We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Ranked #1 of 3 Drummore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are looking for fantastic scenery, excellent hospitality and a peaceful location, East Muntlock Croft has it all. If however you want shops, and nightclubs, this is not for you. The location and views from this B/B is super and there are two armchairs in your spacious room which enable you to view this southernmost part of Scotland from your room. A very warm welcome awaits you and you are made to feel part of the family. Now, how can I arrange my holidays so that I can stay in this super place again and again.
Motorists should remember that the nearest petrol station is back up in Stranraer-15 miles away so fill-up there and then just enjoy the lovely views on your way to this excellent B/B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
A really big thank you for taking the time to write a review about our B & B - East Muntloch Croft. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would come back. It was lovely to meet you and hope it's not to long before we see you again. Yes we have to point out to all our guests that Drummore garage no longer sells fuel and Stranraer is our nearest fuel station. Many thanks. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
117
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a glorious week in Glen Auchie. The cottage is beautifully furnished, finished to a high standard and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need - a real 'home from home'. Diane and John are wonderful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Glen Auchie is a little haven situated amidst the most glorious scenery. We would certainly recommend this cottage as the perfect place to relax and unwind. We are looking forward to our second visit later this year, it cannot come a day too soon.

Lynda and Graham, Cheshire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lypnod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a great review about Glen Auchie Cottage and really pleased you enjoyed your stay. People taking the time to make reviews really helps our business to flourish. I hope you both feel really relaxed after your week here. It was lovely to meet you both and here's to the future. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Coming from Townsville in Australia, we found the Mull a tad cold... ummm... tad more than tad... stronger word comes to mind but not on here.
Cottage was impeccable... every conceivable item had been thought of... minus just a few... wonderful kitchen and mod cons... wonderful living room... couches to die for... open fire... great bed... etc. etc.
My partner has written a book about Auld Smiddy, so I'll just add one or two things that maybe the owners could consider.
The television reception was abysmal at times - dodgy aerial perhaps - but for a few pounds Sky satellite TV could be added to the cottage experience along with broadband Internet.
Now I know people say it's great to get away from all that... okay... don't turn the TV on or use the Internet.
But, it's nice to have the choice in 2013.
Apart from that, and no power point in the bathroom, was a good seven days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustTravel50Plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Auld Smiddy Cottage. The weather all over Scotland was really windy the week you were here and our television reception was the same - out of our control.

We provide Wi fi access up at our house - East Muntloch Croft B & B - and cottage people on holiday are welcome to come up and use it anytime at no cost. To install broadband and sky is a costly expense that our small business can't afford at this point and time.

When we purchased the cottage the bathroom was fully tiled and we did not want to rip things up to install an electric shaving point.

We are really disappointed that you did not come up and advise us of any problems or said to us when you departed. As far as we were aware you stated that you had a wonderful time.

Auld Smiddy Cottage is a very warm, cosy cottage with log fire and heating all the way through with added electric heaters and gas heater as a back up. We supply the logs in the price at no extra cost and no limit on how many you use.

Diane & John (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Like many who have written reviews before us, we can honestly agree that the photos of Auld Smiddy on their website, http://www.mullofgalloway.co.uk/self-catering-scotland-sleeps-2-couple.html, really don’t do it justice...and I know my pics don’t either. Needless to say, I fell in love with Auld Smiddy at first sight.

Deceptively small and quaint from the outside, the renovations and interior design have been done so cleverly that the cottage is more than big enough for two people (although there is only one bedroom) but it is also cosy, comfortable and warm. To walk you through: 1. there is a large parking area at the rear of the cottage (the conservatory side) and a shed where a big pile of firewood is kept; 2. enter through the conservatory – although this is technically the rear entrance, it is the most convenient and warmest way to get into the cottage. It’s also a lovely place to sit and scenery-watch – with a cuppa and the heater on in the early mornings or later in the day, when it gets quite warm in there without the heater, with a cool wine or ale. There is a resident hare (whose name is apparently “Harold,” but it could also be a “Harriet?”) who forages in the field next door, as well as lots of birds and sheep to watch – plus the view of the sea and, when it’s clear, the Isle of Man and the Lighthouse to look at – it’s also a great place to read a book and/or one of the many information brochures that are provided in the front entrance room; 3.the good-sized kitchen connects to the conservatory and is probably better-equipped and better designed than most modern kitchens (including ours at home): gas hotplates, great oven, convection-microwave, toaster, etc – I don’t think anything has been forgotten in setting it up (great job, Diane and John)- there is a small kitchen table that extends if you need it larger (but there are only two kitchen chairs). I claimed the chair next to the window that looks out through the conservatory to the view (I had to move the lamp in the conservatory to the side to do this) and this is where I plonked myself to write this blog; 4. A few tiled steps take you up to the very inviting living room, with its gorgeous, super-comfy leather chairs (a three-seater and a two-seater) and Rick’s favourite feature, the wood-burning stove (remember the big pile of wood in the shed? It’s not so big now.) There is a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, but no satellite dish to be seen on the roof, so reception is a bit dodgy (one of Rick’s two minor beefs about the place); there is also a DVD player but no DVD collection – luckily we had brought a few of our own…handy when the TV isn’t receiving any signal: 5. The lovely bathroom leads off the livingroom and a hot bath is something we both appreciate, so the big bath was a bonus. The toilet tended to be a bit temperamental when it came to flushing (takes a few attempts) but caused no major inconvenience. 5. You go up 7 carpeted wooden stairs to the loft area that has been converted into a warm open double bedroom, with a really comfortable double bed from where you can still see, as well as feel, the fire. There are wardrobes built into one wall and an elevated platform that is very handy for storing luggage but, with the addition of mattress and bedding, could sleep two more people (ideal for kids). There is also a window with the same view as from the conservatory. 6. As well as servicing the front entrance to Auld Smiddy, the front room has a large desk covered in very useful brochures and flyers full of information about the Mull of Galloway and neighbouring area, including walks, ferry to Belfast details, etc. This room also houses the super-douper Dyson vacuum cleaner, the mop and bucket and container for news and other paper designated for the fire. Functional rather than pretty.

As well as the wood-burning stove, Auld Smiddy has boiler heating throughout (although we had a bit of trouble over-riding the timer – sometimes it would work, sometimes not), two electric radiators – one in the conservatory, which we used (and it works really, really well) and one in the living room, which we didn’t bother trying due to the wood-stove, and there is another portable heater that looks to use gas (also not used). Needless to say, there was no issue of suffering from the cold. Inside, at least. There is also a front-loading washing machine camouflaged behind a matching door/drawer in the kitchen (the fridge and freezer are similarly camouflaged). However, although a laundry basket and pegs were provided, we couldn’t locate a clothesline of any kind, so had to hang our washing out on the bench and fence outside. I found an iron (kitchen cupboard) and ironing board (front room) and a hairdryer and plenty of towels (bedroom wardrobe) after a bit of investigating.

My verdict: Auld Smiddy is a perfect holiday cottage…I would even be quite happy living here for a long time. Rick would need reliable satellite and cable TV and the Internet to be 100% satisfied. In any case, at £335 for a week, it is a steal. We can’t think of anywhere in Australia where you’d get anything like this for the equivalent of roughly AUD$70 per night…that’s assuming you COULD actually find something like it. I doubt you could.

Room Tip: Bring DVDs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for review re: Auld Smiddy Cottage. We have no control over the weather and the week you were at the cottage was a really wild, windy week all over Scotland. We are really disappointed that you didn't come up and let us know if you had any problems during the week and on your leaving date you advised us that you had a wonderful time but didn't mention any problems. We have checked the TV and the toilet and both working fine. The TV reception was down to the winds and our television reception was the same - atmospheric.

There is a large washing pole - rotating washing line - through the small gate beside the log shed.

I am sorry we didn't provide DVD's but we are a very small business and our prices we charge would not justify us to provide DVD's.

If people do not tell us if there is a problem when they are on holiday we can't do anything about it. Diane & John (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the Auld Smiddy - and other reviews have said it all. It is more like staying in a friend's house that a holiday let, absolutely brilliant place. And what a location - amazing walk to the Mull of Galloway lighthouse and RSPB reserve along east and west coasts; and wildlife watching from the conservatory as the sun goes down. (It was so good I was up at 6:15am to take more photos on our last day.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay in Auld Smiddy Cottage and what our area has to offer. Many thanks for the great review. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were married at Gretna on the 16th February, and had booked Auld Smiddy as our romantic getaway for the following week. Arriving on the 17th, and staying until just the 23rd, we wished we had booked longer away from work, to allow us to stay that bit longer.
On arrival, the door was unlocked, we went in to find a Wedding Congratulations card, and a bottle of Cava waiting for us on the kitchen table. Details like this are often overlooked, thankfully not by Diane & John, it was a wonderful personalised welcome, to a wonderful cottage, set in the wonderfully beautiful Mull of Galloway.
The cottage is not unlike Dr Whos' Tardis, it appears twee and quaint on the outside, but is deceptively larger on the inside, and so very well appointed. Converting this some years ago from a ruin to how it stands today is a wonderful achievement for which Diane & John should be justly proud.
The log burner was already set, ready for a match, and all we had to do was slump on the sofa and watch the flames come to life.
Our week at Smiddy was wonderful, everything we needed was there in the cottage, (and then some!) it is a true 'home-from-home'. After exploring the locale each day, we looked forward to returning to the cottage, and even called it 'Home' many and several times throughout the week.
Myself & Suzanne might have fallen in love, and married - but we have also fallen in love with the Mull of Galloway - we look forward to returning as guests of Diane & John, perhaps early in the New Year (Baby on the way otherwise we'd be back sooner!) with a view to securing property of our own in the area in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review it is very, very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do this as well, we don't like asking people to put a review on, but when they do it really helps our business. Congratulations to you both for your wedding and also for baby on its way, hope all goes well and we will see you back soon. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable week in the beautiful Mull of Galloway. Our break away from the hustle and bustle of city life was all the more enjoyable due to staying in the delightfully quaint and cosy Auld Smiddy Cottage which exceeded our expections. Situated in lovely open countryside with fabulous views of the sea it was just what we needed to relax. As has been mentioned in other reviews the photo's on the website do not do this charming cottage justice. Especially the spacious lounge with its beautiful original stone walls and real wood burning stove it's a real wow factor - what a treat to be laying all cosy in bed (in the open bedroom that looks down onto the lounge) and still able to see the warm glowing embers of the wood burning stove below - Bliss! The cottage is indeed very comfortable and equipped with all that you need and more. John and Diane are exceptionally welcoming and friendly and if you're lucky enough you may even get some cuddles and sloppy kisses from their gorgeous girl Cara (the boxer). We had a wonderful stay and cannot recommend it enough. Thanks John and Diane - we hope to see you again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummore
13.4 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
321 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
186 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Property: Mull of Galloway Holidays
Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mull of Galloway Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. One ensuite bedroom/sitting room and one twin ensuite. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B due to own pets. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B. Free Wi fi access. Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views. Pet friendly! Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire! This cottage is on 3 levels, open plan. You can lie in bed and look down at the glowing fire. Conservatory, kitchen, sittingroom, bathroom with showe in bath, back porch. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mull of Galloway Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing