We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool but modern rooms not homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Almont Inland Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Butuan
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This sprawling resort has 57 rooms of which about 20 were occupied on the Friday night that we stayed, but next week they were ti be booked out.

Checkin was was quite fast.

Our room was modern and tiled but had a lot if waste space. The bed was average while the joinery was first class. The aircon worked well but the blanket was thin, although the linen was fine.

The shower controls were hard to work out.

Our room was near a pond that had fish but may attract mosquitos. We had only one in the room. There was no rooster or other guest noise.

Staff were friendly but the restaurant food quality was lacking with my wife commenting it was 'disastrous'. That was at dinner; breakfast was better although selection of Western items was limited. There was an egg station.

The pool was the redeeming feature. It had interesting curves and was well maintained, but there was too much concrete around it. Grass would be better.

For the P4000 overnight tariff, I would expect a more homely room. The chef needs retraining ir replacement.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Almont Inland Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Plus of this resort:
- rooms
- food ( although expencive )

Negatives:
Noisy in the morning; loud music starts around 6 AM until 7 AM ( dancing classes?)
No trusted house keeping, must keep everything locked
Verrrrry slow internet connection


This stay was dissapointed, we where here before, in 2007. During that time it was much nicer
Next time we book other hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Anbrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have stayed at the big 3 here in Butuan. The Almont provides the best service and has the best food. If you need to be connected while here though the wifi does not work. So, if you need to be connected Dotties is a better option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin_Weiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

this is my 4th stay in this hotel but it is my first to stay with my whole family tagging along...9 of us!
made my reservation through phone, thank god this hotel acknowledge the deal i had made with the night shift receptionist since i checked on the next morning.

since im travelling with my whole family, i booked the biggest room they have, actually the floor area is more of a low cost housing unit. i got the executive suite for Php 6,000.00 pesos a night. the room is huge! very spacious, my toodlers got a lot of space to play on. the front of the suite is the swimming pool. before i forgot the comfort rom is very spacious as well!

hotel staff are very courteous, a gold cart convey our belongings, staff answers your request after a phone call (given our room is far from the hotel reception area). it is a hotel policy to not bring food and beverage outside however they allowed us for bringing one without corkage given it is our children s food...thank god for that!

the family had a good night sleep :-). breakfast is buffet with so many choices! worth every penny!

going back here soon.

Room Tip: 1. call them ahead of time for reservation, walk in clients seldom gets a room; 2. if you want to e...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Butuan is a small city in northeastern Mindanao. Except for the zipline, which was under repair during my stay, the city has nothing for tourists. Yet, the hotel has a high occupancy rate, no doubt because of the business travelers, really friendly staff (hi, Alex, Nick) who go out of their way to help. I have never seen so many sincere smiles!
Room rates seem to be determined by its proximity to the great swimming pool. The lowest rates are for rooms farthest from the pool. The physical facilities are simple but clean. And they have a great cook who make simple dishes taste good.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 to 25 are in front of the fish pond. Rooms 10 to 17 get the afternoon sun. Rooms 18 to 15 g...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workworkwork2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Almont Inland Hotel many times over many years. In Butuan, it is THE place to stay. Beautiful swimming pools, convention center to handle business and weddings, and probably one the best resteraunt in Butuan help make this in my mind, the best place to stay in Butuan City. The staff is great and are eager to help you with any questions or concerns. The grounds are very nice for Philippine standards (more resort like or "western"). The accomidations are very good and close to Western standards for accommidations. Great location across the street from the one and only mall in Butuan too where there are restaurants to eat at. The prices at Almont Inland are above the average in the area of Mindanao but, if you want conditions that mimic Western style resort type accommidations, Almont Inland is your place to stay in Butuan City.

Room Tip: Any of the suites near the pool are the best and more costly.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgmackay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good value for money, probably the best place to stay in Butuan. Rooms are fine, they have swimming pool and the location is pretty good, close to the mall. If you stay here (or anywhere in Butuan) don't miss the 1.3 kilometer zip-line at the Delta Discovery park!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japking77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Butuan hotels
0.6 mi away
Watergate Hotel
Watergate Hotel
#1 of 9 in Butuan
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Hotels Butuan
Go Hotels Butuan
#2 of 9 in Butuan
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almont City Hotel
Almont City Hotel
#8 of 9 in Butuan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Butuan Grand Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Amaris Suite
Amaris Suite
#4 of 9 in Butuan
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oazis
Hotel Oazis
#5 of 9 in Butuan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Inland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Inland Resort

Address: J.C. Aquino Avenue | Agusan del norte, Butuan, Mindanao 8600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Butuan
Price Range: $54 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almont Inland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the city's offerings, Almont Inland Resort and Convention Center is the place to experience the best of Butuanon warmth and hospitality. Here, one can take a breather and engage in a host of recreational and relaxing activities, including swimming, tennis and fishing. It is where one can indulge in business affairs at a leisurely pace. Conveniently located, this inland resort is close to the city center and is just 10 minutes away from the airport. Here, you'll find a four-hectare haven for corporate events, family and romantic celebrations and respite from hectic city life. Located at the capital of Caraga, the resort plays host to numerous conventions and seminars, bringing together visitors from across the northern Mindanao region. We invite you to embrace the charm of historic Butuan and make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Almont Inland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almont Inland Hotel Butuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing