We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parkfield Shakin' Burger”

Parkfield Inn & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Parkfield
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Benicia, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Parkfield Shakin' Burger”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Literally, the BEST hamburger my husband I have ever had. The grass fed beef, the seasonings, the bread - all added up to the best burger EVER! We've stayed here twice now, but the cafe isn't open every day so we missed out on this burger the first trip. Going to make sure we time our visits so we can enjoy this super-sensation again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced, over cooked and under served.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

In the past we have loved making the drive from San Benito County at different times of the year down back roads and stopping for a burger and beer. I guess when you are the only game in town, you are OK with serving bad food with bed service. By far, it was the worst burger we have ever had and it can only be described as a hard hockey puck. The fries, while appeared fresh cut, were limp and drippy old grease. The waitress seemed bothered that we were there, and it looked like it was not just us she was annoyed by as the other tables were getting the same bland service. It was not rude, but not friendly-like she could not care less we were there. We did not want a chatty Kathy, but at least welcome us and thank us for making the trip. The atmosphere is really cool, but food and service need huge overhaul.... Unless the few locals that maybe still show up are spending enough to pay the bills. We really want to love this place, but just can't right now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie6411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Cool, and Good Food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Heading for Monterey, eight cars from the Scottsdale Corvette Club decided to avoid I5 and 101 as much as possible, so we decided to include the James Dean Monument and Parkfield, the earthquake capital of the world. I had been there once before, but none of the others in our group. The stop became a highlight of our trip. Right on top of the San Andreas fault, we stopped for the experience, but to our delight the food was very good, and excellent service. The drive to San Miguel was beautiful, and fun in a Corvette. A must see place if you are roaming California.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 06MellowYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Getting there is more than half the fun!!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Living in Coalinga, we thought it would be an nice trip to drive over Parkfield Grade for lunch at the Cafe. Not knowing the area, we had no idea that the drive from Rt.198 would be a wonderful experience in itself. You turn out of the Wartham Canyon into the Jacalitos and before long the road looks the same as it did 100 years ago, just gravel. The twists and turns around Reason and Middle Mountains give endless breathtaking views. Do stop whenever the road widens. No need to hurry this drive.
When you come back down the grade, you're actually on the San Andreas Fault---"Be Here When It Happens". What a trip.
Then you come into Parkfield and find the Cafe and Lodge right on the road, next to the V6 Ranch. Both the lunch and dinner menus highlight the beef grown nearby and the dishes are all delicious.
Servers were incredibly gracious and attentive. Atmosphere is relaxed and inviting.
We took the "long" way back to Coalinga, past the earthquake center and onto zippy Rt. 41. Next time, we'll trace our path back over the mountains. Too good to miss.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KateMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V6Ranch, Owner at Parkfield Inn & Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are so glad you had such a great time! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkfield Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing