We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast in East Devon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast in East Devon”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have stayed at Yeomans Acre for over ten years as I am a volunteer Driver, on the Seaton Tramway,
just close by. This is an ideal venue for a Holiday or Short Break, the present owners, Des and Yvonne have just upgradded all the rooms, which are very well appointed, and very comfortable.
they are totaly Customer Focused, and nothing is too much trouble, an early Breakfast, a late
check in, an extra blanket, and the rooms are always spotlessly clean, and always warm in the Winter. add to that a Breakfast to Die For! and most importantly excellent value for money. There is
plenty to do within the area, a real winner with everyone is the Donkey Sanctuary, literary 10 mins
up the road with over 200 Beautiful donkeys in residence, the Kids will 'come out in spots' and will
not want to leave, they have an excellent Family Restaurant on site, then there is Devons Beautiful
Jurasic Coast line, the small town of Colyton is worth a visit, very historic, featured with hanging
Judge Jefferies in the Bloody Assizes, after the 'Battle of Sedgemoor' which many locals fought
in on the side of the Duke of Monmouth against the Royalists, the reason for meeting Mr J!!
Oh and dont forget a visit to the Seaton Tramway, traveling for 3 miles along the Axe Valley,
with the kids on an open top tram. Enjoy.
Biggles Essex.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigglesEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
151
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I had booked an overnight stay at Yeoman's Acre on the strength of the reviews from others. Unfortunately, the day before we were due to stay there I hurt my knee and was unable to walk/travel so I phoned to cancel. I had booked with lastminute.com and paid in advance. Imagine my surprise when the owner told me that, if they managed to relet our room, they would send me a refund minus the share taken by lastminute.com.

Anyway, a cheque has duly arrived. I was surprised and delighted. We will certainly be making another booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were a group of 6 who stayed here for one night on January 8th. The owners were extremely accomadating to our needs and made us feel very welcome. The room was perfect. With very comfy bed & pillows. There was a good choice at breakfast and it was all delicious. Would definitely recommend and would choose if we were in the area again.

Thank you Yvonne & Des.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayem0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great spot from which to explore a beautiful part of Devon. Our room was well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast really hit the spot. Des and Yvonne were very attentive hosts. All in all, great value for money and a B&B we would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AMOD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 1 night stay. Very clean, lovely facilities and really attentive hosts, who even held grumpy 3 month old baby while we ate a well cooked breakfast! We will be returning for another stay. Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in Yeomans Acre on the 24th October, and can confidently say it's the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Yvonne and Des made us feel so welcome, it was simply home from home. The family room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious - all in all a wonderful stay. Thank you Des and Yvonne, we will be back!
Paula Fogg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just spent three nights at Yeoman's Acre and can highly recommend it!Super hosts who were so helpful and friendly.The room was perfect and the bed very comfortable.The breakfasts were lovely ...Des's scrambled eggs scrumptious! Nothing is too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable during our stay.
The B&B is ideally situated for trips to places like Seaton,Lyme Regis and Sidmouth and the Tram Service runs regularly through Colyford. The ride through the wetland reserve was super and not to be missed.We shall definitely be booking again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaches1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
13.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeoman's Acre is characterful period former farmhouse, situated in the pretty village of Colyford. An ideal location for exploring the best of both West Dorset and East Devon, the village is just 1.5 Miles from the coast at Seaton, and overlooking the Axe Estuary. We have four en-suite bed and breakfast rooms, plus two one-bedroom self catering holiday cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing