We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic country pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Who'd Have Thought It Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Who'd Have Thought It Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Milton Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this pub recently for dinner with friends. Having lived locally and never visiting, we thought we would try it out as its reputation locally is very good. We were not disappointed! The place is typical rural village pub with great atmosphere, good menu and friendly staff. If offers good parking and a very pleasant environment for dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
72
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited this pub when after touring around Sr Francis Drake's old manor, Buckland Abbey, on the western side of Dartmoor in Devon. We had an excellent lunch, which between us included some of the cooked food as well as a ploughman's. Both were generously sized and most enjoyable. The bar we were in was appropriately festooned with old wooden paneling, brasses and old copper pots. The beer was superb - hand pulled pints including the memorable "knickerdropper glory" (see photo), which for those not from the UK is a double pun on an old ice cream dish, and the potential effect of the beer. There is ample outside seating with a few tables out front and a small garden area in the rear. There is also ample parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for an anniversary and also to meet up with old friends.

The pub is a real treasure, our room was really well decorated and had everything we needed including free wifi.

We had dinner on both nights, both meals were very enjoyable and the breakfast was as good as it gets.

The village is really pretty and there is the whole of Dartmoor to discover right on your doorstep, so whether you are driving or walking, there is something for everyone

Room Tip: We picked the room at £89 per night and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great food and ale. The atmosphere was warm and rustic. The service was fast and friendly. The Dirty Blond ale was excellent. The Fish and chips was light and fresh. The steak and ale pie was savory with a very nice brown gravy base.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbielov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

(1) this place is so good you won't want to go anywhere else, i.e. it may ruin the rest of your holiday
(2) you may never be able to eat porridge again...unless it has a shot of Drambuie in it
(3) occasionally it gets visited by Morris Dancers, although, I hasten to add, not when we were there. Of course, if you actually like Morris Dancers.......
(4)...er, that's it.
Go on, stay there in the excellent en suite accommodation, drink the lovely beer, eat well from the extensive menu with good vegetarian options. Don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartmoor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had a meal with 3 friends and decided to go here as there isn't much choice in the area for a higher level of 'pub food'
What a great decision . Lovely traditional pub with a quality restaurant level menu which is far better then anywhere else in the area . We has a rip eye whIch at £17 is resonanable and was fantastic , great service and a wonderful experience

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DartmoorCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We visited for lunch on Sunday. The winding roads helped to build up the sense of expectation, and we weren't disappointed. Quite simply this was the best Sunday lunch we have ever been served anywhere. Quality ingredients, beautifully prepared and served, by extremely friendly and helpful staff.

It was busy (it deserves to be) but we had reserved and the wait for our food was made very enjoyable by all the passing activity, chatter, etc. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Combe
1.3 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Drake Manor Inn
The Drake Manor Inn
#2 of 2 in Buckland Monachorum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Who'd Have Thought It Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Who'd Have Thought It Inn

Property: Who'd Have Thought It Inn
Address: Milton Combe PL20 6HP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Who'd Have Thought It Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Who'd Have Thought It Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing