We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
881daz
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but needs a very good clean.”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Have to say that we were reasonably happy with our stay at the cottage however on closer inspection the entire cottage was in need of a very good clean, the bathroom especially (did not smell good), the amount of cobwebs was quite shocking. I personally felt it was best to keep something on my feet at all times. The cottage has good quality fixtures and fittings and is quite like a home from home experience but I think a little renovation inside and a good tidy outside is long overdue. Going by the guest book, quite a bit more effort was made in the early days as a rental, now you just get half a dozen eggs on arrival and are expected to buy more firewood should you need it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

It was just what we needed a couple of days relaxing before back to work after visiting family in the west country

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
Thankyou! Hope to see again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomdelay
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I've had the pleasure of staying twice at the cottage, and will be coming back. It is absolutely perfect. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpoonyB23
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The previous winter, we'd searched for a Devon cottage that was a little bit special for a week in August. When finding Great Burrow's webpage, we didn't quite believe something so perfect could exist and counted they days until our week arrived. Upon arrival it was apparent that the cottage was true to every picture we had seen... stunningly beautiful and serene with the most wonderful garden. The owners Mary & Justin were lovely & friendly and helpful even apologising that they'd had no time to bake us some scones! Our son enjoyed feeding the chickens every morning and exploring in his own private woodland. While most days were spent on the moors, most evenings were spent toasting marshmallows around the fire pit and listening to owls. The cottage was large but cosy, fantastically equipped with a quirky vintage style. We without a doubt will be back to this very special place ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Thankyou Becky! What a super review to lighten up a dull October day! Looking forward to having you back. All the best, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy J
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pet friendly”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fist time at this cottage, hard to find but well worth it.

Pet friendly which is a bonus when you have three dogs. Super clean and warm, so quiet at night it was fantastic, the views in the valley are superb. Plenty of walks should you be inclined, also plenty of places to eat within a 30 min radius from basic to something more special. Supermarkets within 20 mins drive ( Lidl and Waitrose) nice craft bakery , easy drive to multiple beaches (pet friendly).

So pleased we plan to come back next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
2 reviews
“Ideal country location.”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great cottage tucked away in the Devon country side but within easy reach of Dartmoor and North Devon coast.
A comfortable cottage with all you need for a relaxed holiday. We only stayed for a weekend but would have enjoyed a longer holiday. Justin and Mary are great hosts, providing local info etc but not over the top. Milk and eggs on arrival is a welcoming gesture as the the greeting by the chickens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivienne...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We only had a short break, but the cottage was lovely and it so peaceful there. There were a few visits from the Chickens and the cat also made an appearance. We were given Eggs and Milk on arrival which made us feel at home. Beautiful Gardens, pity we had rain but we still went on walks in the surrounding area. We will definitely go back and recommend it to anyone thinking of a peaceful retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thankyou Viv and Lyn, look forward to meeting the whole gang next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing