We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Overnight Stay”
Review of Popova Kula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Popova Kula
Ranked #1 of 1 Demir Kapija B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent place to overnight, have a good meal, and drink some interesting wines. Rooms are clean but the electricity kept going out. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the town below. Beds are average.

We visited with friends and had a nice dinner with a wine tasting. The wines are very good and the waiter was very knowledgable about them. The next day the staff gave us a tour of the winery.

Nice hiking in the area too if you so inclined.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the hiking in the area. The food was delicious as well as the wines, which were paired perfectly with our dinner. The room we had was a double. Being Americans, I prefer a king bed, rather than two twins pushed together. They do have these types of rooms which are larger, but being our first time, we didn't know. So if you want that be sure to book it and ask.The staff was friendly. They are expanding to more rooms and amenities. I look forward to coming back and seeing the growth.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sallykay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The food is great, excellent deserts also. The perfect wine with the desert is the wine Muskat, my favorite one. It's a great place for a celebration, birthdays, engagements, baptisms. Perfect period to go of the year: May, June, July & September.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korzenska_Iva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The receptionist was very rude when we booked in, we were told breakfast was at 7 and then when we asked what time it finished, she snapped 10. We asked about wine tasting and were told 'restaurant', my friend asked for the WiFi code and he was told he could get it in the restaurant. WiFi didn't work in our rooms.
The food was not great in the restaurant and as I'm vegetarian I asked what they could serve me. The waiter assured me he would bring several vegetarian dishes but when they arrived the rice had mince in it, the beans had salami and the vine leaves also had meat in them.
When we asked about wine tasting we were told we would have wine with the meal. In addition, the rose and white wines were not cooled to the correct temperature
We were really looking forward to our stay here and found the whole experience very dissapointing

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ceri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popova K, Manager at Popova Kula, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Popova Kula Winery for your visit and thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn't have a memorable stay in our winery.
I want to comment about vegetarian dishes. I assure you 100 % that the zucchini and the vine leafs are stuffed with rice and soy crumbles not minced meat, and tavce gravce how we called baked beans are 100 % vegetarian also, it is only beans, tomatoes on the top and herbs.
Popova Kula team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I can only recommend this place! Super friendly staff, great food, beautiful location and very nice rooms with character. Wine tasting is also available but i didn't have time for it this time. Great view from the top- make sure you take a few snaps. Loved it and will be back for sure!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'll share the rewievs to other writers as well because some waiters did not speake english and then they could not tell us anything of the wine when having tasting. As well lack of enthustiasm is something which was little bit irritating. hotel is nice but there is actually nothing else to done than having dinner and their wine. Promised visit to their winery took about 5 minutes including showing of barrells etc. I would have been more interested in winemaking. F.ex when visiting Freixet close to Barcelona our tour was excellent. Tv did not work, receptiongirl promised to come and check, nothing happened. Winery does not produce real dessertwines.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Päivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the outside the place is promising: very beautiful view nice building..., but the biggest frustration comes from the restaurant: poor quality of the food, but above all poor wines! Served not at the right temperature and very bad knowledge of their offers from the staff. This is unacceptable since they are the producers of the wines!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olmo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Demir Kapija
20.1 mi away
Hotel Negorski Banji
Hotel Negorski Banji
#3 of 4 in Gevgelija
2 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel Ramada Plaza Gevgelija
8.7 mi away
Pamela Hotel
Pamela Hotel
#1 of 2 in Negotino
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rocklandcamp
Rocklandcamp
#1 of 1 in Demir Kapija
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantique
Hotel Romantique
#1 of 6 in Veles
39 reviews
11.1 mi away
Villa Bella Boutique
Villa Bella Boutique
#1 of 4 in Kavadarci
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popova Kula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popova Kula

Address: Wine Boulevard No.1, Demir Kapija 1442, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Vardar Region > Demir Kapija
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Demir Kapija
Price Range: $46 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Popova Kula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing