We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!! Wish we'd stayed longer....”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing!! Wish we'd stayed longer....”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from spending one night here this weekend. It was a family birthday with a meal at River Cottage and the reception we got on arrival set the tone for the whole stay. Simon and Libby were amazing, their hospitality was second to none, the room we had was opulent and breakfast was yum! Unfortunately we hadn't done our research before arriving otherwise we would definitely have stayed longer. We can't recommend this enough. The homemade cakes and fudge were great too ;-)

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi and thanks so much for writing a review on Trip Advisor! Libby and I so glad you had a good birthday weekend and we do hope you will come back in the summer, it would be lovely to see you all again. I gather someone may have been sending a recipe around the family....enjoy! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
156
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for a last-minute end of summer break in September, and I'm so pleased we did!
Simon and Libby are perfect hosts, very friendly, super helpful and excellent at cakes!!
The location is fantastic, the rooms are very well appointed and have everything you need - I'm sure if they didn't all you would have to do is ask!

The breakfasts are absolutely excellent, great way to start a busy day.

I will definitely be back when I can!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello and thanks for the lovely review! It was great to meet you and so glad you both had a comfortable stay. Regards Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife & I have stayed at Swan Hill House for short (4 day) breaks, spring & autumn for several years now. Simon & Libby are superb hosts, welcoming and friendly at all times. We love our regular room, which has everything we need, and more. The breakfasts are just the best - everything cooked to order, very wide choice, and the daily 'specials' really ARE worth trying.
Every time we stay, we always promise ourselves to return! Simon & Libby, at Swan Hill House, are that good. They really are!

Room Tip: All rooms good. not going to make a specific recommendation - you might pick ours when we want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Lovely review once again and very much appreciate you finding time to write again!! Have a great Christmas and see you in the new year! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at Swan Hill House 4 times now and have enjoyed each visit. It is a real home from home with every small detail thought of. Simon and Libby are the most welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. I was visiting a relative who had been unwell and off his food. I mentioned that I wanted to tempt him with mackeral pate but couldn't find any in the area. The next day Simon had made some for him which turned out to be the best I have ever tasted.I cannot recommend this top class bed and breakfast highly enough and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi and thanks so much for the lovely review!! We hope you are both OK and see you when you come down to visit in the not too distant future. Hope trip to Ireland went well!! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent a wonderful few days here, couldn't fault a thing, from the tea & homemade cake when we arrived, to breakfast, the food was absolutely the best.
The room was clean & comfy with everything you could want included, from bathroom bits to fresh milk in the fridge for the tea & coffee. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello K&T and many thanks for the review (and CD). As I said, we look forward to seeing you both in the future when you are down visiting the area!! Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On arrival at Swan Hill House we received a super welcome and enthusiastically took up the offer of tea and cake. Our room was apparently the smallest (it was the last available when we booked) but it was perfectly acceptable, well laid-out and comfortable.

The first thing that struck me was that Simon and Libby, the owners, had clearly thought about how a B&B room should be. In most places you get a couple of teabags and some plastic cartons of UHT milk; here we had a nice wad of teabags and a fridge containing a bottle of real milk - not to mention a little bowl to put used teabags in. Alongside was some home-made shortbread, which on the second day was replaced with cup-cakes and flapjacks (again all home-made).

A two-night stay meant two breakfasts, both of which were as good as I've had anywhere. On the first day it was a wonderful cooked breakfast (with the best bacon ever), and on the second I went for the daily special (an excellent Eggs Benedict).

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners; for example we'd taken a couple of bottles of Champagne with us and Simon quickly offered to put them in his fridge if there wasn't space in the room fridge. Simon was also generous with advice about the surrounding area and about visiting River Cottage (the main mission for the weekend trip, which we'd combined with a family birthday).

Swan Hill House was an excellent find, and I'd absolutely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early - it's very popular with River Cottage visitors so it's easy to miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for a great review! It was lovely to meet you and glad you enjoyed the hospitality given. It was also good seeing the other part of the family for their second visit and all of you having a wonderful birthday weekend....If your over this way again please do look us up. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were visiting the area to meet up with family and friends and needed a nice comfy B and B for three nights. Simon is a very enthusiastic host and a very good cook. Our room was a tad small but we knew that it was a small room when we booked. However it was perfectly comfortable and we enjoyed the little extras like the home made cup cakes in our room when we returned one afternoon and the tea and cake in the lounge on the day of our arrival. As we had booked for three nights it only worked out at £65 per night - tremendous value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unsatisfied50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found it value for money! Regards Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachcroft B&B
Beachcroft B&B
#2 of 25 in Seaton
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Property: Swan Hill House
Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing