We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good adventure holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good adventure holiday destination”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Durshet forest lodge is a good adventure holiday destination, both of family and large groups
They have range of accommodation from dormitories to to cottages..If you have family try cottages.
On negative side, they could do well if the improved over all housekeeping and cleanliness of rooms..Food is average. However they are reasonably priced and are value for money

Room Tip: Go for cottage accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cptamhankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
10
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Durshet is ideally located, just a short 20 mins drive from expressway. We were a large group that stayed in dormitory as well as separate rooms. The dorm as well as rooms were clean and serviced daily. Washrooms were also clean. The resort offers plenty of activities including evening walk, treasure hunt, flying fox, rock climbing.
The resort however is a bit crowded and parking is a problem. Indoor sporting equipment is dated, especially the TT table needs urgent repair. The pool is actually just a large tank filled with water. Some of the tiles in the pool have chipped off - one of our friends got a deep cut on his feet. I am not sure if there is any treatment plant for the pool.
The dining area is really dirty. While the food is good, the place is full of flies. For those that expect certain minimum hygiene, this may be a big put off.
If only the management puts some more effort on cleanliness in Dinig area, this can be a good weekend destination

Room Tip: Rooms numbered CC 1-12 are better and have some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank himniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Himniv,

Thankyou for the detailed and very constructive feedback .I'm glad you liked the dorm stay and found all dorm rooms acceptable.

I am aware of the fly problem and we are trying to sort this out.Being the outdoors this is a common but hopefully treatable problem.Of course the flies are a major menace and we will work at this problem asap as well as the updationg of the indoor equipment.

Thanks once again,
HAPPY NEW YEAR,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at Durshet Forest Lodge with group of 8 during 2nd week of December 2012. Specious with nicely maintained property. Have lot of open space. Resort people are very helpful and attentive. The adventure sports are good. Food quality is moderate. Rooms are basic with attached bath. have swimming pool but didn't tried.
Only Negative we encountered the flies at the time of lunch. Although they try to cover the food, but that can't be avoided.

Recommended for short trip with groups.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photographer_Dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Photographer_Dev,

Thanks for your very positive and encouraging feedback.I'm glad you liked the activities and the resort. i have noted your issues with mosquitos and we are looking at ways to avoid this menace in the outdoors.

Warm regards and HAPPY NEW YEAR
Sonal Divekar
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My likes about the place: Tasty Food, well maintained rooms/toilet, prompt service, informal and a personal touch, well mannered staffs. The adventure sports are kind of okay. It is real fun for large groups as they could play football or have bonfire, have songs/dances late till night apart from the adventure sports. For small kids, there is nothing much to play. Kids of 3-6 years like mine could enjoy only the pool. The resort could think of adding some games for small kids too may be swings, see- saw and other such models could be built in a nice way. This would keep them engaged and also give quality time to their parents.For the pool, it would be good to supply inflatable floats & toys. That would be an added attraction. The other good thing about the resort is they supply Table tennis/badminton rackets to play.So no need to carry those. Staff was very good in terms of keeping you informed on the activities. Overall, my family and I enjoyed this trip..the staff made this seem very homely. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joythitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Joythitrip from Pune,

Thank you very much for your very kind and accurate review. I'm glad you liked the stay service,food and will specially complement our staff for making you feel homely.
I hope you will visit all of our resorts for the same at home feel.

Yes its true that we could do with a few play pen things for young children. We have made a note of this request and will try and implement this as soon as feasible.

Thanks and Have a HAPPY NEW YEAR,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and friends about 13 people went to this place about 78km from Mumbai in peak monsoon around mid August 2012. Staff was kind enough to guide us to the place. Approach was well directed on the sides of the road. Drive to the place was beautiful, typical of western ghats of Maharashtra. The office was up the road and a very small reception area. Simple and basic type of place, location is OK. Just under the high tension electric cable wires. Except the recreational areas, the rooms and other areas were not well directed. Room was simple, clean. No TV which I thought was a good idea so as to take break from hustle-bustle of the city. Housekeeping was prompt. No room service though. Food was good for the place and price and none of 13 had any form of stomach upset. Decent variety in buffet. No ala-karte. Dining area was open but well kept. They were kind to provide hot milk to the kid.
Acitivities were plenty especially for the kids. Best I liked was kayaking. We also went for rafting from there which was around 50km from there. Good security measure were in place for the hotel adventure acitivity and rafting both. So we were not afraid of sending our kids for the activities. Srrounding jungle area was pretty. Slept well and request for delayed discharge was accepted by them. Overall a good pleasant experience and worth for a weekend trip from Mumbai.

Room Tip: Go for adventure acitivities around there, it is fun. Adventure activities are actually the fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear CJ,

Thank you CJ for your detailed and well put together review. Reviews are of this kind are very helpful for us. I am glad you enjoyed the adventure activities, the drive and the forest as well.

We have not put a TV but added soft adventure activities to allow all members of a family (except the very old or very small i.e below 4 years) to enjoy the activities and the forest.
Did notice that you have written that the activities are more suitable for adventurous families.Did any member have any difficulty in doing any activity on site? Please let me know if they did.This will definitely help us with all our activities in the future.

Please also visit our Kundalika Rafting Camp for some more kayaking and of course Rafting and our Sajan for their Tree Tops and Emu's.

Regards,
Sonal Divekar
Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visited over the weekend and choose to stay in the non ac cottage. Had great expectations of the place, unfortunately the place did not meet the expectation. What we wanted was some peace and quiet in natural surroundings, which this place is not. First the good things: the people are very good. helpful and take care of your needs well. the cleaning staff, at the restaurant and the activities. the challenges are the number of people who end up coming. Large groups (fortunately it was not the drunken boys group which one encounters at the waterfalls) ensure that one does not get peace and quiet during the day. The cottages are built around a ground which is used for cricket and football. So if you are a small group or family (the way we were) all thoughts of an afternoon sleep or a relaxed noon, chatting with friends is out of the question. Sleeping at noon was again a problem due to the heat. the rooms were very hot (could be the asbesto sheets for roofing). Evening time the place empties out as during our visit there was a lot of day time groups. So evening the place felt better. the Food turned out to be a big problem. Spicy and extremely oily. A couple of us ended with upset stomach. While i would think the food had taste, the spice and oil turned us away. The pool was a disaster. There was a big group which had jumped in the pool. No pool decorum of swimming costume, so you had boys jumping in the pool fully clothed. On seeing this action, the women in our group wisely decided to stay off the pool. On Sunday the groups started arriving, we had been informed, that the place would get upwards of 200 people, so decided to beat a hasty retreat in the morning. We stayed in non ac cottages. stay is ok. Clean rooms and toilets.

Do not go expecting anything above the ordinary. Large group makes sense, small family groups may feel intimidated unless you love crowds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnandPalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr.Palekar,

Thankyou for your review of our Resort 'Durshet Forest Lodge'.

I have read it in detail and understood your problem.I am glad that you have pointed out the awkwardness experienced by small families in presence of larger groups . It can indeed be a problem.We are trying to work around this by allotting separate timings for larger corporate groups and smaller family groups esp. around the pool.Hopefully this should make the pool side better.
As for the noise, I do apologise for the it .You have not mentioned adventure activities.I hope you did these.generally guests are busy doing activities through the day and hence maybe have not pointed out the noise level issue. I have also informed the resort manager regards the spicy and oily food served to you and am really sorry for that. We shall definitely take corrective action in this area.I am glad you liked the staff.Will convey to them.

Looking at your expectation, I wish you had taken the AC rooms.These are away from the noise and very comfortable.

Thankyou again for your review.It has been very helpful.

Regards,
Sonal Divekar,Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Another fantastic property by Nature trails.
Well maintained property, amazing food and superb staff..
This is better than going to Lonavala or any other waterfalls.

One can do Rapelling, Flying fox, Kayaking, Night walk in forest.

Overall superb!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiteshKhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTResorts, Owner at Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Ritesh,

Thankyou for your lovely review. So glad you have liked Durshet and you mention that its yet another good property from Nature Trails!

Have you done all our properties then? Specifically, Sajan Nature Club ,Kundalika Rafting camp , Dabhosa Waterfall camp and Koyna Backwater camp.Koyna opens from 18th October this year .Its closed during the monsoons and is very picturesque and excellent for Wind surfing and chilling by the expansive koyna backwaters.Do try!

See you on our Trip advisor page soon!

Regards,
Sonal Divekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khopoli
3.3 mi away
UK's Resort Khopoli
UK's Resort Khopoli
#2 of 3 in Khopoli
89 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Imagica Khopoli
2.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
192 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aajol - The Village Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort

Property: Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort
Address: Khopoli-Pali Road | Taluka Khalapur, Dist. Raigad, Khopoli 410203, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Khopoli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Khopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durshet Forest Lodge, cocooned amidst the Sahyadri mountains & situated on Khopoli-Pali road; includes an excellent 35 acre natural forest with diversity of plantation making it a paradise for nature lovers. Durshet is also home to Adventure activities like Rappelling, Zipline, Burma bridge, Tarzan Swing, net-climbing, laddering etc. With 16 AC Cocoon rooms, 7 large & 4 small Cottage rooms, 5 large dormitories, a well-equipped conference hall, a full-fledged kitchen and dining hall, Durshet makes an ideal vacation stay. It is also an ideal stop-over point for Kundalika river rafting, an adrenaline boosting activity offered all year round at the Kolad Camp-site by Nature Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durshet Forest Lodge, A Nature Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durshet Forest Hotel Khopoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing