We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Globe
Ranked #1 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Following the change of management and re-fit the Globe is a great place to go. Staff were excellent and very friendly, very helpful, despite being the last down to breakfast (and not a lot on display) they provided a fabulous breakfast. Very comfortable beds and super showers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    142
    32
    20
    11
See reviews for
77
188
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unfortunately its over-priced for what it is which is a basic pub/motel trying to be more than it is. Breakfast is pretty pricey for the smallest "full english" in the country. When we asked if they also had soya milk option for coffee it was like i had just asked for something that is so far fetched its was laughable. Also the staff parson the phrase "dont' know their [--] from the elbow!!". Worst is that the GM Deborah would understand customer service if it jumped up and slapped her in the face. Its a real shame.

When you can stay up the road at the Salutation Inn for a tiny bit more and get miles better service, food, drink, etc its a no brainer and leaves me with what i said as the title, "Just Don't Bother"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshj6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

An old fashioned experience - creaky, charming hotel and enthusiastic, attentive staff. We stayed in a recently added extension, thus the best of both worlds! Early dinner and late breakfast - a better option than anywhere we have stayed in Exeter, yet only minutes away from there. In the early evening the bar staff might have asked three of the gentlemen drinkers to launder their language!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place has had a refurb in the last year or so and the interior seems modern but retains much of the quirkyness you expect from an old establishment. My room was inside the main building and was on the small side yet clean and warm (A little too warm) It's not really set up for business people, the rooms have no desks, poor internet access and very limited parking. I had to park 200 yards up the road only to find out later that some of the meagre parking spaces had been taken up by the hotel's staff.
The bar was lively and had a good range of real ale. The restaraunt was very good with a quality selection of dishes as well as competent and attentive staff. I had the monkfish and tiger prawn curry which I would recommend.
Some of the staff appear to be new and will take some more experience to provide an excellent service. I feel this hotel will improve with time and I willm use it again.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space. Balcony rooms have less privacy but have more space and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plastiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
377 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Used to go here as it is very close to the est restaurant in the area, La Petite Maison. However it was taken over by StAustell brewery recently, and , apparently, the bedrooms were all refurbished. Well. I am sorry but I found the bedroom we had very disappointing. A mis match of furniture that really didn't work, old windows that didn't conceal the loud noises from the pub belw that went until after 1am, even though the Hotel advertises that it closes at 11pm. And the softest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever come across

Room Tip: Try somewhere else, Exeter, or Exmouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having being to the Globe many times over the years, it was sad to see a great place full into such, sad tired place, completely soulless with no service either
Having visited on Sunday for Lunch yesterday, I was completely and pleasantly surprised, the place has come back to life, food was brilliant, service, especially from our server Adam was top rate.
Will return very soon to this revived gem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Disappointed is probably the best way to describe our visit. Our room was okay but with a balcony/walkway to all the other rooms which allowed all going past to look into your room. The only way of obtaining some privacy was to pull down the black-out blind and turn on the lights. Trouble was the lights not very bright so getting ready for a wedding when we needed some light was to put up with people starring in. We did not eat in the pub in the evening but we were looking forward to breakfast and we wish we had not bothered. Breakfast still had half an hour to go but there was absolutely nothing left. An average cooked breakfast did arrive as did some coffee which we had to get up from the table to fetch. St Austell need to come up with some better arrangements, especially for the price they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning_Cus2mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Globe, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Globe. We pride ourselves on getting it right and giving customers great experiences. On this occasion we have fallen short of our usual high standards. With regards to your room the lighting is something which is currently being resolved.

Please accept my sincere apologies for you not getting the break you wanted. I would be very grateful if you could contact me on 01392 873471, so we can rectify the situation and get some further information surrounding your breakfast experience.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Adam Carew

Acting General Manager
The Globe, Topsham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Property: The Globe
Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing