We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idylic cottage, very cosy had a lovely week.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daisyd0g1
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idylic cottage, very cosy had a lovely week.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Great Burrow Cottage for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, it was a lovely cottage very cosy and comfortable.
Mary & Justin were very helpful and were very happy and accommodating when we asked if our friends could come to stay for one night.
We had some lovely walks from the cottage and went for drives around the area, but we were equally happy to stay in the cottage and relax.
We enjoyed our week so much that we really didn't want to go home, and would like to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosiness
Liked least: The weather !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemey
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy converted barn”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Perfect gateway for Nature lovers, a short drive away from fabulous walks in Dartmoor. Great Burrow is a beautiful warm cottage with a wood burner that makes it so cosy during rainy cold winters and with underfloor heating.
As you enter you feel at home immediately in a well kept property arranged with taste and simplicity. Local butter and free range organic eggs from the farm were waiting for us when we arrived...
The double bedroom has a very comfortable bed with a wooden wardrobe and the bathroom holds a huge bath.
Great Burrow is a special cottage full of charm looking out on a pond with ducks.
We will certainly go back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosvandes
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, cozy bolt hole from which to explore Dartmoor and beyond”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

In spite of staying at Great Burrow during extreme weather conditions, we had the best time and never felt stuck.. There are plenty of interesting things to do in the area, but we were also very happy to stay in some days and enjoy the peace and quiet, the fireplace and lovely atmosphere of the cottage. Our daughter did not want to leave-we felt the same. Mary, Justin, Agatha and Hector were the most welcoming, yet easy- going hosts. All in all it made for a truly invigorating and relaxing holiday. We will hopefully be back soon!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visualpri...
Surrey, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A warm welcome and a very clean cottage. A very enjoyable stay. It rained for the first couple of days solidly and the cottage made a welcome and cosy hideout.

The cream tea on our fist day was very tasty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness of the cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country hideaway with lots of charm and warmth”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a wonderful week at Great Burrow Cottage. A very cosy and beautifully thought out cottage with everything you need. We were welcomed by the owner with a fab home made cream tea which was much appreciated after our journey. Spacious main bedroom with a very comfortable bed and lovely big bathroom with great shower and massive bath for a proper hot soak. The chickens and ducks which roam freely were very friendly not to mention highly entertaining. Great location for exploring the Dartmoor area. We very much look forward to returning in the not too distant future to this really lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and cosiness of the cottage, beautifully done
Liked least: Very small tv but not a problem!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneFor...
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Cozy and clean country retreat”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We were so happy we picked this location for our accommodations during a trip to the UK. The owners met us upon arrival, and provided us with proper tea and their own chickens' free range eggs. The accommodations are meticulous, cozy and quite comfortable. The resident ducks, chickens, roosters and sheep also add to the quaint get away. Many thanks to the hosts for such a wonderful week of relaxation away from our agility training camp! Finding it was a bit of fun, but that's more likely due to us being from Canada and not used to rural England directions. The neighbours in the region were also very friendly and approachable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully stocked kitchen (utensils, etc.), and the decor was delightful
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMABOY
LANCASHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Place to Relax and Enjoy Dartmoor”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Great Burrow in late June and had a lovely stay. The cottage is very clean and comfortable and has great warmth and character. We were met by the owners, Justin and Mary, who were happy to show us round and settle us in, even providing delicious cream teas along with local eggs and milk!
The location is ideal, very peaceful and quiet but handy for exploring Dartmoor as well as eastern Cornwall. Recommend unreservedly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and ambience
Liked least: The glorious British weather!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing