We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights in Swan Hill House and i have to say i was really pleased with everything from my room to my breakfast. The owners could not do enough for you and i will diffidently stay again on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1972Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Very many thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your first visit to our house. Look forward to seeing you and your colleagues soon. Simon and Libby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 244 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed three nights for some walking along the Coastal Path and trips for meals at Hix Oyster House at Lyme Regis and River Cottage. We were joined by friends for one night. Gorgeous room, perfectly maintained, wonderful breakfasts. While we were there the "specials" for breakfast were devilled mushrooms on toast with streaky bacon and asparagus, local smoked ham and a poached egg on sourdough toast. No real need for lunch. And then we were welcomed back each afternoon with a pot of tea and a slice of homemade cake. Simon and Libby could not have been more welcoming with lots of hints for walks and places to go to buy local fish, meat and vegetables. And they were fantastic in helping arrange taxis for the two restaurant trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopsemG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello and thank you for your lovely review, you certainly packed a lot in over the three days and the walks sounded fantastic, especially the one near Beaminster!! It was lovel to see you both again and enjoy your trips in the near future! Hope to see you both again at some stage. Simon and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were travelling from Surrey towards Cornwall and had not booked a B&B for the night and by 5pm had started to search for a B&B.
By the time that we reached Colyford, we decided to stop and choose a local B&B.

We saw the Swan Hill House opposite where we had parked and upon knocking at the door were pleasantly greated by proprietor and were shown two rooms. One was on the ground floor for 70GBP and the other, upsatirs for 80GBP.
We chose the upper room as it was a bit larger and were told that it had better WiFi coverage.
The bed was superb and, despite being near a main road, never heard any noise at all.
The room was very comfortable.
However, it is difficult to find superlatives for the breakfast offered which included many choices of local produce.
All in all, it was a superb place to stay and we can thorougly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcclesAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for your great review, its always good to meet overseas visitors! We hope you enjoyed your stay in St Austell and do enjoy the rest of your holiday over here in the UK. Simon and Libby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here in April, a party of 7 when we were visiting River Cottage HQ. All four rooms were brilliant tastefully decorated with everything you needed. The owners were great and nothing was too much trouble from booking a meal for us at the local to providing glasses for a pre dinner glass of champagne. It was lovely to have a lounge to be able to congregate and chat and the breakfast in the mornings was something to look forward to. Would recommend this B&b to anyone. A definite 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. It was lovely having you here and so glad you enjoyed your River Cottage experience and the various places you visited while staying with us. Hope to see you all in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wow what a lovely experience it has been to stay at Swan Hill. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful. The room (room 6) was beautiful, absolutely beautiful. It couldnt be faulted. The bathroom was modern and spacious. We were greeted with chocolate cupcakes and had an amazing breakfast each morning. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The bed was huge and the furniture was stunning. A well thought out business with stunning art on the walls and the house had some very beautiful features. All very clean. We would stay there again and again x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckled_Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both back here again one day. Congratulations on your 1st anniversary and wish you many more to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Good Friday and absolutely loved it!

Despite turning up unannounced we were given a very warm welcome & were delighted to hear there had been a cancellation which we were able to take.

The owners were lovely & obviously take a lot of pride in the business they have created.

There were lots of little extras like Easter biscuits & Easter egg nest cakes when we arrived and a bag of Easter egg fudge was given to us as we checked out for our journey home...all delicious (I'd love to know the recipe for the fudge as it was dreamy!).

The bedroom & bathroom were spotless & fitted to a very high standard.

The bed was very comfortable with clean linen & pillows as well as a selection of pillow choices.

Everything you could possibly need during your stay was provided including a corkscrew, wine glasses and even a hot water bottle.

Breakfast was delicious - there was a selection of very tasty fruit compotes, homemade granola and fruit smoothies. Then a choice of about 7 hot dishes as well as a daily special.

We plan to run our own B & B one day...and I hope it will be as good as Swan Hill House as it was perfect...thank you Simon & Libby for setting the standard we would expect from a B & B.

We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gails120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi and thank you very much for your review! We were so glad we could accommodate you both and sorry it was not for the two nights but maybe next time? Hope you had a good Easter break and good luck in the future with the B&B side of things, I'm sure you will do really well....Kind regards Simon and Libby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here while my partner Dawn attended a two day river cottage cookery event and I rambled around the beautiful Dorset / Devon countryside with my camera.
On our arrival we were greeted by Simon who took our case and guided us to our room (no.5)
WOW ! what a beautiful room, nicely decorated and furnished with a fabulous en-suite shower/toilet. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, with its quality pure white linen sheets pristine in appearance, touch and fragrance. I almost wanted to jump right in !
In your room you will find a very good selection of tea's and coffee's with the lovely gesture of fresh homemade biscuits and macaroons. There is a small mini fridge with some bottled waters and a lovely decanted unit of fresh milk in a great little container (see photos).
After Simon had given us all the info (including the FREE WI-FI number) we needed for our stay he invited us to meet him downstairs where he had prepared us tea/coffee and some cake. (very nice indeed).
That evening we ate at 'The Wheelwright pub'' the food was lovely just as recommended by Simon earlier.
Our first breakfast was another treat, a full range of the usual suspects together with freshly squeezed fruit juices, natural yoghurts, homemade fruit compotes (rhubarb and ginger being particularly nice) and various other delights. Each day as well as the menu options there is a daily special, again these add to the overall bespoke experience. I had a full English and I can tell you that nothing was processed at all. every morsel was fresh and locally sourced and it tasted like heaven.
It was at breakfast that we first met the lovely Libby, I found her to be a breath of fresh air, pleasant, chatty and incredibly attentive but without being intrusive during breakfast and really complements Simon's culinary skills.
The whole experience for us both was fantastic and I would highly recommend you trying this lovely guest house if you are ever planing to visit the area or particularly if you have booked in at ''river cottage'' for any of its events or courses, as this is a about a 7-10 min drive away with only 1 turning ! fabulous !!
In summary a brilliant little place to stay and we would stay here again without question :-)

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper then maybe room 5 wouldn't be for you as the road outside is a main thor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSerenity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the review and so glad you both enjoyed the few days you were down in east devon. Hope the course at River Cottage has spurned you on to cook new things and try different methods. If you are ever down this way again please look us up!! Kind regards Simon & Libby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
294 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#15 of 25 in Seaton
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range: $101 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing