We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in wonderful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Just imagine waking up to this view Kitchen / diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Just imagine waking up to this view
Kitchen / diner
A Well equipped kitchen
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
highdrummorecottages
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drummore, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn R
Doochary, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in wonderful setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is beautifully and tastefully decorated and we couldn't have asked for more. Dumfries and Galloway is a beautiful county and we were well placed to explore it. The Mull of Galloway is a wonderful place to visit. The scenery is breath taking. The RSPB man on site was very friendly and knowledgeable. We also had a great meal in the visitors centre. We also explored the Isle of Whithorn and surrounding area - fabulous!! We had a fantastic week and will definitely return to continue our exploration of the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review about Castlemoor Cottage and surrounding area. We are very lucky to stay in such a beautiful place!. As always its a pleasure on meeting you both and hope to see you both again.. Take care Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Castlemoor is a excellent cottage so glad we found this place, an excellent base for touring this lovely part of the country. The mull of Galloway lighthouse can be seen from the lovely views from the sunroom as well as Isle of Man in the distance. On our arrival to castlemoor it was very welcoming and warm and the lovely flowers and bottle of fizz were very much appreciated. The cottage is spotlessly clean and is well equipped and has everything you need and more. We met Elizabeth the owner on our last day and she messaged us during the week just to check everything was ok for our stay really couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Our dog Mya enjoyed the fully enclosed garden too, we will definitely be back soon .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review about Castlemoor Cottage. It is very much appreciated .As always its a pleasure on seeing you both again. Take care Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryC155...
1 review
“The jewel in the crown of the Mull of Galloway”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Mull Lighthouse has superb views across the Irish sea to the Isle of Man,
beautiful port Logan and Logan botanical Gardens ,
Wildlife venues near to Kirkholm and the Fantastic Bellymack Farm Red Kite feeding station,allso the Red Deer park in the forest on the Galloway trail ,

portpatrick is an idylic little harbour village just a few miles from Castlemoor cottage ,

the cottage itself is a superb quality let, with all you need for a short break to a two week stay, i will be returning once again to this fantastic location as i have done many times before .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review about Castlemoor Cottage. It is very much appreciated .As always its a pleasure on seeing you both again. Take care Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maureenal...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage with outstanding views”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at castlemoor in July. Elizabeth was just lovely & couldn't have been more helpful, the welcome pack with prosecco was a really thoughtful gesture, & very much appreciated. The cottage was spotless, well equipped & the views from the sunroom are amazing. We were lucky with the weather & enjoyed a few days of sunshine relaxing in the garden. We loved our visit to the lighthouse, the views from there are just breathtaking. We would definitely love to visit castlemoor again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review about Castlemoor Cottage. It is very much appreciated .It would be lovely to see you again.
Take care Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercedes...
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent once again”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

you could never tire from the views from this house they are amazing day and night. Second visit to this lovely cottage with all the home comforts and will certainly not be our last, Love the extra touch with the welcome fizz and card. Liz the owner always at hand for information and she pays you a wee visit to see all is ok. lovely walks along New England Bay beach with the dogs too. What can I say wonderful place and area to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to writing a lovely review about your stay at Castlemoor Cottage it is very much appreciated .It was lovely to see you both again, as always look forward on seeing you both again. Take care Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the garden room
Liked least: Couldn't find a hair drier
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to writing a lovely review about your stay at Castlemoor Cottage it is very much appreciated .We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and the walks that are on the door step at Castlemoor ,we are so lucky to have. Hope to see you both again some time Thanks again Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SFM9
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house, brilliant views - everything you could want”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Perfect location, excellent accommodation - clean, warm, excellent beds and had everything you could need. A lot of thought had gone into this accommodation. The dogs loved it too! Brilliant views to the Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, plenty of walks nearby and three shores within easy reach - fantastic! We intend to book for a week next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to writing a lovely review about your stay at Castlemoor Cottage it is very much appreciated .We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Look forward seeing you both back in September Thanks again Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing