We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite neat and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gloreto Guest House
Ranked #12 of 24 Butuan B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite neat and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Its been a while since I wrote reviews for hotels & BBs. Me and my friend stayed here on our last day. We only stayed for almost overnight as we arrived late evening (8PM) from a long trip from Davao. But one thing that I love was the fact that when we arrived and we looked into our room, it was really neat and clean. Minimal designs which I dont mind as it really looks tidy. We booked it really late but the person we spoke with was really helpful and also called us when the room was already available (there was still guest on our room that day but they already checked out). Nothing special about the free complimentary breakfast but given the value of the room, it was just right. Overall, on my next trip here in Butuan, I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloretoGuestHouse, Manager at Gloreto Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Eugene,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripAdvisor. The team and I could not be more happy to have guests leaving such positive comment after staying with us.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Butuan.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Gloreto Guest House has proven to be my favourite type of accommodation in Butuan.
It's a small business out of the city centre, however not really far from it either. It's located in a small dirt lane and it retains a feeling of an authenticity.
It's either new (or newly refurbished) and its rooms are modern and functional and have nothing to envy to hotels like Dottie's, for example.
Prices are very competitive starting with 588 pesos for a standard single to 1188 pesos for a double suite.
On the down side there isn't a real lobby or garden where guests can relax, so it's the type of accommodation where you only go back to sleep. Howevere if you are busy visiting the countryside or doing all day excursions, it's an ideal place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloretoGuestHouse, Manager at Gloreto Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear ByeByeBlues,

Thanks a million for your feedback regarding your stay at Gloreto Guest House. We are happy that you like the hotel overall. Our main goal is to completely meet with guest’s needs and we are pleased to have succeeded.

Please book us for your next visit in the Philippines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

First of all, and we stayed in one of the suite rooms, we would stay again, this is a clean place and quiet place, good staff etc, but some unusual issues:

As per website, and after a long, hot, and tiring day, we finally arrived to our room where my first action was to open the minibar for a beer ..... There's no beer and there is a sign in the room, and it is written in their rules, that dring, smoking and gambling on the premises are strictly forbidden and they will fine any offender PHP1,000.00.

I can understand smoking, perhaps gambling also, but when the make a can or few of beer illegal then I might take such a rule seriously!

Please note the website reads "hot and cold shower" whilst making no mention of a bathroom or shower room. There is a shower room but, to be honest, I've seen larger cupboards, the shower room probably measures about 1.5m x 0.9m and contains a toilet, where there isn't even enough room for a man to stand immediately in front of it, and a sink and, if taking a shower, everything gets wet whilst one is spraying water in very close proximity to an electric light switch.

We had booked for 3 nights but, alas, when we returned to our room on the 3rd evening there was a brown out, a neghborhood power failure, and, surprisingly, Gloreto do not have so much as a standby generator to maintain even the basics such as electric light thus, for safety reasons, we were unable to occupy our room and had to book alternative accommodation.

When mentioning to the staff that, only a few weeks ago, I had bought a 6.25KVA generator for a mere PHP20,000.00 and I've seen generators in their local hardware store they made excuse that the manager had a generator on order ... yeah right, and my name's Bjorn Yesterday!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, if just in the one room I'm not so sure that their curtains are adequate to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Phileas_Fogg_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Usually I find budget hotels to offer just the bare minimum for a comfortable stay, but the Gloreto Guest House is is an exception. Here you will find new, fresh bed linen that has been ironed, the rooms are finished with floor tiles that are sparkling with cleanness, and cable TV loaded with internationanal channels. Also available is a free breakfast with a beverage of your choice.
The staff is available 24 hours and a security gaurd is on duty after dark. This is a very safe place to stay and located away from the noise of the city. We stayed for a week until we found an apartment and I long to return just to spend one night at this wonderful gem of a hotel. The room rates are the best deal you will find in this region so make your reservations early to stay in this new(less than one year) hotel. You will not be disappointed. And free wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coconutman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butuan hotels
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#2 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 8 in Butuan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almont City Hotel
Almont City Hotel
#5 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Almont Inland Resort
Almont Inland Resort
#4 of 8 in Butuan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dottie's Place
Dottie's Place
#11 of 24 in Butuan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yhotel
Yhotel
#3 of 11 in Butuan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloreto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloreto Guest House

Property: Gloreto Guest House
Address: T. Calo St., Butuan, Mindanao 8600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Butuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small, friendly hotel is simple but is modern, comfortable with good facilities. All rooms are non-smoking rooms.Each of the 17 air conditioned rooms is equipped with hot and cold shower, cable TV, mini-bar & free wifi. We also offer free breakfast to our valued guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing