We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fishing great food,and better company”
Review of Angler's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angler's Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Eochar B&B and Inns
co clare
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good fishing great food,and better company”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

just back from 2 weeks in anglers retreat ,a few weeks earlier lhan last year but fishing just as good ,billly looks at the weather in the morning and books lochs that fish well in the conditions mostly he gets it spot on ,and marrions breakfasts and beautiful evening meals make it the perfect place to stay, as south uist can be difficult to find somewhere that does full board as we have found out in the past ,and local hotels are pricey. looking forward to going back next year. we just love south uist

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    15
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
32
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a venue that you only really realise how good is was when you leave, then you start aching to be back with Billy & Marion and the company of other fisherfolk. ~The Day starts with a hearty breakfast then Billy will advise and help or accompany you on the days fishing, there will be a good lunch packed for those that require it, the day is spent on one of a variety of wonderfull Lochs, the fishing will vary as it always does but when the day is right it's heaven, then home for a quick shower a pre-dinner drink and then seat down with good company for Marion's great evening meal, what more could a fisher chap want? You will not be sitting alone at your own table you will enjoy the company of like minded people and the conversation will be of the kind we fisherman enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML9 3EN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and adult son and I stayed here for 2 nights
The accomodation was very clean and comfortable
Billy and Marion couldnt do enough for us they provided us with 2 lovely evening meals and lovely breakfasts
and made us feel at home
I would certainly recomend them to anyone visiting Uist.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidk051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We spent 2 weeks here in July. My husband is a keen trout fisherman and Billy our host made sure he had the best possible fishing. He even caught his first salmon! I do not fish but enjoyed the walks suggested by our hosts and Marion our hostess couldn't have been kinder, often taking me with her on trips in South Uist, Benbecula, North Uist and Berneray. The beaches are sensational. I have never seen such a variety of sea birds or such a profusion of wild flowers.The standard of food in the Tea Rooms we visited was very good...the local Hebridean Jewellers at Lochdar, the cafe at the Kildonan Museum on South Uist and the Lobster Pot on Berneray. We had all our evening meals at the Anglers Retreat. Marion's cooking is superb and we enjoyed good company and the odd glass of wine! All in all a very happy and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliesmith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Been visiting the uists for the last 12 years. The first 2 years in the north. The fishing was good but I was looking for better. Next year I decided to go south to The Anglers Retreat. and stayed with Billy and Marian where my wife and I have returned for the last 10 years What ever the weather conditions Billy would find a loch that would be productive. The food is excelent. A pack lunch is provided for anglers to keep you going between a big breakfast and a wonderful evening meal. Marians cooking is exceptional, whether it be local sea food or a lovely curry We are booked in again for next year 2011..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

if you have been looking for that great food hide away for your fishing, we have found it fishing is good the food is better tied in with the fact the owner has been fishing in the island for decades you have your very own expert at hand .the accommodation has it all warm clean comfortable and friendly . i have been coming here for years . hes even friendly to the jocanese

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dappingking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We spent three nights with Billy and Marian and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, Billys advice on where to find things of interest (Otters etc) was priceless. Marians meals were delicious and the atmosphere really relaxing.
Definately the place to base yourself for exploring the Uists and Benbecula.
Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angler's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Retreat

Property: Angler's Retreat
Address: 1 Ardmore, Eochar HS8 5QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Eochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eochar
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 triple ensuite rooms and a double/ twin room all ensuite and recently renovated plus a brand new Lune Valley Micro Lodge which has 2 double beds, shower bathroom and fully functioning kitchen on a self catering basis. A 3 course dinner is available for those staying in the main house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing