We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Hotel Velani
Ranked #1 of 1 Avdou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This is such a wonderful place to stay - beautiful location, rooms and food. Maniolis and Sabine are wonderful hosts and my holiday was perfect. I travelled alone for a riding holiday and the horses were lovely and very well cared for. I was made to feel one of the family and can't recommend enough. This is a real getaway whether you want to go riding or relax in tranquility by the pool. You can come here solo, in a couple or family, its great for everyone. The food is also AMAZING! A big thank you to Maniolas and Sabine for a very special holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nugey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Manolis and Sabine are true professionals, this wonderful family hotel exudes a social warmth that makes visitors feel comfortable and relaxed.

We do not ride but I am sure we enjoyed this venue as much as any other guest. Interesting menu, daily new additions to it, and quality cooking from Manoli.

Thanks you guys for a great stay, wishing you every happiness.

Brian and Nas

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianandNas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My Partner and I recently holidayed in Koutouloufari, Crete. Prior to going out, I contacted Velani about a horse riding trek. They offer different types of treks for different levels of experience. We booked a 4 hour trek that involved walking, rising trot and some cantering. What a day!

The hotel is a little off the beaten track, and we started to think we'd taken a wrong turn, however, once we arrived you can appreciate the isolation. We were greeted by the very friendly owners and then made our way to the stables.

The stables are in excellent condition, and very well established or the high degree of care of their horses, with shelter for the hot days, and a well stocked tack store. And the horses were very well looked after!

The trek was up through the mountains, up and up, and then stopped for lunch (not included) then back down the mountains, through villages, and back to the stables.

Needless to say, we will most certainly be looking into their other treks, including the 6 day trek to the south of Crete! And I will most certainly be recommending this hotel and trek to everyone I speak to!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Benji28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this 8 day holiday with my 11 yr old through Unicorn Trails..... Fantastic from start to finish!! The rooms are basic, but very clean, with ample hot water,TV,etc..my only complaint, the fridge goes off when you take your key out... But as there are no shops near by...it didn't matter!

This holiday was perfect...relaxed by the pool all morning & horse rode all afternoon. Lovely European style horses & riding, great for all levels......Perfect!! The pool is lovely, amazing views...very relaxing....

Good Greek food....cant complain about a thing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed for one week in the wonderfull Country Hotel Velani, and it was a really great experience! The owners Manolis and Sabine are running this place with a great ammount of entousiasm and love for this unique place. The loction is really spectacular. Oke, you have to drive on a bumpy road to get there, but isn't that the charme of it's location?! When you arrive at the hotel you will find an amazing view, a peacefull and quite place to relax. We did not come for the horses, and still we had an amazing time. Wheter you like horse riding or not: you will defenitely have a great time here! There are some great hiking sites, and wen you rent a car the island offers many possibilities. The hotel rooms are fine, the cleaning service as well. The restaurant is very nice. Again: a great scenery. And great cretan dishes! Also nice: for vegetarians like me they have enough good food as well. And the fresh orange juice every morning! Usually we like to eat in a different place every night, not this time! We ate almost every night at the Country Hotel Velani. That says enough i think :) If you had any doubts left: just go! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is not that big every room has a great view and a good location. For some rooms you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a great place to relax, enjoy the scenery and engulf oneself in tranquility. This was our second visit to this hotel and although we did not come for the horse rides we noticed some minor but irritating deficiencies. The rooms were overall clean but the upkeep was not up to par (every other day). And even then the toilets did not seem to be cleaned up. There were no little shampoo & shower gel bottles, the lavatory soaps were minimal and the tiniest I have ever seen. The A/C was not functioning but after we complained it was somehow fixed the next day. The sheets were never changed in a week's time. The food is good but the breakfast coffee was a big rip-off: Charging each time $$$ for a tiny cup of American filter coffee.
The owners Manolis and Sabine are very nice and hardworking people but they are victims of the Greek recession and they obviously try to cut corners. I hope they stay in business long term.
Unless you are into horses consider other hotels near the beach at the same price with better accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fragakis, Owner at Country Hotel Velani, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear James,
Thank you for finding our hotel a great place to relax, with an amazing view and quietness!
We try our best to satisfy all our other guests to have a wonderfull holiday.
If you would have informed us that you are not satisfied with the cleaning of the room. We would have had the change to correct it and even clean it more often. Probably you kept the room occupied during the day time. As we clean rooms during the times that guests have left the room. We do not nock on doors waking up guests who like to sleep long after a summer night.
Hotel soaps are small as they are thrown away after being used a few times. We prefer to minimize waste.
We just up graded all our rooms with 32 inch flat screen TV's with international satellite channels and new black out curtains. With other words no economic resession in our place.
Further i want to make clear to you that during breakfast we do not charge the coffee. So drink as many, standard hotel size, coffee cups as you like. Prefer to drink a greek coffee, frappe, nes caffe, tea, hot chocolate or a milk. Also these are all included in the breakfast. And of course on a Meditirenean island we only serve fresh orange juice.
Sabine and Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, relaxing location overlooking a valley. Amazing infinity pool too and the food is sublime! Rooms are new and fully equipped. Mandis and Sabine are very hospitable hosts too, so pay them a visit if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avdou
6.3 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
358 reviews
17.6 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
9.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,216 reviews
54.5 mi away
Barbara Studios
Barbara Studios
#1 of 46 in Rethymnon
368 reviews
39.0 mi away
Sitia Beach City Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Velani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Velani

Address: 46 Velani | P.O. Box 46, Avdou, Crete 700 05, Greece (Formerly Avdou Pediados)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Avdou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avdou
Price Range: $64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Hotel Velani 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel located on a stunning hillside, over viewing the Avdou valley. Relaxing in the middle of untouched nature. 12 Hotel rooms located in bungalows.Infinity pool with separate children’s pool.Professional equestrian center on site, offering horse riding for all levels. Paragliding take off located above the hotel, and free available walking and hiking routes. Velani’s restaurant serves homemade cooking with fresh Cretan ingredients. A Family atmosphere with the very best in Greek hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Hotel Velani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Velani Avdou, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing