We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort and Value... needs minor tweeks to be excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trillium Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Resort and Value... needs minor tweeks to be excellent”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Travelled midweek in August for two nights with a discount voucher. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay overall with good service and excellent value altogether.

Service at reception was friendly and excellent.

Not for reasons to be nitpicky but more of feedback to management here are a few things that could make it even better:

- If you are a Resort and SPA... place some amenities in the bathroom that are better than motel-grade soap and shampoo. Maybe even some private label sample containers in the room that can be purchased at the spa,

- Yes there was a special for dinner, but otherwise the menu is unchanged... maybe alternate two menus so that you don't end up with the same options two nights in a row.

- Pay a little more attention to execution of the food. Steak was way overcooked (I feel bad returning food, so just ate it) and vegetables were stone cold.

- A breakfast special that is a little more gourmet, and juice that isn't from concentrate.

- I know we had a rough winter, but maybe have someone walk the trails and make them a bit more passable/manageable by removing fallen trees.

- Consider a BYO wine option with corkage fee as personally, I would much rather bring one of my favourite bottles and pay the $15-20 to enjoy with dinner.

Again very nice resort, slightly more rustic rooms, but very clean and comfortable. Nice location and very quiet (except for early wake up bell from the camp across the lake :) )

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lnotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    37
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
101
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I and my wife have spent 4 nights in Trillium Resort & Spa in July 2014 and we're completely satisfied. We were seeking for a quiet beautiful place and we've found it. Resort's chef is amazing, I even didn't expect such an outstanding food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed the meals. The staff was very helpful. We are seniors and the trek from our chalet to the main lodge was steep. There are chalets closer to the main lodge and suggest that you consider ensuring you get the chalet that best suits your mobility and needs. We got manicures and pedicures at the spa and the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The most romantic couples retreat The food is always excellent Staff is more then willing to help with your every need There is everything you would need for a great weekend away or week away Quite and peaceful Relaxing Our favourite place to go

Room Tip: Try Falling Waters our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawson064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Dawson064
It was great to see you back again this year. Thank You for your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely

Robert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked a vacation expecting "Luxurious accommodations and fine dining for romantic couples" as per the website and got the same experience we did when booking a $50/night motel in Grand Bend last year, which is: a somewhat smelly, musty, outdated cabin with peeling paint in the bathroom, shmushed mosquitoes not cleaned off the walls, and slightly crumbling edges here and there. Yes, younger folks looking to drink and sing by the bonfire would not mind the 'rustic' nature of the cabins (I agree with the other reviewers about the funny smells, outdated décor, creaky doors, etc.) but into middle age you can afford luxury, which would be consistent with to this resort's pricing, and expect to receive what you're paying for. Even in Grand Bend for $50 bucks a night I got cable - here, I had to go sign out dvd's, a number of which did not work. Also, the fact that you don't get a cabin to yourself but rather, have neighbours in each cabin was a surprise and a let-down - this fact must be more clearly posted on the website, the way things are presented you'd think you're getting the nice isolated cabin experience, which it is not.
The employees were otherwise very friendly, accommodating and went out of their way to help us, the meals were average but freshly made (the sprout salad was very good) and there was lots of free wood for the fire. The quality of kayaks and boats could be improved upon (one oar detached from one of the rowboats while we were in the middle of the water and getting back to shore took much creativity and a stoic sense of humour but needless to say, made for a funny story about luxury resort amenities that weren't). Do NOT take the trail that starts from the beach, it is not properly maintained; despite having practically grown up on Algonquin trails I almost got lost after point 7 because a portion is not properly marked and the trail just dies in underbrush. The other patron's review about mosquitoes was not fair - this place does not have more mosquitoes than any other place in its neighbourhood- its Muskoka -if you don't like it, stay in the city.
And to Robert who responds to every negative comment, honey, take a hint, fix the place up as opposed to putting your efforts into justifying what are clear shortcomings and blaming the reviewers. With acceptance comes progress and all that...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear DZ
I would like to address your points and opinions. . In our experience some reviews only offer one small perspective of a situation. I try to respond based on the situation as well as offering other facts that may not have been mentioned that the readers may like to be aware of . For instance in your review you suggest that our website states "Luxurious Accommodations and Fine Dining for Romantic Couples" when in fact it does not say that at all. It does speak of charm, cosiness, and casual fine dining. This leads me to believe you may have looked at other Resort options and confused us with them ? The older style oars on the rowboat are made to detach and are in good working order, however new oars and hardware have since been installed. A paddle board was purchased this season and another has been added this week, with some of the canoes and peddle boats roughly being 2 yrs old. All in good working order. We have done, and continue to do upgrades to the cottages including the new flatscreen TV's. This is always on going. I have discussed the paint/trim issue from the cottage you were in with our maintenance manager and as I write this it has been completely fixed and re painted.
Thank You for your review
Sincerely

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently had our wedding at Trillium. Robert and his staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Everything was accounted for and I didn't have to worry about anything. The food was amazing and the cottages were spectacular. A very tranquil spot for anyone to vacation or hold their wedding. Thank you again to everyone at Trillium who helped us put this together and make my family and friends feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear LGBurlington

It was a pleasure hosting your wedding and having all your guests here. Thankfully the weather cooperated and everything looked beautiful. We hope to see you here again very soon. Thanks for the great comments, Best wishes to you both.
Sincerely

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

In June, 41 classmates gathered at Trillium for a 40 year reunion. it was a weekend of fun and laughter with reconnections and "new" friendships being forged. Robert and staff were very accommodating and the event was highly successful. The resort's many amenities (spa, pool, kayaks, beach) were well used by all. The lodge is a beautiful representation of Muskoka life and the accommodations were perfect (the towels being the softest and most absorbent that I have experienced!) Many thanks to Robert and staff for arranging meals, making a bonfire and "taking care" of us. By a unanimous vote, we will be returning to Trillium for our next reunion in 5 years!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear 52traveltheworld
When you approached me four years ago regarding your nurses reunion I thought it may be a little early. Well the time went by and it was great working with you to ensure everyone from all over was well looked after and enjoyed themselves. It was nice to see everyone reunite. The weekend had a great atmosphere and we are happy to be hosting your next reunion as well.
Thank You for your comments.
Sincerely

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sydney
19.9 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
318 reviews
15.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
11.9 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trillium Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trillium Resort and Spa

Property: Trillium Resort and Spa
Address: 848 Clearwater Lake Rd, Port Sydney, Huntsville, Ontario P0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville > Port Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trillium Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among 86 acres of pristine forest and woodlands, a spirited waterfall and private lake, The Trillium Resort & Spa, located in the heart of Muskoka, Ontario offers the perfect "adult only" vacation getaway. The lakeside resort accommodations feature six waterfront chalets and eleven "bedsitting" cottages set amid towering hardwoods.For a truly indulgent Ontario resort experience The Trillium Spa offers an array of luxuriating spa services and treatments in the 5,000 square foot post and beam spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trillium Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trillium Hotel Port Sydney
Trillium Resort And Spa Port Sydney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing