We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing”
Review of Reka Dom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reka Dom
Ranked #4 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked Reka Dom as a birthday/Christmas present for girlfriend and was very impressed! We stayed in the Powderham suite, which felt unique and homely and had a fantastic view over the river. Unfortunately it rained for most of the weekend, but on a clear day I imagine the views would be really incredible! The place is perfect for relaxing; our room had a huge bed and sofa and a lovely big bath too; it's easy to spend the whole day gazing out the window or reading or in the bath. Breakfast was delicious; they are cooked to order with really tasty eggs and bacon, and there's the usual array of cereals and fruits. The family are welcoming too. Topsham is a lovely village, with lots of unique, independent shops and restaurants. The Reka Dom is a short walk into the centre of the village and seconds from the river, which you can walk beside and into local nature reserves which are perfect for a post-breakfast walk. All in all, and despite the weather, we had a great stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdenbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Tower Suite is a quirky layout with commanding views. The hosts serve breakfast with fantastic quality and a friendly calm. You'll totally enjoy yourself here. You can eat at all the restaurants in Topsham which are no more than 10 minutes slow walk away. A+

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesleyPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at Reka Dom several times over recent years and it just gets better and better!
The house has an amazing history and each suite is unique. Previous folks have made very positive and accurate comments about the Tower suite - but the other suites are equally elegant and comfortable in their own way. Views are spectacular from each one. We loved the various birdlife and watching the beautiful sunsets.
Breakfasts are amazing - as stated in previous reviews. Huge array of cereals, poached and fresh fruit, home made bread and jams and marmalades AND cooked to order! Great conversations are to be had around the breakfast table to the extent that everyone wants to stay and chat.
The family atmosphere is wonderful - Matt & Ros are great hosts!
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned and want to re-book. Spent Bank Holiday weekend in the Tower suite and didn't want to move - just watch the tides change. Breakfasts are cooked to order and the selection outdoes some of the very best hotels. The family are welcoming, helpful and willing not only to answer questions about the house and town but willing to sell some of their past acquisitions from the Bank Holiday Pop up Shop! I have read write ups before prior to booking - in this case the ones that give Reka Dom a very good review are correct!

Room Tip: Views from the Tower Room are just fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We can endorse enthusiastically the many positive comments. This is the best place we have stayed that is not in Alistair Sawday, and that is a very high standard. The Tower Room is really a suite, with a sitting room at the top of the Tower, above the bedroom and bathroom. The views are spectacular from all the rooms, perhaps especially the bathroom, which has large windows facing down the estuary. Breakfast is genuinely extraordinary, cereals and fruit and compote, excellent cooked options, little treats, good conversation. We had to be prised away. Definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the most wonderful stay. I booked all three rooms in the run up to my wedding day in Topsham, and Ros could not have been more helpful. The rooms themselves are absolutely stunning - the views of the Estuary cannot be topped from the Powderham room, and the Tower room views just took our breath away! The breakfast is out of this world - we were spoilt for choice, from homemade French toast and granola to a full English. Absolutely superb. Ros was also very accommodating about what time we ate, and on my wedding morning made sure that a tray was ready so I could eat in my room while getting ready. She really went out of her way, and even handwrote directions to the wedding ceremony venue so we didn't have any last minute panics. I really couldn't have been more happy with our choice of accommodation. The only downside is that every Bed and Breakfast after this has just seemed second rate in comparison!

Room Tip: Powderham very spacious, Tower room fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennylh_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Tower Suite. Fantastic and uplifting views over the estuary, especially from the upper sitting room. The bathroom is a little quirky as the wash basin is in a separate space, but it is a small quibble. Great view from the wash basin! You need to be reasonably agile to get up and down the stairs.
We had smoked haddock and two poached eggs for breakfast. Excellent choices, though a French contingent were a little baffled as to why the toast was not on the table at the outset. Nothing is too much trouble. I found the ambient music eminating from the kitchen every time the door opened a bit off putting, but I am very sensitive to that sort of thing. Very helpful and pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityjaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
517 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reka Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reka Dom

Property: Reka Dom
Address: 43 The Strand, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and go as please. Breakfast when and how you like and soak up the atmosphere of our unique family home. Whether holidaying with the children, seeking a romantic bolthole or a business stopover, Reka Dom is the perfect choice in Topsham if you are looking for something a little bit special but decidedly informal. Situated close to the Bowling Green Marshes RSPB bird reserve in the heart of the Topsham Conservation Area, our spacious rooms enjoy peace, privacy, quirky period features and unrivalled river views. We can accommodate up to 6 people in two very different suites. Choose between 'The Tower' with far reaching estuary and countryside views or the incredibly spacious Powderham Suite, a perfect choice for families or a great alternative to a twin room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing