We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Wheelwright Inn

Wheelwright Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheelwright Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Like the previous entry, we arrived when it was not so busy. No local ales to start with but sat at a table.
Waitress delivered a well used and stained paper menu. No real big deal but when the food arrived after a wait, the burger was over cooked, the bun burnt as where the fries and no dressing and salad as advertised.
The poor waitress was on her own and clearly overwhelmed with running around between the bar, kitchen and tables.
I cannot ever remember a worse presented plate of food, so I did the right thing and paid for the drinks and left.
I would seriously swerve around this place at all costs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank unforgettable_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Only 2 Waitresses working bar and restaurant on a Friday Bank Holiday we should have known we may be in for a wait - but 2 HOURS for our main meal to arrive.
Having been seated at our table we waited 20 mins before the menus were brought to the table. We ordered a bottle of wine and a Guiness. The Guiness was sour and the waitress told us that the barrels obviously needed changing but it takes too long - something to do with the pipes!!!
Two of the starters chosen were now 'no longer on the menu'.
Our starters arrived so late that we had finished our bottle of wine.......I, having not ordered a starter waited 2 HOURS before the mains came out. We were so fed up with the whole evening we didn't wish to order dessert.The whole evening was painful......and there was only 1 other table filled when we arrived - so no excuses that it was too busy when we first arrived.
We did not complain at the time as we were entertaining friends who had travelled from London that day.
I rang the next day to speak to the manager, Gary and in 3 days I haven't had any response.
Very disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank juanita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had been wanting to visit the wheelwright for sometime after reading some of the reviews... We arrived and were very briskly taken to our table it's a shame we were not able to have a drink at the bar before hand .. But service was good. Very polite and helpful.. After being seated we were reading through the menu and noticed a few very familiar dishes from our local in honiton ( the railway inn ) I was hoping to try something different as we had ventured out, food was good. ( but not as good :) ) deserts were poor which was a Shame ( I did notice this was pointed out in some other reviews but I wanted to sample for myself ) all in all a nice place but will be sticking to our usual eatery in future . Oh and the antiques are a nice touch! Very interesting

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate here with friends one night. Service was good, although they were very keen to show us straight to our table the minute we walked through the door. We asked for a drink at the bar first which we really enjoyed before selecting from the menu and being shown to our table when the food was ready.
Food was Ok and reasonable value. The desserts really let it down. I had a"Chocolate Fudge Sundae ". This was served in a glass and was very poor. One small scoop of ice cream, too much spray cream and dry chocolate sponge. My friend had a "Lemon Tiramisu" dry sponge, too much spray cream and lemon curd, again served in a glass - not good. One of our party ordered the cheese - a couple of slices of cheddar, Stilton and under ripe soft cheese, probably bought in the local supermarket. We were not impressed.
The starters and main courses were very good and we will be returning but next time we will not order desserts or cheese..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Took some friends here for dinner. Generally the food was good and at a fair price. The staff were polite, friendly and service was good. The only disappointment were the sweets which did not meet the expectations set by the menu descriptions. Also the cheese selection could be more adventurous. Overall very good and will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate here for the second time since Xmas and both times we have found the Wheelwright to stand out both in absolute terms and particularly for the area. Dining room is snug without being too tightly packed. Menu is great - excellent ingredients offered in a range of interesting dishes that are well presented. Kids menu is usefully more straightforward for the less adventurous. Service is attentive and friendly. All in all a real find which seems to be well supported, so worth booking in advance to be sure of a seat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good service and the staff very welcoming. The food was gorgeous (the chips deserve a special mention) with the toffee apple mess completing a nice Valentine's evening. Attention to detail was excellent with the tables decorated nicely. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wheelwright Inn and would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swan Hill House
Swan Hill House
#2 of 4 in Colyford
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwright Inn

Property: Wheelwright Inn
Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Wheelwright Inn Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing