We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Durshet Forest Lodge,Khapoli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Trip to Durshet Forest Lodge,Khapoli”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had gone to this place on Saturday 03/08/13 and returned on Sunday evening 04/08/13. We wherein group of about 30 persons...including Male, Females and children. Place is very good and specially lot of Greenery etc.nice Swimming Pool with Artificial Fall from top and music so that you enjoy swimming and music together. There is common place for dining and we had Dormitory for males and good arrangement with Bunk Beds like a Pyramid. 3 at bottom and two in middle and one at Top for sleeping. Common bathrooms and toilets quite clean. Children and Females had separate rooms and there are rooms with better facilities. They have near by nice waterfall where they have rappelling and small boat rides and the river behind. Over all enjoyed thoroughly.

Room Tip: I feel in and around rainy season it's very good place but I am not sure post that period how go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
12
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were a family of 10 and had pre-booked Durshet for Sunday 28July with breakfast,lunch,dinner and activities like Rappelling,Zipline,Mud Fight and Kayakaying.
As soon as we reached in the morning around 10am, we had breakfast which was good - minus the flies in the area.
Explored the area, true to its name - Nature Trails :)
Lunch was a good spread but I wish there could be something done for the flies !
Rappelling near the natural waterfalls was a time spent well, zipline was also good experience, Swimming pool was good too but due to rains Kayakaying was cancelled and Mud Fight was also not there, so our family was kind of disappointed as we had been promised this package:(
We did see the river and it was overflowing hence Kayakaying was definitely not possible but Rafting was.
Also, Kayakaying is generally done in lakes - Sajan Nature Club has in a lake I guess, not sure if Kayakaying would ever be possible during rains in the river at Durshet as per the promised package.
Also, to make it value for money for one day trips , there should be some compensatory activity like Rafting/Treasure hunt/Bird watching/Fishing/Archery which other such resorts offer.

If not, it is good to inform expected guests upfront via sms early on the day - so that things can be planned better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I was there for on day team trip....there were several activities planned but waiting time is too much. You have to wait 1-2 hrs till your turn comes and there is no sitting arrangements. You have to stand in queue. Breakfast and lunch services were poor. Had to wait for plates and spoon and then for food. They simply admit too many people whom they are unable to handle.Waterfall was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler135574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller,

Thanks for your response. We do agree the Event cycle arranged on the day of your event had long waiting queues for food and had become overbooked. We had just launched the saturday special monsoon event and the response was so overwhemling that this first run on the saturday that you visited became chaotic esp. as food could not be delivered in the forest due to heavy rains! Glad that you still came away with some positives and overall found our place good. We have now limited the bookings and monitor on line bookings closely as well so the initial teething problems with this special event have been resolved.

Do hope you will have a completely stress free experience the next time.. Do come for a overnight stay and let us know how you feel.I'm sure you will find it peaceful and fun.

Thanks for your feedback,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice place for a weekend outing near Mumbai. Good location, clean rooms, good food. Good activities. The pool was nice and clean as well. Not many activities or places of interest around the property though. But over all a OK place for a day or nights trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Vishal S,

Thanks for your response. We are glad that you liked and recommend our resort for a day picnic or a night stay.

Regards,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is heaven if you want to hear yourself and unwind/relax without care of what is going in actual world.
Greatest advantage of this place is absence of TV in your rooms and very limited network connectivity (especially in your rooms - so you are not bothered about calls from office) -so you can spend quality tile with your family and friends.( If this is want you are looking for)
You have of choice of many activities including rock climbing, rappling, trekking and others to do with your friends or do nothing and enjoy the walk climbing up and down the small hillock/playing carrom in gentle breeze under trees.
Property have different kind of accommodations for varying budgets (from dormitories for groups to AC rooms for family). Since we went during the summer we chose AC rooms and all of them were effective and there were no power cuts during the stay which was surprise.
Although there were no room service except for the morning tea, all the support personnel were helpful and well mannered.
Special mention has to be made about their swimming pool, although it was small their setup of water fall kind of theme was good especially when the water massages your body with good force relaxing every back muscle of yours.
With respect to food, it was typical Maharashtrian (which was really good), but north indian dishes were not that great. I would recommend they stick to their Maharashtrian food or improve the North Indian dishes.
All in All, it is good place to rest and relax but also to indulge in some activities if you are interested.

Room Tip: In Summer, day is very hot especially from 11 - 3 PM.... it is better to have AC rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks Mr.Ganesh Muralidharan,
We were most delighted and encouraged with your very positive feedback.
Warm Regards,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As mentioned in most other reviews, its a place better suited for a group. We were a group of 6, 3 couples.

The rooms - We were a group of 6 that stayed at the AC rooms. The rooms were simple but pleasant and clean. The loo was strictly okay. The buckets and mugs could certainly be cleaner. The towels were not very clean. Fortunately we carried a back up. Our room was on the first floor, where the water pressure in the shower tends to be quite low.

The food - Quite alright, though it can be fairly hot for some. The dining area isnt a great eye catcher but they try to keep it tidy. The staff is very helpful. We arrived around 10.30 and went for breakfast at 11. They simply got back all the food and served us well.

The place - while the place has facilities for swimming, a net for volleyball/badminton, a couple of grounds to play cricket or football, a couple of carrom boards, table tennis .. the quality of the facilities is strictly average. We happened to go on a not so crowded day and had to still wait our turn in places. If the place is a full house at 200 people, I am not sure how convenient it will be. There is insufficient parking available even when its less than half full.

The activities - We did valley crossing, rock climbing and night forest walk (more of a bush walk in an uneven terrain) ... these activities were strictly okay again. Perhaps good for family adventures. There was also a treasure hunt, which isnt quite my cuppa, but some folks enjoyed it.

Overall - I feel this is an okay place, not too bad for a weekend, when its not crowded. I probably wouldn't pick it during the full house season. The quality of crowd is also mixed. It is certainly overpriced for what it offers, but then, nowadays everything seems so. The staff there is quite friendly and courteous though.

Room Tip: The AC rooms certainly offer more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahtrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear AhTrippy,

Thanks for your feedback. We have noted your points and the very helpful tone of your feedback and will definitely try to improve on these variables to make it an enjoyable, hassle free holiday for our guests.

Warm regards,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have been to the property twice with corp. group comprising of 15 - 20 members. Both were 2 day trips , and we stayed in Non AC cottages. Overall we all enjoyed the place and the arrangements.

Would not recommend the property for personal trips, unless you are 2 - 3 couples, or a bunch of more friends. Talk to the guys at the property and request for rooms, that are away from dorms and activity areas - so as your peaceful vacation / weekend does not get disturbed.

Good Stuff:
-------------

- Amazing food, nice simple stuff that's tasty and you can simply over eat.
- Decent choice of menu - specially in Lunch & Dinner.
- Break fast is functional with relatively limited choice. But its good overall.
- Rooms & Sheets are clean.
- Support staff may seem disinterested but they help you and are available if needed.


Not so good:
----------------

- Wash rooms in Non AC cottages are too small, but then when you are there with a corporate group , you just want to have fun and relax. Though the small wash rooms nag at times.
- Pool has slippery tiles, some of them damaged. You can have fun buy be careful.
- With other groups around, you wont find the dining hall clean if you are not the first ones to go for the lunch.


Suggestions for Management:

- Non AC Cottage Wash Rooms - may need maintenance and new fixtures. If possible increase the size.
- Pool, you guys can make it better around the pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PravMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear HareGovinda,

Thankyou for your very detailed feedback.I have noted the 'Not so good' and 'For Management' points esp. the pool area and bathroom size concerns and we will try and improve these soon.
Please do visit our other locations too and provide your valuable feedback.

Warm regards,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khopoli
3.3 mi away
UK's Resort Khopoli
UK's Resort Khopoli
#2 of 3 in Khopoli
94 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Imagica Khopoli
2.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
854 reviews
3.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
2.3 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort

Property: Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort
Address: Khopoli-Pali Road | Taluka Khalapur, Dist. Raigad, Khopoli 410203, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Khopoli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Khopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durshet Forest Lodge, cocooned amidst the Sahyadri mountains & situated on Khopoli-Pali road; includes an excellent 35 acre natural forest with diversity of plantation making it a paradise for nature lovers. Durshet is also home to Adventure activities like Rappelling, Zipline, Burma bridge, Tarzan Swing, net-climbing, laddering etc. With 16 AC Cocoon rooms, 7 large & 4 small Cottage rooms, 5 large dormitories, a well-equipped conference hall, a full-fledged kitchen and dining hall, Durshet makes an ideal vacation stay. It is also an ideal stop-over point for Kundalika river rafting, an adrenaline boosting activity offered all year round at the Kolad Camp-site by Nature Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durshet Forest Hotel Khopoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing