We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Beat's a lot of hotel's we have stayed in to. I cannot praise Simon & Libby enough. They work so hard to make your stay really special. The little touches make all the difference, nothing is too much effort. Home made cakes in your room, tea and cake on arrival and the rooms are of a very high standard. There is so much choice for breakfast, a lot of things on the menu home made as well (bread, jam's etc). You can tell they love what they do and they are brilliant at it. I almost felt sorry for them - they work so hard to make sure you have a wonderful stay, they must feel like a holiday themselves!

If your in that area, stay there. I have already recommended it to people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123MJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Well thank you very much for a wonderful review and taking the time to write one!! We are always happy when guests have enjoyed their stay and so we hope to see you again in the future! Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Lovely couple of days spent at Swan Hill House. Simon and Libby are very friendly and welcoming with tea and cake on arrival. The rooms are decorated to a really high standard with home made biscuits and a mini fridge with complementary drinks.
Breakfast was very tasty with a wide range of options.
Close to Lyme Regis, Seaton and the lovely little village of Beer.
I would definitely recommend Swan Hill House and hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you Mel for a very kind review!! We are so glad you both enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent a night on 15 March 2014. Simon and Libby are perfect hosts. Lovely, clean and tastefully decorated B&B. Tea and homemade cake on arrival and chocolates on departure. Substantial and varied breakfast choices.Wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect!

Room Tip: Room 6 is large and well appointed. Lovely views across countryside towards nature reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you both so much for writing a review of your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your do at Lyme regis Golf Club and lovely to meet your friends aswell. Hope to see yyou in the future! Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here on 8th Feb 2014 whilst visiting River Cottage HQ. The B&B was easily located by satnav and only a ten minute drive from The River Cottage making it an extremely convenient place to stay. On our arrival we were met with tea and home made cake and freshly baked cookies... Our room was just gorgeous with a lovely view, a very comfy bed, complimentary local produce and Elemis products in the bathroom. What more could you ask for. Our breakfast the following morning was quite possibly the best Full English breakfast I have ever had... The produce is all fresh and locally sourced and the host and hostess simply cannot do enough for you. I can't wait to return and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area as the ideal location for a luxury getaway at an affordable price. Thank you both for a simply lovely break.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LdnBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello L and C, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the evening at River Cottage HQ! So happy that you found us good value and look forward to seeing you both again in the Summer maybe when the days are long....All the best Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

A fantastic bed and breakfast the owners are very friendly and could not do enough for us out of 100% I would give them 110%. The rooms are fantastic with all you need and spotless. Its a great base to visit the Lyme Regis area, we have been visiting for 25 years and this is the best B&B by far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMMY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really makes a difference! We both hope you will stay with us again at some point in the future and look forward to seeing you. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having stayed here before, there was no contest when we were deciding where to stay in Colyford again. The welcome is warm with a pot of tea & home made cake to relax with when yoiu arrive. Proper milk in your own fridge in the bedroom along with (again) home made biscuits, in this instance Movember shortbread. Clean, Comfy & great food, more than a 4star. Can't fault it.
Cheers to Simon & Libby,
Oh & a bag of home made fudge to leave with. Great

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks Kathy and Terry. Hope you had a good time in Sidmouth and Lyme Regis and look forward to seeing you both in the New year, have a Merry Christmas. Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and i have been back two Swan Hill House for two more short breaks this year - in April and at the end of October.

Simon & Libby continue to make us feel ever more welcome. Swan Hill House really is the best B&B where have ever had the pleasure of staying. I note from the other reviews that we are not alone in thinking this way ...

Those of you reading this who haven't visited are in for a real treat, from the tea and homemade cake welcome (the raspberry & yoghurt cake is to die for ...) to the wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts - daily specials to delight and any combination of the 'full english' are all made with proper local ingredients. Delicious!

We took the precaution of booking our favourite room for our next spring break before we left last autumn! And we can't wait to enjoy Simon & Libby's peerless hospitality again ... and again ...

Room Tip: Our favourite room is too good to advertise here - you might just book it before we do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you both for another great review, Libby and I are so happy to know that enjoy your stays so much. We look forward, as always, to seeing you again in May time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Property: Swan Hill House
Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing