We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
epsom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were visiting the area to meet up with family and friends and needed a nice comfy B and B for three nights. Simon is a very enthusiastic host and a very good cook. Our room was a tad small but we knew that it was a small room when we booked. However it was perfectly comfortable and we enjoyed the little extras like the home made cup cakes in our room when we returned one afternoon and the tea and cake in the lounge on the day of our arrival. As we had booked for three nights it only worked out at £65 per night - tremendous value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unsatisfied50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found it value for money! Regards Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
153
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and Libby, and they had thought of everything! Quite honestly the best place I have ever stayed, cant wait to go back! We were met on arrival and instantly offered tea and home made cake - it simply doesn't get any better than this. Rooms were spotless, brekky marvellous and am looking fwd to trying out the granola recipe. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: All are good. rates are a good indicator of size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the weekend especially as it was your first trip here and to RC HQ! Have you made your granola yet? Lovely to meet you both and hope to see you in the future. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had the pleasure in staying here once again for an absolutely lovely weekend break. The place is so beautifully run and you are made to feel so valued as soon as you arrive.
Great hosts in Simon and Libby, the food is amazing quality and the bed and room was so comfortable.
I have reviewed this place before but it just gets better!! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners to accommodate your needs.
Every little detail has been thought about and this is the best B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in.
(and we're picky!!!)
Perfectly located to enjoy a trip to nearby River Cottage.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very comfortable and a lovely super king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottielock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi guys and thanks for the prompt review! It was lovely to see you all again and your family from Jersey, it did'nt feel a year! Glad you enjoyed your celebrations and RC was as good as last time. Hope to see you again at some stage. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the best bed and breakfast at this price we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, everything you would need in the room, including mini fridge with fresh milk. Breakfast was superb. Thank you Simon and Libby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the review and glad you really enjoyed your stay. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at Swan Hill House for the weekend (12-15 October), as we were taking part in a River Cottage Event. We had a fantastic stay. Simon and Libby are really friendly hosts and from the welcoming tea and cake, to the homemade brownies and shortbread, we loved it. Breakfast was a revelation, with a chefs special everyday, superb cooking by Simon. We would highly recommend Swan Hill House to everyone. Please go there, it is a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks a bunch! So quick to write a review which is very much appreciated. So glad the weather held out for you and glad you all had a great time! SB Hope you got your shoes by now....So glad you enjoyed the breakfast special, we really enjoy doing them and thinking of new ideas. All the best Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having run a B&B in the past I know only too well how much work is involved in keeping standards high. Simon and Libby evidently devote themselves to their business and home; this beautiful villa has been wonderfully restored and lends itself perfectly to provide the most restful retreat.
We arrived fairly stressed after an horrendous drive from the new forest area, Simon was so understanding especially as we had only half an hour before our taxi arrived to whisk us off to River Cottage.. all praise for the fastest delivery of information in history! ;-) We had such a brilliant weekend here, scrumptious breakfasts with masses of choice, delightfully comfy beds (best nights sleep ever) and all the treats imaginable in the room including gluten free macaroons for me! There was such attention to detail..all I can say is well done guys, a BIG thank you and we look forward to returning! We certainly recommend this highly so.. no need to look further!

Room Tip: Room 5 was spacious and light due to the huge bay window affording lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello and thankyou so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it!! It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed the River Cottage experience.....love your car too! Best regards Simon and Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a lovely weekend away made even better by Simon and Libby who run Swan Hill House. The accommodation was spotless and we were greeted by Simon with tea and ginger cake which was yummy. The room was comfortable with lots of lovely touches and breakfast was extremely good. I would recommend anyone to stay there who was visiting that part of Devon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hi and thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future if you are down to this area again. Simon & Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Bakehouse
The Old Bakehouse
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Property: Swan Hill House
Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing