We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating trip into our history”

Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Mull of Galloway is Scotland's most southerly point and is one of its least known areas, remaining an unspoiled paradise for visitors seeking peace and tranquility. We hope you will enjoy your visit and discover for yourself the beautiful countryside, beaches, splendid views and warm climate. Climb Scotland's most southerly Lighthouse, visit our Lighthouse Exhibition, RSPB reserve and Gallie Craig coffee house. Visit our website for seasonal opening times and to plan your visit. We also have three former Lighthouse Keepers' holiday cottages available for holidays or short breaks throughout the year. Dumfries and Galloway has recently been voted Holiday Destination of the Year by BBC Countryfile Magazine.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating trip into our history”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Welcoming knowledgeable steward, good audio visual film and most interesting displays brought to life the reality of being a lighthouse keeper in the nineteenth century.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchwind70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    86
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Views are amazing”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to see the lighthouse and was lucky enough to find the tower itself was open for visitors to climb. We (including my 3 yr old daughter) climbed the 115 steps to the top and got some great views of the Isle of Man, Cumbria and Ireland.
The exhibition itself was interesting but not much for young children.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another visit to the Mull”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Exhibition at the Mull has a few new artefacts and Crammag Head Light is now on display. Good to see new exhibits. The Tower is still open and the views are fantastic. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a hectic world”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here in the Lighthouse Keepers cottage from 4th to 11 th August 2012. This was a magical holiday, Kittiwakes and other seabirds nesting on the cliff at the back of the cottage, a peregrin falcon glimpsed, and the most wonderfull views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vancatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Scotland's most Southerly Lighthouse”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is definitly worth a visit but make sure it's a clear day or you will miss out on some fantastic views. We paid to go into the exhibition and to go up the Lighthouse and both are worth it. Also save £1 when do both things. The Lighthouse is no good for anyone who suffers with walking but otherwhise worth it for those who are up for a climb. You also get a certificate to say you've done it. Great views of the Isle of Man, Ireland and Luce Bay. A visit to the cafe is also nice, their Date & Walnut and Cheese scones are brill!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mull of Galloway Lighthouse also viewed

Port Logan, Mull of Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mull of Galloway Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing