We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, unprofessional, unclean... do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau-monastere de la Corroirie
Ranked #1 of 2 Montresor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We felt that from our first contact with the owners of this hotel we were dealt with in a very unprofessional manner. We struggled to find the property and called the owner for advice, which was given in a poor 'couldn't care less' manner. On finding the property and seeing the state of the place, (supposed reception room with rotten veg on dusty worktops, trenches in the floor and building materials/rubbish littering it) we returned to tourist information to consider staying elsewhere (there were limited other options so we did indeed stay, but wished we hadn't). The expensive room did not even have an en-suite, the 'luxury' double bed was two singles pushed together and the soap in the bathroom was dirty and very secondhand. The whole place seemed to lack any professionalism or quality, particularly compared to similar properties in this price range. Breakfast was minimal and the atmosphere felt unwelcoming, deserted and abandoned - until the gardeners turned up noisily in the early morning.
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tim2cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

The location is beautiful, but given the price to quality ratio, I would probably not stay at this place again. Of our 3 location trip, this was the most expensive of the B&B's at 125 euros so was expecting something more special than we had had in the previous 2 B&B's.

We arrived at 6pm, having spoken with the B&B earlier that day when we were en route to confirm that is when we would arrive. We were suprised then that on arriving, they still had to ask us to wait as the bed had not yet been made.

The room was large, but the bathroon toilet had a leak, and there we no toiletries other than a half used bar of soap (which was rather off putting).

They do dinner, but we had already booked the nearbye at the Moulin Chaudee - and I would recommend eating there, it was excellent.

Breakfast was outside on the "terasse". Coffee to rip the back of your throat out. If you specify a time, dont be late, as the other guests were - their hot bread, croissants and coffee were left out at the same time as ours, and they arrived as we left - by which time it was stone cold.

Internet kept packing up, and the owner said that was always happening.

We slept well, and the bed was really comfortable, but I dont think we will be coming by again - it was not worth it

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LilM459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank XanderCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatHelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffdeM, Propriétaire at Chateau-monastere de la Corroirie, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Frenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau-monastere de la Corroirie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau-monastere de la Corroirie

Address: Route de Loches, 37460 Montresor, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montresor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montresor
Price Range: $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the road from Loches to Montrésor, at the heart of the Loire-Touraine chateau, we are delighted to welcome you to this quiet, spacious chateau for a memorable stay in the beautifully conserved, unusual and serene setting of this former chateau-monastery. Organic grounds and menu (organic farming certified) accommodation certified “Clé Verte”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau-monastere de la Corroirie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing