We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“9/10”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Auld Schoolhouse

Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Lounge with open fire lounge with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Lounge with open fire
lounge with open fire
Dining Room
Kitchen with Breakfast table
Double bedroom with sea view and king sized bed
Double bedroom with sea view and additional single bed
Twin bedroom
Family Bathroom
Utility room with shower beyond
Upstairs shower room
View of Auld Schoolhouse from Beach
Auld Schoolhouse
View from Bedroom window - palm trees - then unlimited Beach
Enclosed secluded garden on beach at Auld Schoolhouse
Auld Schoolhouse secluded garden on the beach!
Fun in the Sun - at Sandhead
Sandhead  Summer on the beach
Port Logan
Maiden Head Bay on Southern Upland Way 10 minutes walk from Portpatrick
Lady Bay near Kirkcolm with Irish ferry in distance
Logan Botanic Gardens
Logan Botanical Gardens
Portpatrick
Ardwell Bay
Killantringan Bay near Portpatrick
Coastal path (Stanraer to Mull of Galloway) Near Ardwell
Castle Kennedy Gardens
Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“9/10”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely holiday in a fantastic setting, just a few small issues -
Not a lot of info given so had to keep emailing owner.
The floors and surfaces were quite dirty/dusty/sticky and I'm more aware having a toddler.
The owners kept coming to do gardening too which was a tad off putting and once parked over the drive leaving us having to park elsewhere lugging the baby and the bags, not on when we have paid for it to be ours for the week!
The lock on the front door is a bit dodgy although it is a quite crime free area.
There is a noisy birds nest in landing cupboard preventing front double bedroom from sleeping properly. I love birds but not when they're skwalking until early hours.

However overall I would recommend as I think the pros outweigh the cons, perfect setting for a young family as the beach is right across the road along with a park and a family pub/restaurant in walking distance. All other areas worth visiting within a half ours drive, recommend Port Logan and Portpatrick and Mull of Galloway.

Great holiday. 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Sorry for the inconvenience caused by us doing routine garden maintenance on the Friday afternoon - I saw you car was not there and thought you were away for the afternoon - I wish you had let me know you had returned when you went to tearoom and I would certainly have moved the car. Sorry about this but house fully booked over summer and have to try to keep garden neat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan B
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“September break”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed a fantastic break at Sandhead. The house is perfectly located with direct access to miles of sandy beach, plus numerous sandy bays just a short distance way. The house is well appointed with wifi, dishwasher, washing machine etc etc. we loved sitting on the summer seat in the front garden enjoying the late summer sun watching the sea.
The locals were really friendly as is Elspeth who owns the house. I would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a lovely part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy W
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“marvellous”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to Sandhead and not a disappointment. We loved the house, it has everything we could possibly need and more. The house also has so much character, while being comfortable and modern. The Wi-Fi was an unexpected bonus.

My little dog loved the beach and was very keen on the extensive rabbit population, she had to be restrained otherwise we'd have lost her to terrier heaven. Fortunately the beach is so vast that it is easy to get her far enough away from the temptation.

Elspeth was very helpful. We really appreciated the supply of tea towels, as we are luddites afraid of such new fangled equipment as the dish washer. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magicalho...
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

what a lovely place. This is a big house which is very well kept and very well equipped, we loved it. We took our small dog who loved the beach outside which is a wonderful view from the front of the house. It was a very comfortable house and the beds were comfortable and decor very good. We rattled around a little with there just being the 2 of us but it was really lovely, I would recommend this to anyone and would go back. We visited the areas around and had some brilliant visits of gardens, towns and bays. Whithorne was one of my favourites along with Portpatrick.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuboy286
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view and what a location.”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited Sandhead many times in the past on trips to the Portpatrick area and this was the first time we have stayed there but won't be the last. House very comfortable and well equipped, although missed having wifi. Being able to walk straight onto the beach was brilliant and absolute heaven for Theo, our Labrador. Other great places to visit locally are Castle Kennedy, Port Logan and Portpatrick. Harbour Hotel in Portpatrick does nice meals and is dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and the location.
Liked least: Shed in back garden.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1alice40
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love it so much, we never want to leave!”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a fantastic holiday home, it is well equipped and very comfortable. The enormous, empty, sandy beach is across the road and we love long walks, football and kite flying on the sand. The tea room next door is a lovely place to have a treat. Elspeth, the owner is really helpful. It is a fantastic place for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing