We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic food cooked badly, very disappointing”

The Wheelwright Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“basic food cooked badly, very disappointing”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first and last visit to the Wheelwright Inn. Poorly cooked, poorly presented food described badly on the menu. Out of several meals ordered, most of them were inedible and the others were bad. Food did not taste fresh or appetising, Unclear what meat was in the dishes we ordered. Chef was apparently away, unsure who had cooked the meals (!)
Of particular note was the smoked salmon starter, served with brown bits on the salmon and prawns floating in their own juice!! Decided to leave this
our main courses tasted and looked old, as if they may have been warmed up several times
Left the restaurant very hungry indeed. Would not recommend this pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    133
    52
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A terrible experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went to the Wheelwright's last night with friends for a birthday meal out and l am still suffering.
Having never been before we had high hopes of a lovely evening out celebrating our friends birthday.
I saw the early signs of an impending disaster when we were all struggling to find something on their menu that we wanted to eat.
The 'specials' board consisted of about 15 choices, more than in the actual menu. Another clue that this place was not what it was trying to portray itself to be. Giving themselves the title of a gastropub is a horrible joke.
The smoked salmon starter was bordering on being a health hazard and as far as the 'specials' were concerned it was obvious this was ping in the microwave heating. Nothing had been specially prepared. When asked what type of meat was in the lasagne the waitress replied she thought it 'should' be beef!
At it's very best this place can only be described as a throwback to the 70's when peoples expectations were not as high as they are today.
Yes, we complained only to be met with an argumentative waitress with bags of attitude who reluctantly gave us a small refund.
Suffice to say we shall never be stepping foot inside this 'gastropub' again.
The Wheelwright's could and should be so much better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Management settling in well”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The new team had a hard act to follow after the previous crew left to focus on the Harbour at Axmouth. However, despite the dire weather that has probably been reducing trade, the new team seem to be settling in very well. An interesting menu with good quality ingredients, in a cosy dining room made for a great dinner in an environment that wasn't too noisy ( though perhaps could have done without the music). Front of house team is also new yet had the same hall mark friendliness and approachability, so perhaps the Wheelwright brings that out in people. All said, we will certainly be going again and would recommend it to others for casual but good quality dining. Also, the large round table is still present in the semi-private alcove, so a good bet for larger group dinners of 6-8

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hearty grub”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after a long day running errands in the pouring rain. The welcome was friendly , we were given a table by the fire, the food was very nice. I had the butterfly chicken and my parents had the lamb chops. The chef made a special portion of omelette for my son. We all finished every last spoonful! Large portions, reasonable prices, lovely setting with welcoming staff, I will definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Samphill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been to the Wheelwright many times before and had an excellent meal,
this time we were sadly disappointed. The food simply wasnt up to the standard of previous visits.
We have since found there has been a change of ownership, i think they took the chefs with them,
as the food is now plain pub grub, edible but no great shakes. Sorry wont be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheelwright Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Wheelwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing