We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing trip ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carpignano Salentino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salento Guesthouse B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Linz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most amazing trip ever!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Definitely 5/5 stars!
I did not have any idea what to expect when I joined a group of friends heading for southern Italy. The trip turned out to be the most amazing road-trip I've ever been, mostly because of the gooorgeous Salento, the Guesthouse and our host, Pepino!

Salento, probably the most remote part of Italy, is untouched by mass tourism, hence original and welcoming. The people, just like Pepino, are open, friendly and literally radiating with curiosity when meeting internationals. The country is just as untouched and a real gem. Riding south along the coast was even more impressive than Highway 1 in California. Endless seas, deep blue and clean, tons of beautiful small and individual bays of sand and rock. 11 days was just enough to get a glimpse, just the tip of the iceberg. There simply are way too many amazing places in Salento to explore. You definitely need a car or bicycle to make your time count. But if you have, possibilities are infinite.

Salento Guesthouse is located in the historic center of Carpignano Salentino, a town with a millennium of history. The Guesthouse is a 500+ years old building out of stone, which stays cool throughout any summer day. It has been greatly restored and renovated by intrepid Pepino, who puts all his heart into making the Guesthouse hospitable. He's a dive master, bicycle enthusiast and an incredible chef at the courtyard's king-sized Argentine grill, the center of it all. Pepino is just positively relentless when it comes to serving his guests, which I can't emphasize enough how much we appreciated it!

I'll upload some of the pictures I took so you can get the right impression. If you are not looking for a package tour, you just have to visit Salento Guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pants97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neukölln, Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We (9 people) had a great time at Pepe's place. The rooms are great and because of the stones it wasn't getting to hot. The people in Carpignano are nice and open to tourists, so you get in touch with them easily, even with poor italien languageskills. But the best part of it is Pepe: He really puts his heart in his place and lets the people know, that he'll do all he can to make your stay beautiful. And there are a lot of things he's able to manage: just one lsecret should be revolved: his cooking is fantastic, the rest you'll find out yourself.
One important advice from me would be: if you want to discover more, it's good to rent a car for a while so that you are not so stuck to public services.
Enjoy your stay, have fun with Pepe and get in touch with the city ans their lovely people!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Oberosterreich, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Salento Guesthouse in Carpignano is one of the rare places where you still find the untouched heart of South-Italy. Not only you enjoy your holidays in a perfect ancient surrounding but you also get touched by the welcoming and friendly behavior of the citizens. I´m still not sure what the best part of Salento Guesthouse was:
* perfect apartment in ancient style
* small village with extremely open and communicative people
* quiet lonely sand and rock beaches (special places provided by the host - Pepino)
* most delicious bbq in the inner yard prepared by Pepino, who by the way used to be a professional chef besides many other trades! :)
* countless possibilities to go running, biking, rock climbing, windsurfing, scuba diving ,...you name it!
* dozens of historically valuable places worth visiting. all within a one hour car ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Salento guest house will forever stay one of the highlights of all my overseas travels without doubt.

The house itself is a magnificent, quirky testament to yesteryear Italy with high ceilings and plenty of marble to marvel. Peppe does an amazing job warming the house with outstanding traditional Italian meals that will have you loosening your belt after just a few days as well as creating an atmosphere where you can truly relax and go at your own pace.

His zest and passion for the area is truly inspiring and you will find yourself drawn into every detail of the expansive history with his unique story-telling style.

The Coast is simply breathtaking; crystal clear water upon unspoilt beaches and beautiful cliffs that drop sheer into the sea.

There's something about the area that is had to put one's finger on...a kind of magic - the rolling hills of olive groves, traditional houses and people moving at a relaxed pace, amazing food - it really feels like a time machine to the true Italy and I am definitely planning to visit there again soon as soon as I can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rowan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Salento Guest House is removed from the normal tourist trot.. It is the undiscovered Italy.
Its situated in the quietest little old town, Carpignano. It seems like time has stood still there.

The coast line is amazing, beautiful beaches and awesome overhanging tall cliffs. Peppe will tell you and show you where you can jump off, if you have the balls..

The house has some history, 500 odd years of it, right in the heart of town. There is a statue of the mona lisa in the house that will bring some good times.. With Peppe as the host, there is not shortage of good laughs, he will entertain with the best of them..

Peppe is a master chef, and be sure to try the local cuisine, from the crepes at the Van to the finest local restaurant..

You cant miss out on a visit to to the Salento Guest House if you are in Carpignano, I give it the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

To me Carpignano feels like one of the few undiscovered places of Italy, a quiet little village, surrounded by the peaceful south Italian countryside and of course beautiful beaches. Staying in a 600 year old house makes the picture complete. Peppe is a great host, showing you around and cooking delicious breakfasts and dinners. I remember very clearly how he caught a octopus while we were swimming and how he prepared it right there at the beach and prepared another dinner that evening at 'home'. Will without doubt return here often!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Returning over this place for the second time and find the services and the rooms always improved.
Peppe the owner, is very helpful and know everything about the beauty of this region, not mention the excellent food he cooks for you!!!... Just few kilometers from the best beaches i ever seen in Italy....
Highly recommend if you travel in Salento!!!!

I and my friend always had a great time....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mareiguana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpignano Salentino
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#1 of 1 in Carpignano Salentino
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanlu Hotel
Sanlu Hotel
#1 of 2 in Serrano
457 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Rodia
Hotel Rodia
#3 of 3 in Maglie
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Furnirussi Tenuta
Furnirussi Tenuta
#2 of 2 in Serrano
209 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgoterra
Borgoterra
#1 of 19 in Martano
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Brunetta
B&B Brunetta
#7 of 8 in Carpignano Salentino
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salento Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salento Guesthouse B&B

Property: Salento Guesthouse B&B
Address: Viale Roma 26, 73020 Carpignano Salentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Carpignano Salentino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carpignano Salentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salento Guesthouse B&B is a eccentric historic property, dating back to the 1500's, converted into a boutique B&B. The recent renovation has brought to light the old architecture, making this place a real outstanding piece of art. The Guesthouse has a strategic position, being in the center of the village of Carpignano Salentino, a short distance from Salento's most beautiful sea, within short distance of Lecce, Otranto and from the main roads that give easy access around the heel of the italian boot.What makes Salento Guesthouse unique is the large outdoor courtyard where guests can relax and socialize in a unique and authentic environment, using the large outdoor fireplace for barbecues and the spanish paellera to prepare food outdoor.The innovative concept of the Guesthouse provides the possibility that, according to the customers wishes, Peppino, the host of the house, will actively make sure that their stay will become as pleasant as possible. Salento Guesthouse provides also home restaurant service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing