We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
The Chalets, 6 in total
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chalets, 6 in total
Outside view Lounge 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Chalets, 6 in total
Outside view
Lounge 1
Kitchen 1
The Chalets are 20 yards from the shore of Luce Bay
Sunrise over Luce Bay
Ardwell Bay, other side of the peninsula, a 10-minute drive, with views of Ireland on a clear day
Stormy sunset over Ardwell Bay
Ardwell Bay, other side of the peninsula, a 10-minute drive, with views of Ireland on a clear day
The pond at Ardwell Woods
Enchanting trail through Ardwell Woods
Sunset over Ardwell Woods
Sunset at Port Logan three miles away. (picture by guest  Lee Kershaw of Northumbrian Images)
Ardwell Woods, a ten-minute walk from the Chalets
The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse sits above spectacular 300ft cliffs
Ardwell Bay
Ardwell House East Lodge can also be booked through Holiday Lettings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ardwell, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penny M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 8, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Lovely place right by the sea. Very peaceful at this time of year and weather was beautiful. Had a fire and roasted marshmallows on the beach. Lovely local walks. Mull of Galloway nice to visit. Ardwell beach was lovely when we went...beautiful rainbows but you wouldn't want to meet a car on that narrow track. Manager was very welcoming. Chalets were comfortable and warmed quite quickly when heaters were on.......had to feed meter with £1 coins

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suenewbou...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely chalets”
Reviewed September 16, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We've just got back from a fortnights stay in chalet number 2.Helen was there to welcome us and show us around.The chalets are nicely furnished and the kitchen very well equipped.The sofa bed in the lounge is easy to put up and very comfy.yes as a previous person commented on the TV is small but we didn't have it on much so not a problem.
It was great watching the seals sunbathing and plenty of bird spotting to be had.

The local shop in Sandhead is well stocked if you don't wish to go to Stranraer.

The cafe at Galloway lighthouses provides lovely lunches. I even purchased some Christmas presents from there.

It is over 30 years since we last stayed at the chalets and hope it's not another 30 until we return.

Helen,hope everything was left ok for you? Looking forward to coming back.:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruiser18...
1 review
“A good centre to relax or explore the Rhins and the Machars”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Given a warm welcome by Helen we found the chalets (4 and 5) clean and inviting. Although fairly small, they are well equipped and rubbish was taken away 3 times per week. You can relax at the chalets, go walks in the Ardwell estate and play on fine beaches at Sandhead and New England Bay. Or explore this lovely quiet area. A visit to the Mull of Galloway is a must. Logan fish pond was a great success with the children, also the Botanical gardens had quiz sheets.. Portpatrick is lovely with its walk up to Dunsky Castle ruins. Stranraer has an excellent park and leisure centre.Further away Whithorn with the iron age roundhouse is very interesting, also Wigtown book town is great for book lovers.. An excellent base to return to - so much to do and the week went far too quickly!. We certainly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the area and would stay with us again.
We're sorry the Chalets didn't match your expectations. They are cleaned to a high standard but it possibly wasn't reached this time and this is something our manager Helen has now addressed.
Our baths are standard-sized and while our TVs are small most guests prefer the views outside.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackie r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ardwell holiday chalet”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we found Helen very welcoming and the chalet spotless. Ardwell is a tiny village and the locals are very friendly. There are no shops or a pub in the village but all we were looking for was an escapism and peace and quiet with lots of walks for our 2 young labs to enjoy so as long as you ensure to take all your food and tipple of your liking it ticks all the boxes. We would certainly return to Ardwell and would recommend it for anyone looking for a place to stay where dogs are very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2018
Thanks for the great review, Jackie
We hope you'll return soon.
Kind regards
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thanks for a great review, Sarah. We hope we'll see you again.
Kind regards
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David H
2 reviews
“Perfect relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for five days with our 16 month old son and it was the perfect way to escape the stresses and strains of normal life!
The accommodation was excellent - clean and tidy with everything you need.
The chalet manager, Helen, was friendly and extremely accommodating.
The setting right by the beach was amazing and so peaceful. The weather might not have been brilliant but it was fairly dry and warm enough.
There is so much to do in the local area too - ardwell gardens are beautiful, port Patrick is a nice little harbour, Stranraer is worth a visit for the castle and friendly little museum, Logan gardens are stunning and the food at the old creamery at Colfin is top notch.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing