We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mull of Galloway Lighthouse

Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Mull of Galloway is Scotland's most southerly point and is one of its least known areas, remaining an unspoiled paradise for visitors seeking peace and tranquility. We hope you will enjoy your visit and discover for yourself the beautiful countryside, beaches, splendid views and warm climate. Climb Scotland's most southerly Lighthouse, visit our Lighthouse Exhibition, RSPB reserve and Gallie Craig coffee house. Visit our website for seasonal opening times and to plan your visit. We also have three former Lighthouse Keepers' holiday cottages available for holidays or short breaks throughout the year. Dumfries and Galloway has recently been voted Holiday Destination of the Year by BBC Countryfile Magazine.
Dumfries Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited the Mull of Galloway yesterday, I have lived in Dumfries and Galloway most of my life and never appreciated what a hidden gem it is. From the lighthouse you can see Ireland, The Isle of Man and the mountains if Cumbria WOW. Cliffs and stunning views a fabulous restaraunt and gift shop. It is not far from the A75 but the a fair portion of the journey is on single track road, allow time to explore the lovely countryside, Port Logan and Logan Botanical gardens are on your way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAirey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    73
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great, quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A really peaceful spot and getting there is your challenge. The lighthouse has some interesting history attached to it and the whole area is surrounded by breathtaking views.

The lighthouse is just an excuse to go there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A long way for a view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Travelled a couple of hours in order to visit the lighthouse. Once there we did appreciate the view and the lighthouse stands proud, however the visitor centre is tiny and boring. The tea room on the other hand was nice and did the job I suppose. Hill walkers would love the area I would imagine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The views from the top of the lighthouse it second to none for the area . I have been a couple of times now, and there is always something different to see and do. We have stayed at the lighthouse cottages as welland the views are excellent, very well equipped and value for money very relaxing, excellent wildlife and very good walking area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewskevington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic location to spend a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lighthouse: Excellent location and a great outing for the day. Currently open Sa / Sun / Mo. I had been here last a few years ago before the current small exhibition centre was opened - then it was an even more private place :) The inside of the lighthouse is always interesting particularly for those who don't know a lot about them. I stayed in many of them and I must admit MoG LH is one of the nicest in terms of complete interior and maintenance. Interesting historical facts prior to automation.
Small exhibition: A recent development. Exceptionally nice volunteer staff from the local community. Excellent exhibits, superbly explaining the functioning of the lighthouse in earlier times.
Accommodation: Simply excellent. There are three houses: Puffin, Kittiewake and the Lighthouse Keeper's House. I have stayed in Kittiwake before, this time in Puffin with 5 of my friends. Superbly furnished and restored apartment with three bedrooms, a spacious bathroom, a well-appointed kitchen with all modern conveniences incl washer/dryer, and a lovely cozy sitting room.
Until now, this accommodation was part of NTS rental properties. 6 months ago, however, the local community completed the process of community buy-out and as of 1st November this property can no longer be rented from NTS but from the Mull of Galloway local community itself.
Recent development: The community buy-out is a fantastic and significant step forward with the local community taking full ownership and responsibility for this facility. The small exhibition is a good start. The community plans to convert the former lighthouse garden patch behind the lighthouse into a garden and small education project for kids - very best wishes for a successful implementation and good luck with the future enterprise.
Countryside: Excellent cliff walking with spectacular sight, careful though, the cliffs are steep and the paths uneven and unsecured. The nearby RSPB centre is definitely worth a visit - they also organise guided bird-watching tours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mull of Galloway Lighthouse also viewed

Port Logan, Mull of Galloway
 
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mull of Galloway Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing