We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a wee gem.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kenmuir Cottage

View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Front of Kenmuir Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View from the hill behind Kenmuir Cottage, with the sea in the background
Front of Kenmuir Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Small Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Small Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Hall
Hall
Separate Toilet with Basin
Kenmuir Cottage is located in rolling countryside
Secure Garden
Roses outside Kenmuir Cottage
Hares waiting to greet you at Entrance to Kenmuir Cottage
Ardwell Bay, which is a 15 minute walk from Kenmuir Cottage
View from window of Main Bedroom
Fishing Boat at Portpatrick Harbour
View of Irish Coast from Front Door of Kenmuir Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ardwell, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie W
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a wee gem.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had a week in Kenmuir for my 'half a hunner' birthday,a solo traveller with a broken ankle! I had the warmest welcome from Forrest,and Jen phoned to make sure I was managing ok. Kenmuir is a fabulous cottage,extremely well equiped and perfectly situated.With family help (my occasional day visitors) I visited Mull of Galloway Light House,Port Logan + Portpatrick,all beautiful.I managed short walks alone,the scenery + wildlife,even the ever changing sky is stunning,the garden was perfect too.Such a peaceful week which was the tonic I needed.I will without any hesitation revisit Kenmuir. A fabulous cottage for solo/family travellers alike + wonderful my beloved whippet was welcome too!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finfar
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will definitely be coming back.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful, secluded and peaceful place Kenmuir Cottage is. Forest and Jennifer helped make our holiday at Kenmuir completely stress free, from booking to departing.
The cottage was perfect for our needs. As a young couple with busy professional lives, Kenmuir Cottage was perfect for us to escape to during the Easter Holidays. The cottage was immaculate inside and out and had every modern convenience you could ask for.
Our Newfoundland Puppy absolutely loved the large enclosed garden and also enjoyed the field and beach walks we did each day of our stay.
I titled this review “We will definitely be coming back” because I feel that sums up our whole experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranCanFa...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a short break.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 4 days/3 nights at Kenmuir Cottage. The cottage is beautifully presented with a high quality feel throughout and great attention to detail. The cottage has a wide selection of movies, music and books for those days when the weather just does not co-operated. We loved the log burner and made good used of it throughout the stay. It was also good to have complementary WIFI, making keeping in touch with family and friends easy in a part of the country with patchy mobile phone coverage. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We visited the Kirkmadrine stones which were on 'vacation' with Historic Scotland in Edinburgh at the the time of our visit. We also enjoyed a walk through Ardwell Gardens and a stroll along the Sands of Luce beach at Sandhead. Portpatrick is also worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howieScot...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here august last year. Loved everything about this lovely cottage and setting. House was very well decorated, great sound system/tv, everything thought about, large enclosed garden great for the dog.
Great walks from the door. Dog friendly pub in near by town.
Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect winter getaway.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully kept cottage in a lovely area of Scotland, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kenmuir Cottage and would highly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing short break away.

We had great fun exploring the surrounding countryside and local beaches all on foot, and for the rainy evening there was enough wood to keep the wood burner roaring.

The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need and has been fitted out to a very high standard.

Thank you so much Jennifer and Forrest for a lovely weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toonmilli...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet surroundings and cosy cottage”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed twice in 2012 - In May and November. Both stays were very comfortable and Jennifer and Forrest were very welcoming. The cottage is pristine and has everything you need for a relaxing break. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with plenty to do for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: None of it
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dark Skies and lovely countryside
Liked least: boggy fields - but then it was winter and had rained a lot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing