We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough”

The Globe Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nothing particularly special about this pub, some nice real ales and ciders but a worryingly large menu. When the menu in a pub is that big I usually order something from the specials board. I had the curry of the day which was Chicken Tikka Massala. A long, long way off anything resembling the same dish you would get on a curry house but at least it wasn't microwave food. Fish bake was nice but it contained calamari - in my experience you normally have just soft pieces of fish.

Outside area is ok but the tables were all dirty with cigarette ash.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    62
    32
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just had a fantastic lunch for a table of 8. Excellent courses all prepared on the premises in a timely fashion with great service. Just booked to have a Christmas meal for 8. Take a visit. You won't be disappointed. Every dish was hearty and authentic using local produce. You certainly can tell the difference when you eat food that has thoughtfully and thoroughly been prepared. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikewesleyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice traditional pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely little pub, only downside was that if you don't eat or like meat then no other choice unless you ask to have something made for you such as scampi. I don't eat meat but fortunately for me they did have lasagne which was delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank flosspops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“rude rude rude... avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

after not eating here for over 2 years because of quality of food we thought we would give it another go... when we 1st arrived and asked for a menu and ordered a drink i asked for a tab... the bar person was very rude pointing to a piece of paper stuck to the wall saying some rubbish about bank mangers and credit... i just wanted to pay for our meal on 1 bill as we have done at all other pubs.. undeterred we sat and ordered starters and mains... mine arrived without the extras this was addressed with not 2 much problem(but sub standard)... but when the main came (globe chicken).. it was dry and chips were burnt i sent it back and decided not to continue with any more food no apologies... they made me feel like i had a problem that i did not accept their standards after reading other reviews i have to agree... rude rude rude with sub standard food we finished none of the food and even left half a pint of the amstel beer as it tasted of water... what a shame we love to eat out but never here again... just a note not all the staff were this rude but sadly their colleges more than made up for it...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcboddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and husband came out on a friday night to enjoy some food and good music.
What a brilliant time we had.
The food was amazing..I had the fishermans Bake which was scrumming and a good size portion, my husband had the 10oz rump and in his words it was cooked perfectly.
The staff where brilliant really on the ball...great service.
After our food we moved across to the bar area where we found a spot to enjoy the music..the pub was really busy and the atmosphere was really good. The staff where very efficient and handled the busy bar very well remaining happy and up beat the whole night.
Such a lovely welcoming local pub.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cottrell-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sampford Peverell, Devon
 

Been to The Globe Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing