We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb small hotel with every comfort - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Swallows Eaves and were delighted with everything about this hotel. Our room and ensuite bathroom were beautifully appointed with every comfort and thoughtful extra touches - huge fluffy white bath towels , locally made biscuits, bottled water and quality toiletries. Fantastic breakfast and excellent restaurant for dinner. A real gem, more than equal to any four star hotel at a very reasonable price.
Also perfectly placed to enjoy the beautiful Jurassic Coast with the beautiful city of Exeter within easy reach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosiesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Swallows Eaves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The room was excellent, the bed very comfortable, with plenty of extra pillows and bedding, bathroom/shower facilities and cosmetics first rate. The proprietor welcomed us, offered us a choice of rooms and checked that all was well. Breakfast was cooked to order. We were the only guests that day, but a wide range of buffet dishes was set out, and the full cooked menu was available. Our waitress was attentive yet unobtrusive. In all we felt pampered. We shall not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ring up and discuss with the proprietor. One downstairs room is adjacent to the main door, so may b...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and myself liked everything about this hotel. Plenty of parking, good bedroom, quality bed, perfect bathroom and excellent service. We were unable to sample the restaurant as we had eaten earlier but the breakfast was the best we had ever had. This is a lovely part of the coast and now that we have found the perfect retreat we hope to come down more often.

Room Tip: Our room 4 was very good
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful small friendly hotel, freshly decorated throughout and lovely comfortable bedroom in soft relaxing colours and the cleanliness throughout was excellent. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked and the service was excellent. Hotel is in a perfect position for all the local attractions especially the Donkey Sanctuary and perfect for visiting all the lovely places along the coastline. We definitey intend going back to the area and will certainly stay at the Swallows Eaves again, thank you everyone for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everything has been so well thought out for the guests at this lovely hotel, which is so refreshing to find. From the lovely bedroom with its relaxing decor and oh so comfy beds, to the wonderful cleanliness and freshness throughout, friendliness and excellent breakfast. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay more than the one night there, but we promise that we will be back! Thankyou.

Sara B

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 251sallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A lovely small hotel quiet and convenient for visiting the resorts along the coast. Good food, comfortable and clean, on site parking and excellent Wifi reception. What more can you ask for! Of the many nearby attractions we particularly enjoyed the Colyton/Seaton tramway, Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenthepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Thank you for an excellent 4 night break, Dorothy and her staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We upgraded to the recently refurbished front bedroom, well worth the extra, although viewing some of the other rooms these were also very good. Restaurant food first class for breakfast and dinner. If you have time and the weather try the Seaton Tramway, up to Colyton and down to Seaton, plenty to see on estuary (don't forget Binoculars).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
438 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
254 reviews
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Eaves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Eaves Hotel

Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colyford
Price Range: $145 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swallows Eaves Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallows Eaves Hotel is a small, privately owned, boutique style hotel, located in private grounds. We are in the heart of the pretty village of Colyford, near the Devon/Dorset border. Elegant and stylish with contemporary touches, yet welcoming with the feel of a home away from home, we offer guests an idyllic place to relax and get away from the stresses of day to day life. Explore the Jurassic Coast; take a stroll along The Cobb in Lyme Regis or dip into the historical heart of our regional capital Exeter for shopping, theatre and entertainment.Following a major refurbishment at the start of 2012, the hotel has 7 attractive guest bedrooms, each beautifully decorated offering a high standard of hotel accommodation. Every guestroom has a digital TV, radio alarm, hairdryer, toiletries and beverage tray (which includes complimentary Devonshire mineral water). Several guestrooms have glorious views across the Axe Valley's wooded hills, while others look out into the hotel gardens & grounds. All guest bedrooms are en suite (our Classic rated rooms have a shower, whilst our Deluxe and Master rated rooms contain both bath and shower), complete with our wonderfully thick bath sheets and hand towels to pamper yourself. Every bed is made up with luxurious sheets of soft cotton for the ultimate sleeping experience. Plus books, magazines and free-to-access Wi-Fi all add those welcoming extras that make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swallows Eaves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Eaves Hotel Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing