We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming place to stay”
Review of Swan Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hill House
Ranked #2 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just been staying at Swan Hill House where we met a friend who's partially sighted and lives on his own. He arrived a few days before us and we were a bit concerned that he'd find it hard to stay at a B and B by himself and find his way around,but we needn't have worried. Simon and Libby were kindness itself to him - so much so that he was in tears when we left! This is a wonderful place to stay, immaculately clean and smartly furnished, with comfortable beds and the most delicious breakfast with the finest of ingredients. Close to lovely places to visit. Beer is a lovely village and don't miss Pecorama! Look forward to returning to Swan Hill House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed at Swan Hill House last August and again this August, welcome on arrival is second to none, place immaculate and rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is fantastic, 10 of us stayed there and all thoroughly enjoyed would recommend this to anyone, Simon and Libby we commend you and hopefully will see you again in 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just been to Swan Hill House and it was as lovely as I remembered it and my Husband who hadn't been before was bowled over. From the welcome tea and lemon drizzle cake, the fresh milk in the mini bar in the room, the really comfortable bed, to Simon's gourmet breakfasts, our visit was made perfect. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our second visit to Swan Hill and again everthing was perfect. If your in the area and want a fantastic place to stay then look no further, this one is the Best. A big thank you to Simon and Libby for for another enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hank0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was a return visit to Swan House as we enjoyed it so much last year. This time we stayed five nights and had a lovely relaxing time.Libby and Simon are excellent hosts and work extremely hard to maintain such a spotless, luxurious, home which is wonderful to return to at the end of each day out. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything one needs including a great bed with lovely crisp linen.
Breakfast is first class, wonderful choice for everyone ie:- absolutely everything for those who like the `works` in whatever combination one might require. The Special Board is a nice touch with something `Special & different' offered daily. Also plenty of choice for a delicious breakfast for the more health conscious.
Its in a great spot for the local places like Beer, Seaton. Sidmouth. Branscombe. Lyme Regis etc.,
Very good pub & restaurant in walking distance, also we tried the Reeds Restaurant at the Swallows Hotel next door but one for evening meals and that was very good also.
Libby & Simon deserve to do well as they give excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

One of the best B&B's that both we and our friends had stayed in. Ideal location for River Cottage, Seaton Tramway, Colyton, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, and both walking and cycling routes. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast with some superb daily specials. Delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipsqueaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

From pulling up an the drive, the hospitality was excellent, very friendly, very clean and lovely breakfasts. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swan Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range: $99 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hill House Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing