We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location - Disappointing Food/Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trillium Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Location - Disappointing Food/Rooms”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Tucked away on a quiet little lake, surrounded by hills and trees, the resort offers a great location. The menu was well put together, but it really didn't live up to our expectations. Nothing we ordered seemed fresh. Room was okay - musty, water damage, no A/C. Lots to do (nice tennis courts, canoes and kayaks, biking, games), pleasant surroundings and good staff, but definitely not one of our better experiences over all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippedUpTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
101
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We had our wedding at Trillium and I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting or a better experience. From day one of planning, owner Robert Henry was responsive and accommodating.
We had just over 40 guests and took over the whole resort for a weekend. Because there are so many activities on-site and we didn't want to over-schedule our guests, most of the weekend everyone was free to take advantage of everything the resort has to offer: hiking trails, canoes and pedal boats, swimming, horseshoes, tennis, mountain bikes, and the ever-popular spa. Robert also had the campfire going for us every evening at dusk.
The staff are INCREDIBLE: they always anticipated our needs, and were warm and hospitable. The food was great and the chef flexible with the menu: he made a beautiful, fresh spring pea soup upon my request for a seasonal soup.
The accommodations were clean, comfortable and old-school cottagey: we were in the one-bedroom honeymoon suite which was right next to a small waterfall and very private from the other cottages (there was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us too). Our guests stayed in either a 2-bedroom chalet or 1 bedroom suite or studio cottage. All reported that they were very happy and comfortable in their accommodation.
The main lodge is beautiful and was a perfect spot for our reception dinner. There are also a couple of lovely sitting areas (big leather couches, fireplace and bookshelves) which we would have been happy to have the ceremony in had the weather not gone our way (it did, with a double rainbow to boot!).
As an adult-only resort, they were incredibly accommodating with the kids and even helped us find local babysitters for the post-bed time hours of the reception.
The location is also great - an easy two-hour drive from Toronto and well-situated just north of Bracebridge and south of Huntsville.

I can't recommend Trillium more highly - you should seriously consider going right now!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, General Manager at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
Dear BCRuddles

Thank You for your comments regarding your recent wedding here at the Trillium Resort and Spa. It was a pleasure to have you and all your guests here. We are quickly becoming an all season destination for weddings and family reunions. We are excited and happy to be part of each special occasion. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Sincerely

Robert Henry
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Just returned from a three night stay and found tyhe property a little gem. Like Brad, I think air conditioning would be a large benefit, but I can't say enough about the courteous and prompt service that we experienced. The dining room was beautiful, the meals terrific and the facilities easy to access. There were approximately 12 people using the resort during our stay and it was often that we didn't see anyone for large periods of time. A wonderful taste of Muskoka. The lake is private with no motor boats which lends itself to the quietness of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanwexler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just returned from three nights, midweek in their "bedsitting cottages". Very quiet and peaceful. On a private, 3/4mile long lake that has no other homes or cottages. Cottage was clean. Bed comfortable, with a small kitchenette area, small sofa, fireplace and TV for watching DVD's. Included an excellent breakfast and dinner each day, prepared by a chef who knows what he is doing. Very friendly staff. Our ONLY negative was the lack of air conditioning in the cottage. The daytime highs were 85 or so, and night's lows around 70. Admittedly a hot spell, even for summer. But we had a thermometer with us, and it never dipped below 80 in our cottage each night. It made for very uncomfortable sleeping. For the price, and quality of everything else at the resort, lack of a window or wall air conditioner in the cottages was upsetting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaumaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, General Manager at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
Dear BradSLosAngeles

Thank You for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Trillium Resort and Spa. We appreciate the great comments and welcome any feedback that may improve our overall guest satisfaction.
I would like to address the issue of the air conditioning. I do agree with you that the dates you were here were some of the hottest temperatures and humidity in recent history and it would have been nice to have it in our Chalets and Cottages. Traditionally there has not been a big demand for them as we are surrounded by our huge pine trees and we do receive a breeze from the lake. Having the air conditioning in the Main Lodge and the Spa has always been enough. When we have brought up the idea of putting some in our cottages a lot of the feedback was negative and that our guests did not want to be sitting on their decks listening to the noise of the air conditioners. Certainly this is something that we will continue to monitor and if the demand increases we will revisit it.
Thank You
Sincerely

Robert Henry
InnKeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

What a nice, relaxing place to spend a night or three! The surroundings and spa and lodge are just great. Chef Jason prepared wonderful meals and Robert is quite the wine somalier. The new wine list had just been released when we visited and it was great. The service Robert and Stephanie provided during our stay was second to none. I would rate them above any Inn Keepers we have experienced in quite some time. All told, we're had pressed to recall a better experience than our time in Muskoka at Trillium Resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I'm responding to Mr. Henry's brochure like response to my review in which he states that rooms are available without the inclusive meals. I looked again on Trillium's website and "accommodation only" is not an option, so I e-mailed him to ask where I could have found that option - which I understood from his reponse to the review was available. He was kind enough to respond to say:

"The inclusive price reflects an overall savings of roughly 22% which is also well received. We are pleased to receive guests from all over the world,however our demographic is predominately the Ontario market who come for a 2-6 night stay and as I mentioned want the all inclusive price. We do from time to time have guests looking for the B&B package or a Room Only stay and of coarse are happy to accommodate. It is for those reasons that the online system is designed to offer the inclusive package".

In other words - this option does NOT exist, unless you call and get someone to give you details if available. Since I conduct the majority of my business online, I therefore did not even think to check this out as an option (silly me eh?) as I trusted the website would have all options. Anyway, all I want to do is clarify that if you want to have a room only option, as I missed the boat on, you must phone to make your reservation. Perhaps Trillium will update their website to reflect the option - so that us tech savvy people have all the options?

As for my wine fiasco, there simply was no excuse for that (and yes, I feel for the most part Canadian wines suck (sorry - that is why I ordered FOUR foreign wines off the menu as presented) - being a Canadian citizen who has drunk too many Inniskillin et al wines. Anyway, again in fairness the resort was very nice without food ---- drink I will never know, so cannot attest to it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The most relaxing and fun place to be. The staff was very accommodating and friendly . The view from the dinning room stunning and lounge who would want to leave. The best

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawson064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sydney
19.9 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
322 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
15.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trillium Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trillium Resort and Spa

Property: Trillium Resort and Spa
Address: 848 Clearwater Lake Rd, Port Sydney, Huntsville, Ontario P0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville > Port Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trillium Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among 86 acres of pristine forest and woodlands, a spirited waterfall and private lake, The Trillium Resort & Spa, located in the heart of Muskoka, Ontario offers the perfect "adult only" vacation getaway. The lakeside resort accommodations feature six waterfront chalets and eleven "bedsitting" cottages set amid towering hardwoods.For a truly indulgent Ontario resort experience The Trillium Spa offers an array of luxuriating spa services and treatments in the 5,000 square foot post and beam spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trillium Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trillium Hotel Port Sydney
Trillium Resort And Spa Port Sydney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing