps and tissues. The wifi is excellent so don't be put off by there being no tv, if the children want to watch a film an ipad is the answer. Sleeping here is like a dream, so quiet, just wake up listening to the horses munching the grass outside. There is a full kitchen, table tennis and a lovely veranda to stake in the view. The hosts are very accomodating and their dog is wonderful too. The local shops are a drive away so you will find plenty to eat for breakfast on the first day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you Claire. There is no bigger compliment than a return visit and were delighted to catch up with you two years on. We are lucky to host such a lovely family. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“All of the charms of France reside in this lovely stone cottage.”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We could not have asked for more. Located in the most idyllic setting of lush greenery in the serene rural countryside. So quiet you will sleep like a baby. But when you are ready to explore, the many chateaus and other local attractions are a convenient drive. Don't miss the Saturday market day in Loches where you can mingle with the locals and stock up on cheese, sausage, fruit (and much more) to enjoy a lunch in the garden of your stone cottage. Montressor, Villandry, Chamont Sur Loire and Chenonceau are all worthwhile visits. The home of Leonardo da Vinci is located in Amboise and the exhibit showcases his many talents.

When you need a break from sightseeing your cottage is the perfect place to relax. Authentic but renovated with all the modern conveniences. Exactly as shown in the pictures. Casey and Jeffery were very accommodating and concerned about our comfort during our stay yet still respecting our privacy . When we did want to interact it was like visiting with friends and felt they were a couple that we would enjoy if we lived in the same city.

We will miss Petite La Cartinere and would definitely here again if we return to Loire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
So glad Barbara that you left with happy memories of your séjour chez nous in the Loire Valley. You certainly were intrepid explorers of the best of our region's treasures. Merci!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in tranquil setting”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay in the cottage. The surrounds were perfect - picture perfect- and the cottage is beautifully renovated - clever , functional and comfortable. The little village of Montresor nearby was wonderful- try the little cafe down the hill from the castle - good coffee and friendly staff. Casey and Jeffrey were perfect hosts, very helpful and discreet. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Merci Sheena!
It was great having you as guests. Hope your return trip went smoothly. So appreciate your kind review.
Take good care,
Casey & Jeffrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfmcc25
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This home is beautiful--equipped with everything you would need along with the added bonus of beautiful views and an outdoor seating area (which we were lucky enough to enjoy due to warmer than usual spring weather). We were given a complete orientation to the house upon our arrival, and definitely used the binder full of information about sites to see and places to eat. The location is close to chateaus, vineyards and the beautiful village of Montresor. Our stay was too short (only 3 days), but was the highlight of our trip to France.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerscri...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Peace and comfort in the Loire Valley”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed one week (too short) in this lovely, fully renovated cottage in a very quiet rural setting, but within easy drive of many of the Loire Valley's highlights. Very welcoming on-site hosts (including labrador), who have been at this property for many years, and could help with much local knowledge. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful and high quality property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you Roger And Sally. It was a pleasure to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennyKare...
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place in the country quiet”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this holiday home. The hosts had thought of everything to make a holiday stay memorable and easy. Every time I found we had forgotten something, there it was available for us to use. The position is quiet and relaxing and the amenities are top class. We both relaxed with a book out of the silver travel chest whilst our daughter enjoyed doing a jigsaw puzzle. The added extra of a gorgeous dog to pat and play with capped it all off for us.
The house is large enough to sleep 6 (we slept 3 - parents in double bed and 10 yr old in a gorgeous big bed too. The views are great and it is so quiet.
We just loved this place. Jeffrey and Casey have done a great job with the renovation - it was a delight to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great facilities and the quiet relaxing atmosphere
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing