We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fod”
Review of The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Globe
Ranked #1 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had lunch here last week. The food in the two courses for £12 was plentiful and very tasty. The service and courtesy of the staff was exemplary and they were very keen to make sure that we were happy. The choice of coffees was very good and in very large cups. There has been a marked improvement since the new managers have taken over and I am sure that there things will get even better. I will certainly go back and take friends there on our visits to Topsham

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N5682QZtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for The Globe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a large group event here with dinner. Service was outstanding from all the team and Adam in particular made us feel like we were regular visitors. Food was good vale and the refurbished rooms very comfortable - particularly the bathroom. The only gripe was no air-con given the 'freak' temperatures! Would happily go back and probably will - a welcome change from the national chains with staff who care.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Haydn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

very very clean , big and decorated room, on the little road with pub under. lots of tee and coffee . nice big bath towels , big bottles of shower gel , shampoo ,body lotion and soap.
it was little bit noise as it was Saturday night but not tragic , we went downstairs for dinner which was very tasty and looking good . close to the river little town and very clean and quite.
staff was very friendly and helpful . we had a iron and fan as the weather was very hot and there is no air con.
we will go there again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monisia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Following the change of management and re-fit the Globe is a great place to go. Staff were excellent and very friendly, very helpful, despite being the last down to breakfast (and not a lot on display) they provided a fabulous breakfast. Very comfortable beds and super showers :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unfortunately its over-priced for what it is which is a basic pub/motel trying to be more than it is. Breakfast is pretty pricey for the smallest "full english" in the country. When we asked if they also had soya milk option for coffee it was like i had just asked for something that is so far fetched its was laughable. Also the staff parson the phrase "dont' know their [--] from the elbow!!". Worst is that the GM Deborah would understand customer service if it jumped up and slapped her in the face. Its a real shame.

When you can stay up the road at the Salutation Inn for a tiny bit more and get miles better service, food, drink, etc its a no brainer and leaves me with what i said as the title, "Just Don't Bother"

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshj6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

An old fashioned experience - creaky, charming hotel and enthusiastic, attentive staff. We stayed in a recently added extension, thus the best of both worlds! Early dinner and late breakfast - a better option than anywhere we have stayed in Exeter, yet only minutes away from there. In the early evening the bar staff might have asked three of the gentlemen drinkers to launder their language!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place has had a refurb in the last year or so and the interior seems modern but retains much of the quirkyness you expect from an old establishment. My room was inside the main building and was on the small side yet clean and warm (A little too warm) It's not really set up for business people, the rooms have no desks, poor internet access and very limited parking. I had to park 200 yards up the road only to find out later that some of the meagre parking spaces had been taken up by the hotel's staff.
The bar was lively and had a good range of real ale. The restaraunt was very good with a quality selection of dishes as well as competent and attentive staff. I had the monkfish and tiger prawn curry which I would recommend.
Some of the staff appear to be new and will take some more experience to provide an excellent service. I feel this hotel will improve with time and I willm use it again.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space. Balcony rooms have less privacy but have more space and larg...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,104 reviews
3.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
529 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range: $114 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing