We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pub Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Globe Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pub Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family and I called in for a meal whilst visiting friends in the area. We dined quite early on a Friday evening as we have children. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was fantastic. Superb quality and imaginative presentation. Never before have I eaten such a delicious salad. Chips were served in a mini, chip-pan basket on the side of the plate. Faultless!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    51
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
68
61
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently visited the Globe Inn with family after some excellent meals there over the past few years. Sadly since our last visit the welcome, the food and the general ambience has taken a turn for the worst.

The large portions of good wholesome food have been replaced with designer type dishes that look good but leave you wanting. The staff were more interested in chatting amongst themselves than serving and on reflection we can see why the inn was only about half full on a Friday evening in August.

We will now be looking for other places to eat in the Tiverton area, which is a shame because this was our favourite stop off place en route to both airports, and UK holiday desinations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonDragon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments but we have to move with the times we have a fantastic Head Chef and our food is fresh locally sourced and freshly prepared I have owned this business for six years and we are as busy as we have ever been Friday was an extremely busy day for us
as is every weekend I must also say that I do not believe in filling plates up with all sorts of garnish that gets returned and wasted also the cost of quality food items such us Devon reared beef is extremely expensive we try to hold our prices down whilst giving superb quality we could buy cheaper ingredients such as Argentinian beef and fill plates up with rubbish and there are plenty out there that do that such as Wetherspoons when they took a sample of their meat for analysis they could only find a 10% genetic link to any beef breed,but we are not prepared to do it , its about quality not quantity if people realised that there would`nt be so much obesity in society. I believe your ssue is with portion size I think your comments about my fantastic hardworking staff are disengenuous you also didnt leave a comment card or mention any problems when speaking to any member of staff who would have been happy to sort out any issues your comment that the pub was half full on a Friday night in August is snide and silly the Globe has 200 covers in it, thats seats, and three restaurant areas and it is designed to not look busy so our customers have space to relax we are a very succesful business with very high turnover somewhat of a rarity in these straightened times nevertheless thank you for taking the time to reply and I hope you find something to your liking in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there with our family. We were cheerfully greeted on arrival and lunch and drinks were to a good standard. The children loved the play area. Both rooms were above average and had clearly been recently refurbished. Minor niggle though - bathroom hot water tap wouldn't completely turn off. It was very noisy late evening. A number of over-refreshed and overfed oafs stayed late and made sleep difficult before 1.30am. The evening staff were nowhere near as friendly as the lunchtime folk and tables were not cleared or cleaned promptly. It's these details which cost nothing but make so much difference to the whole experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GrimeyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed locally at muddifords court and visited for an evening meal , we had s drink in the bar and then asked for s table in the restaurant . Had no problems with the aervice and the food was great. If asked it was the best value and more importantly the best quality meal we had on our week long trip . Look out for the specials ..... 2 fish and chips in a pub for £12.00 ??? Again good portions ,well cooked can't go wrong.
We love a good two hours drive away and would now book a b & b just to come back to this pub !!!

Room Tip: Book a table at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 and unless it's had a serious makeover since I'm afraid I have to give it the thumbs down. Very poor service, and substandard .
I spent £180 for two rooms for one night . It was not worth £50.
Slow service and bar was lax. The rooms were clean but better value is found at the travel lodge. The only plus was the chef made us some food after the kitchen closed. If you are the owner of the Globe take note, sort out your staff to be more attentive to paying guests rather than the lush at the bar. Sort out your accomodation. Get all rooms to a high standard and decent doors that lock properly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cannella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonDragon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thankyou very much for taking the time to comment even though it was quite a a belated review you will be pleased to know that we have invested in the hotel side of the business and it is as popular as ever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family and I popped in for a drink on a Sunday in March. It was lunchtime and there were plenty of people eating food which is always a good sign in my opinion, although staff slightly slow in clearing the dirty plates away!
We found the drinks to be reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly.
It had a nice garden outside with play equipment for the children.
We would frequent again if in the local area. No complaints from us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonDragon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stopped for Dinner at this Inn on our way down to Cornwall, so good we stopped there again on our way back. A great old fashioned country pub, lively friendly and obviously an important part of this community. Staff so friendly and obliging and super food with a reasonably good choice, most of the food is locally sourced. The locals are a great crowd and so friendly. Not sophisticated just really a refreshing atmosphere. I travel to Cornwall regularly to family and this will now be a certain stop off, only 3 minutes from junction 27 of M5 so just could not be handier. Another plus point for me was that we could take the dog into the bar and eat there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brodiesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonDragon, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thankyou for your comments hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sampford Peverell
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.6 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Property: The Globe Inn
Address: 16 Lower Town, Sampford Peverell EX16 7BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sampford Peverell
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sampford Peverell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing