We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 24 Butuan B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

upon arrival, no one opens the door for you because the guards were talking to the other employees. the desk staff did not greet and i thought she was not happy to see a client. when im inside the room, i did smell a terrible odor. too many mosquitoes and i saw spider webs at the bathroom. the shower took a lot of time to heat. no curtains at the window of the shower, you can even see the fence and the sky. the breakfast was buffet and they only have 3 kinds of dishes, 2 types of rice, a juice, coffee, and water. no fruits and you'll have to pay for a bread if you want to eat bread. good things, they use key cards for rooms and theres a pool near my room. the view of the pool makes the hotel nice. i dont want to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ordinarywty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

My stay at dottie's place hotel was pleasure as it is very close to city center, staff was always there if i needed help and very honest as i forgot my credit card in locker and had to call them from dubai , they found my card and handed back to my friend ,being diabetic they went all the way to offer me breakfast of my choice . I'll again stay there this year .

Room Tip: south side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tariqpashamemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

With all my reviews I do point out the good and bad points of a hotel. Let me first start with the bad points. The room we has was situated near the main highway and we were greeted by honks and engines buzzing. Nothing special on the room and quite frankly it requires a little updating. The complimentary breakfast we had was quite disappointing. It consists of pansit (stir fried noodles), Corned beef, plain rice, hard boiled egg and a glass of juice. The corned beef was not even hot when it was served and it looks as if it was sitting cold for quite some time thus it was not really good to taste. In contrary to the breakfast, the Crispy pata was delicious and price was fair enough. Overall I rate it as average as we were not actually able to fully seen the hotel due to our 1 night stay and that we merely checked in to rest for our trip to Davao.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eugene101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

well what can i say, the rooms werent so expensive, the staff were very friendly and the food was great. I love having buffet breakfast and being in a great location. We were only here as a stopover but our short stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankiev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We checked-in here, late one evening, because our booked accommodation suffered a brownout (power failure) and had no back-up generator.

I recall it being around 2230 hours, the reception staff didn't make us feel particularly welcome, the bar had already closed for the night thus no food and/or beverages were to be available until the next day and when we asked for a 2nd keycard, after all this was a reservation for two persons, we were frowned upon as if we were trying to steal keycards and an unfriendly monetary deposit was demanded from us.

As for the rooms, the biggest problem was that the air conditioning unit is below window level, horizontal with sleeping person(s) level, thus one tried to sleep with, effectively, a jet engine blasting away beside the bed for much of the night whilst, introducing to the room, the traffic noise that one might associate with the northern Mindanao main highway which is immediately outside of the window and the air conditioning unit.

Would I stay again? ..... NO!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phileas_Fogg_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My first room at Dotties was their executive suite with a kingsize bed. The room was spacious and at first glance clean. The TV remote didn't work, alerting the staff twice did nothing. The A/C was filled with stale water so we had the choice of sweating or smelling the stale water. The bathroom sink/faucet was leaking non-stop onto the floor and was quite slippery and the water in the shower was murky/dirty and had a weird smell too it. The room also came with a pet - a quite adventurous mouse who likes to gnaw or climb cables.

The next day I was moved to a smaller room that didn't have mice, smelly A/C or broken remote but the shower water was still murky/dirty. This would have been acceptable if they would have given us a discount but the staff was unwilling (or not allowed?) to negotiate our first room's price which I found completely unacceptable.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool area - it might be louder during the day but at least it's quiet by n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikl0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel for all its qualities and facilities. Ample parking, big executive suites, a pool, function halls and resto. Free breakfast needs improvement in variety though. And more towels in the rooms- face towel and floor towel please!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butuan hotels
0.2 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#3 of 9 in Butuan
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almont Inland Resort
Almont Inland Resort
#9 of 9 in Butuan
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 9 in Butuan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Butuan Grand Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Almont City Hotel
Almont City Hotel
#8 of 9 in Butuan
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oazis
Hotel Oazis
#5 of 9 in Butuan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant

Address: JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Butuan
Price Range: $35 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dotties Place Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dottie`s Place Hotel Butuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing