We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Em & Em Cafe

Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Avdou
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Koutouloufari, and hired quad bikes for a trip up to the Lasithi Plateau. On the way up to the Plateau Em & Em is just on the right just after you leave the village of Avdou, and is a great place to stop for a drink and a snack on your way up and on the way back. Excellent ice creams. Very clean and smart place, but not pricey, run by English Emma and her Cretan husband Manolis (hence "Em & EM"). I'd definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Samthetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2016

we found it on the day we rented quad and made a trip from Gouves;) Absolutely great and beautiful food in equally beautiful place. Owners were great made us food to order even when - I think - there were still closed before season. Will defo be back, its worth it for the views and food which was not expensive and delicious.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JolkaG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

We stopped off here while out sightseeing in the area and we are so glad we did.

Emma and Manoś greet you upon arrival as if you are a part of the family and continue to treat you like royal visitors for your entire visit. We had our two young sons with us who were equally welcome and they were only too pleased to play with their son and his toys.

Another bonus is that Emma is from England so there is nothing lost in translation.

The contemporary decor is both stylish and warming which Manoś is proud (rightly so) to tell you that he and Emma designed, built and decorated the whole building from the ground up.

The food is tasty and inexpensive. It's all cooked to order, not sat on a hot plate for hour upon end! The bar is well stocked with a good selection of beers and wines. They do a mean frappe and hot chocolate.

Overall I would recommend a visit when you're in the area. We will definitely be returning. A massive thumbs up.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 13GlenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em & Em Cafe also viewed

Avdou, Heraklion Prefecture
Avdou, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Em & Em Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing