We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the Yeomans Acre for one night as my husband and I were en route toSouth Devon and then North Devon. We had the ground floor front room with our own entrance. Very comfortable and we were shown all that it had by the host Des. We were also warmly greeted by hostess Yvonne. Breakfast was plentiful with cereal, fruit and local produce for a full English cooked breakfast. We will definitely rebook the next time we are due to attend South Devon. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Excellent location to explore the surrounding area. Bus stop is outside and pub across the road so you can leave your car if needs be. Lovely people making you feel comfortable and welcome... Even chilled our champagne for us. Nothing too much trouble and treated to extra bacon! Yummy! Stayed in king sized ground floor room with our little dog. Room was light and airy and recently refurbished. A couple of hooks for coats could be a good addition. Bathroom floor cold on the toes so bathmat very welcome. Room lit over night by emergency exit light too bright but being seen to. Heaters in room at your control so never cold! All very clean. Well stocked with T's etc even supplied alternative flavour on request. Would I stay again...?
Most certainly!! :-) thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilnamaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here last year for the Grizzly (run) and loved it so much, we decided to come back.

Owners Des and Yvonne have since taken over and put even more lovely touches to this lovely place. They couldn't do enough to make us any more welcome and we're great to chat to.

The breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit etc.

Look forward to retuning again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have stayed at Yeomans Acre for over ten years as I am a volunteer Driver, on the Seaton Tramway,
just close by. This is an ideal venue for a Holiday or Short Break, the present owners, Des and Yvonne have just upgradded all the rooms, which are very well appointed, and very comfortable.
they are totaly Customer Focused, and nothing is too much trouble, an early Breakfast, a late
check in, an extra blanket, and the rooms are always spotlessly clean, and always warm in the Winter. add to that a Breakfast to Die For! and most importantly excellent value for money. There is
plenty to do within the area, a real winner with everyone is the Donkey Sanctuary, literary 10 mins
up the road with over 200 Beautiful donkeys in residence, the Kids will 'come out in spots' and will
not want to leave, they have an excellent Family Restaurant on site, then there is Devons Beautiful
Jurasic Coast line, the small town of Colyton is worth a visit, very historic, featured with hanging
Judge Jefferies in the Bloody Assizes, after the 'Battle of Sedgemoor' which many locals fought
in on the side of the Duke of Monmouth against the Royalists, the reason for meeting Mr J!!
Oh and dont forget a visit to the Seaton Tramway, traveling for 3 miles along the Axe Valley,
with the kids on an open top tram. Enjoy.
Biggles Essex.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigglesEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I had booked an overnight stay at Yeoman's Acre on the strength of the reviews from others. Unfortunately, the day before we were due to stay there I hurt my knee and was unable to walk/travel so I phoned to cancel. I had booked with lastminute.com and paid in advance. Imagine my surprise when the owner told me that, if they managed to relet our room, they would send me a refund minus the share taken by lastminute.com.

Anyway, a cheque has duly arrived. I was surprised and delighted. We will certainly be making another booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were a group of 6 who stayed here for one night on January 8th. The owners were extremely accomadating to our needs and made us feel very welcome. The room was perfect. With very comfy bed & pillows. There was a good choice at breakfast and it was all delicious. Would definitely recommend and would choose if we were in the area again.

Thank you Yvonne & Des.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayem0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great spot from which to explore a beautiful part of Devon. Our room was well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast really hit the spot. Des and Yvonne were very attentive hosts. All in all, great value for money and a B&B we would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AMOD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast

Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range: $50 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeoman's Acre is characterful period former farmhouse, situated in the pretty village of Colyford. An ideal location for exploring the best of both West Dorset and East Devon, the village is just 1.5 Miles from the coast at Seaton, and overlooking the Axe Estuary. We have four en-suite bed and breakfast rooms, plus two one-bedroom self catering holiday cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing