We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Perfect Perfect!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Riff Farmhouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Standing stones of Stenness, only a 15 min drive from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rendall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mamabear2...
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Perfect Perfect!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I just cannot say enough good things about this cottage!! The locations is perfect, set in beautiful countryside with a stunning sea view, but only a 15 minute drive (with stunning scenery the whole way) from Kirkwall. Close to all the main attractions like Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, and the Ness of Brodgar archaeological dig (if you are up in July/August) and also some hidden gems like Waulkmill Bay.
The cottage itself is stunning, it feels really luxurious and is so warm and comfortable and I'm not kidding when I say the kitchen is better equipped than my own! The cottage sleeps 10 and cooking any kind of meal for that number would be a breeze with what's available!
The owners are just lovely, kind and welcoming, always there to help but also leave you to enjoy your holiday.
We have stayed here the last 2 years and have just booked to return next July:)
Would recommend this cottage to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathy c
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Although located 15-20 mins drive from Kirkwall this Farmhouse is certainly worth it. A stunning house that provides everything you have at home and more! Spacious, well equipped, bright & airy and a two minute walk to the shore. Fantastic views and if the fickle Orkney weather is kind an outside eating area is available. The hosts are excellent - always available for advice or just a chat, nothing is too much trouble. We certainly enjoyed the peaceful location and will definitely be visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great holiday in Orkney and will be visiting again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Riff Farmhouse was absolutely amazing. We had everything we needed and more for our group of 6 adults and 5 children. As a welcome we received original Orkney products from owner Greig. He has been so kind and helpful to us. Really excellent service. The view from the house is wonderful. We we're surprised at how clean it was. Would definitely recommend Riff Farmhouse!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you had a good holiday in Orkney!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing